We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverfront Motel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views and food.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The views from the end of the row of motels is breathtaking with a view over the river to the mountains, we often just sat there with a glass of wine admiring the view.
The Motel Restaurant was excellent if you stuck to the beef dishes and we had a superb filet mignon that would not be affordable in the UK.
The room was a bit dated but very clean and comfortable, we were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    110
    68
    11
    4
See reviews for
90
77
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

we had two families staying in the riverview house and it was fantastic. a classic, sprawling art deco house complete with centre courtyard and huge windows. the lap pool was a bonus for the kids and was surprisingly warm. reasonably priced and recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank subbyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found the motel to be clean, easily accessible to Hobart without the Hobart prices, close to MONA and the Cadbury factory. The meals we had at the restaurant were delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great too right on the river and cutest ducks to feed. Loved it

Room Tip: The rooms along the river would be awesome plus they also have bigger family cottages to rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week at this motel visiting friends and family over Christmas 2013. Our room was an older style motel room but for our purposes very functional. The room looked straight out onto the river and the motel is only some 10-12 minutes from the city centre and 5 minutes from MONA and good value for the price (about $90 per night). There are no flyscreens on the doors or windows so could be hot in the summer--it was relatively cool while we were there. Staff were very friendly. There is also an excellent, well priced restaurant attached to the motel and villas. There is no doubt better accommodation in Hobart but the location and price make it very competitive.

Room Tip: Motel rooms facing the river would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good location with quick and easy access to all the attractions Hobart has to offer. Some views of the river to be had depending on the unit you are in. Lap pool for the kids to play in was a bonus. However, the unit we stayed in was not clean at all. The walls were scuffed and paint was peeling on the wardrobe door in the main bedroom and two screws/bolts were sticking out of the wall in the lounge room. The kitchen benches were greasy and grimy, there was glass on the carpet found by my youngest child. Kitchen floor was sticky and the overall smell in the kitchenette was that of rotting garbage due to the location of the rubbish bin at the back of the unit - had to keep the windows closed. Sheets in bed were clearly not clean as we found ourselves itching and scratching throughout the night. Very disappointed in the quality and cleanliness of the unit. If they were trying to go for third world shabby chic then they have achieved it.

Room Tip: Don't bother - find another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in one of the motel units for 2 nights overall (one at the beginning and one at the end of our trip in Tasmania). The rooms were adequate - nothing special, but clean, facilities worked, etc - you get what you pay for ($90/night). They could get quite cold in the winter though as there is only some small electric heaters by way of heating. Fine in the summer however. The motel is suitable for those with their own transport, as it is some way out of the centre of Hobart. It is very close (1km) to MONA. We had some issues with noise - how peaceful your stay & sleep is depends on the other guests as the walls are not thick. On the first night, the guests next door to us had a problem turning off the lights in their rental car and made enough noise in dealing with the problem to wake us up (although were apologetic). On the second morning, our neighbours (an older couple) decided to start watching TV at 7.30am - the lack of insulation meant that we could hear it too. On asking they also apologised and switched it off, allowing us a little more sleep. However a lack of insulation for sound and cold is pretty normal for some bizarre reason in Australia, so this place is not out of the ordinary at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

As another reviewer noted, you get what you pay for. We found it to be perfect for our family of 5 for our 5 nights in Hobart. We had a 2 bedroom villa, No 48, which was the closest one to the water and it had everything I needed - full kitchen & washing machine. The kids loved playing outside and there was so much room for them to move. I loved the way I could open the back door and there was my view of the river while I was standing in the kitchen cooking. We had a car and had no problems getting around at all, in fact, the 10 to 15 mins it took us to drive into the city is nothing. The bed was very comfy. The only thing I will say, and I don't know what it is with Tasmanian pillows as we have noted it everywhere we have gone, is that they are terrible. These were no exception and they are all very flat and very lumpy. I'd like to suggest that new pillows are purchased and this review would go to excellent.

Room Tip: No 48 is a 2 bedroom villa and the closest one to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosetta
5.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
3.9 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#25 of 48 in Hobart
169 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Claremont Hotel Motel
Claremont Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverfront Motel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Motel & Villas

Property: Riverfront Motel & Villas
Address: 11 Strathaven Dr, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverfront Motel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Riverfront Motel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverfront Motel & Villas Rosetta, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing