We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Villa Howden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Howden
Ranked #1 of 2 Howden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our recent stay at Villa Howden was superb in every way. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, all of whom were friendly and professional. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and extra little touches made us feel very special. The breakfast menu was wide and the dinner we enjoyed was very high quality. This was the highlight of our holiday in Tasmania.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiley8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    17
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have just come back from the most amazing weekend at Villa Howden. The whole experience was above and beyond our expectations - from the friendly staff and their warm service to the impeccable attention to detail, everything about our stay was incredible. We stayed for two nights and didn't want to leave; compliments to the kitchen for the amazing food, kudos to the management for perfect balance of helpfulness without imposing and lastly, thank you to Chutney for making our experience feel like home. Hope to stay there again in the very near future !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaJe_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

An incredibly beautiful place to stay just 30 minutes from Hobart airport. My husband and I stayed here for our first night of our 8 day Tassie holiday. Staff are young, energetic and eager to please. Room was very comfortable. The hotel is reminiscent of hotels in Sorrento and has a unique European flavour. A great starting point however for a holiday in Tasmania. The staff are the
major draw card!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We organized my mother in law's 90th birthday party here for 40 guests. Brian and his team made everything so easy and nothing was too much trouble. They set up the room perfectly, were attentive to our guests without being pushy and did whatever we asked. With guest ages between 3 and 94 they coped brilliantly well.
The high tea came out on tiered plates beautifully presented and all very tasty and plenty left over

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank annerob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed one night and a meal at the restaurant. Service was impeccable and very welcoming and friendly staff. The hotel was beautiful and full of character. Lovely welcome with a glass of bubbly ...great start to a very memorable stay. We celebrated our 10th anniversary but for sure we won't wait another 10 years before we return.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazgaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tazgaz007,

We are very glad you enjoyed your 10th anniversary and look forward to seeing you back for many more and any time in between. Thank you for your review and your comments, the staff and I are very grateful for your kind words and happy to know our service standards are providing memorable and enjoyable stays for our guests.

Congratulations again on your 10th anniversary.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

As I write my review I sit in front of an open fire in the common loung room sipping a glass of local wine. The staff here are either the most polite, at tentative young ladies or they have been taught by someone who understands great custoner service and attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are so comfortable but it is the service that really stands out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Jacqrabbit,

There is no better way to spend a winter evening at Villa Howden than in front of our open log fire enjoying the fruits of the local winemakers.

Thank you for your comments. The staff and I are really happy the service was a stand out for your visit. I am blessed to have a team that enjoy their job of looking after guests and making them feel relaxed in surroundings that the staff take so much pride in. We spend a good deal of time in training and ensuring we can adequately live up to guests expectations, so thank you for commenting favourably on our service level.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rylstone, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were recently in Tassie visiting family an were to go to Villa Howden for a Mothers Day/Birthday party. My husband and I decided to stay there for the night as a treat.

We were really pleased to find such a lovely villa, surrounded by beautiful gardens and outdoor areas overlooking the bay. We were surprised to find refreshing, old fashioned service by staff who were passionate about the hotel. The hotel is decorated beautifully and exudes a lovely ambience, inviting guests to relax and let the wonderful staff look after you.

Our meal was beautiful and everyone enjoyed it very much. My nieces loved playing the piano and singing for the party.

Too quickly the night passed, our room was lovely and the toiletries and towels very special.
It was a shame to only have one night at such a lovely place. We would like to thank the staff for their care and wish them all well in the future.

Villa Howden would be a lovely place to base your holiday when staying in the Hobart/Channel Area. A warm friendly place to return to after your activities, or just stay and relax and let the lovely staff look after your needs.

KWWolfe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear KerryW,

Thank you for your review and lovely comments on the hotel, staff, food and experience. I remember you calling us that morning while you were having a coffee at Kingston Beach and deciding to book in with us for the night.

I am really pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the evening with your family and thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
8.0 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
444 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
9.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
8.9 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
522 reviews
9.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 48 in Hobart
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Howden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Howden

Property: Villa Howden
Address: 77 Howden Rd, Howden, Kingborough, Tasmania 7054, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Kingborough > Howden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Howden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Howden 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Howden offers a range of ten luxury suites each of which is beautifully decorated with luxurious furnishings and antiques. Heated indoor pool, library, piano bar are all enjoyed by guests. The restaurant features the best of Tasmania's produce, served in intimate settings. The elegant Water View and Villa suites seamlessly blend with the breathtaking natural scenery. The Tower suite is a welcoming, unique retreat which provides panoramic views across the North West Bay. Just 15 minutes from Hobart, you can enjoy the peace and serenity of the pure Tasmanian wilderness around you from the comfort of your own private suite, most offering full length window balconies and enhanced with a selection of luxurious in-room amenities, including the latest Sony iPod Dock, complimentary Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee machine. Your Stay at Villa Howden includes full breakfast, complimentary in-suite bar and luxurious Serendipity Australian made hotel cosmetics. Villa Howden restaurant is open for breakfast, weekend high-teas and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Howden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Howden Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing