We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value villas with a view - great for big groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverfront Motel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value villas with a view - great for big groups”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We booked for a night at one of the Riverfront Villas. There were 7 adults + a toddler. The villa came with 3 rooms with Queen size beds or Twin beds and 1 room with a bunk bed. The villa we got was HUGE with so much space! Furnishings were still new and clean! The rooms were big on space, even the room with the bunk bed was ok. The master bedroom came with an en-suite and another bathroom shared among the other rooms. Both baths were very spacious. The villa was clean. Kitchen was very well equipped although some utensils and kitchenwares were a little worn out. Kitchen was equipped with a dishwasher, oven, microwave. Has a huge laundry room with dryer as well but we had to get our own detergent though. The patio has furnitures for us to sit and enjoy the fabulous view of River Derwent. Unfortunately we only stayed a night. It would have been nicer to stay another night to fully enjoy the view. Location-wise we were fortunate we had a car as the place is not walking distance to Hobart CBD but it was near the Cadbury Choc Factory. All in all, a very good value for money accommodation for a big group like ours especially with a young child around. The kid absolutely enjoyed the ample space in the villa. However, there were places where we could see cracks on the walls and spots where the house is showing its age but nothing major otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneFWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    107
    68
    10
    4
See reviews for
87
76
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed in the Mansion, a group booking. It is a beautiful old house which had ample room for everyone however the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. There were dead flies and bird poo on the window ledges, mould on the salt and pepper shakers, the toasters were chock full of crumbs and even had a crust of toast in it from the last user. The curtains are falling down, the plaster is falling off all the walls and ceilings along with the wallpaper. We opened cupboards to find old dirty carpet stored in there, old curtains and dust inches thick. The ceiling fan in the kitchen was full of black dust. There is no way this house could be rented out to anyone if it were inspected.

On a positive note the grounds are well kept.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoftravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABeckRiverfront, Manager at Riverfront Motel & Villas, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
At Riverfront Motel & Villas, we do make great effort in ensuring our rooms are clean and comfortable for our guests arrival. I can assure customers that the above issues were resolved immediately upon the guest advising us (the guests above stayed 2 nights, and only mentioned the cleanliness issues upon departure – had we known, no matter what the time, we would have called cleaners in to get the issues resolved there and then).

Since this review, we have restored the lock to the store-room which holds our spare carpet pieces, spring cleaned all windows in and out, replaced the salt and pepper shakers, and removed the crumbs from the toaster. All of the curtains have been re-hung where a couple of hooks were missing in a few places (curtains are only 6-12 months old). The Mansion has been scheduled for some wall maintenance in mid December. Being an older house, there are a few spots where there are plaster/render cracks and holes.

In summary, The Mansion is a lovely old estate house which we hire on a nightly basis for only $260-$290 per night including all linen and towels, sleeping up to 15 people (5 bedrooms – 4 queens, 7 singles). It’s a low cost accommodation option, great for families and large groups. Yes, there are a few cracks and the wallpaper is a bit daggy, however for as little as $20-$29 per person, per night for self contained accommodation with linen and towels supplied, The Mansion is great value and a unique place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

When I booked it, I thought that this place was in Hobart. It is far away. Accessible by car only. Bus service is sporadic and on Sunday, almost non-existent. $60+ taxi from airport - no other option. Downtown Hobart hotels have shuttle bus from airport available - much cheaper.
Dated 1960s interior with some non-working outlets. Tennis court and pool are in name only. Decrepit tennis court with sagging net; pool is 4ft by 12ft and full of dirt and leaves.Room cold with electric heater only
Pluses: cheap, fairly roomy, clean, expensive in-house restaurant (no other option) but extremely nice waiting staff, friendly helpful reception

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABeckRiverfront, Manager at Riverfront Motel & Villas, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
and service. Yes, we are 10 minutes drive north of Hobart CBD at Rosetta, and we do recommend our guests have their own transport or hire car for this reason. Please note that we consider our Restaurant to have options for every budget. For example, our full continental breakfast buffet is only $9.50 per person, and our lunch & dinner main meals start at only $14.50 for our hearty River Burger with chips, stepping up to schnitzels and roast of the day which are only $17.50-$19.50. We also have a lunch 2 course special for only $17.50. We do also cater for more premium meals such as fresh Tasmanian seafood and Tasmanian yearling steaks. Since your stay, we have re-tightened the tennis court net and scooped the winter debris from the pool. Please note that the current day temperature is between 9-15 degrees only so the pool isn't used this time of year. We do apologise however for the unkempt appearance and have rectified the matter. Once again, thanks for your feedback and the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom Villa. It was clean, comforatable and well equiped for the self catered holliday maker. Ther is a BBQ by the river and a great place to enjoy the evening. Check out the restaurant. The food is good and of generous proportion.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dh_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed in a one-bed villa for 6 nights. The location is good if you have a car. It is next to the Brooker Hwy, which gets you around Hobart and the surrounding areas. Suprisingly even though it was near the hwy it was very quiet.
The villa was clean and comfortable. It had a washing machine and clothes line. We stayed with our one year old and there was plently to keep him busy. There's a basic playground and heated pool, as well as ducks outside your front door!
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young_family_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

This motel is really not that bad of a place if you are on a tight budget. We were looking for an inexpensive place and this fit the bill perfectly. If you are just looking for a place to sleep, then this is all you need. The rooms aren't 5 star, but are enough for basic needs. Plus it was nice to open the back door and have the river right there and a nice view. The staff was nice and helpful. And the Cadburry Chocolate Factory was very close. What more do you really need?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SvenSlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosetta
1.4 mi away
Claremont Hotel Motel
Claremont Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
3.9 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#23 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverfront Motel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Motel & Villas

Property: Riverfront Motel & Villas
Address: 11 Strathaven Dr, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverfront Motel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Riverfront Motel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverfront Motel & Villas Rosetta, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing