We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Howden
Nearby Hotels
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clydesdale Manor(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Plaza Motel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Woolmers Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
138
24
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
24
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teamy partnerdining roomsalmonlast nightboutique hotelstaff were very friendlya great experiencecooked to perfectionattention to detailindoor poolrecommend this placeopen firetower suitemy birthdaycomplimentary mini barfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 178 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

... from anywhere!
A feeling of being in the country even though a stone's throw from Hobart, this beautiful property is a joy to stay in. Brian and his team do a fabulous job at front of house, while head chef Terry cooks up a storm in the kitchen. One of the best places I've had the pleasure of spending time. And the music is great. Bliss!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanParmenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear WiltonLondon,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and your gret comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for your feedback and suggestions during your stay, very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A beautiful place to stay. The attention to detail in the grounds and buildings are second to none. The staff were the perfect mix of attentive but giving you your own space as well as being friendly and helpful. On our stay the restaurant had only been open a couple of weeks so the menu was limited but the quality of the food and service excellent. We stayed in the tower room which was absolutely perfect and worth every cent. We felt welcome to use the lounge and other common rooms which were pleasant to sit back with a wine in front of the fire and just relax. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renno-Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Renno-Em,

We are very happy to hear all your wonderful comments and thanks for the review. The staff and I always find ourselves refreshed after hearing positive feedback about the property and service. Thank you for your understanding with the dinners - we really want to make sure we get it right with the food, so we are taking it a slow approach to make it work correctly.

Sitting back in front of the fire with a nice wine... what a lovely way to relax and unwind! We look forward to seeing you next year.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The staff at Villa Howden looked after us exceptionally well. Brian, the manager, and one of the staff members were out the door to greet us as soon as we arrived in the car park - ready to carry our bags and settle us in. Their unobtrusive attention to our needs set the scene for a much needed restful break. We dined in the restaurant on the first evening and had a fabulous meal. Breakfasts were equally good.
The setting is perfect and very reminiscent of being in Europe. There are a number of lounge areas to sit and enjoy the view, the magazines, the exceptional Tasmanian wine.
We will return.
Geoff and Philippa
29 October, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear pathomas,

It is very nice to read your positive review and the good comments regarding the meals and about the staff and property. Most of all though, we are pleased you were able to enjoy a well desrved break - for us, when we hear this, we know we have done our job properly.

We look forward to having you back in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved our stay at Villa Howden. Lovely setting, close to Hobart. Tastefully decorated hotel and room. We chose to have dinner there and it was beautiful.
What we really enjoyed were the little things like the soft towels, nice linen and complimentary drinks. Couldn't believe that a really nice cooked breakfast was part of price.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seanm_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Seanm_nz,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed staying at Villa Howden and for the recommendation. We appreciate knowing how the little things add so much to guest's enjoyment of the property.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Before I comment on my actual review, I'd like to give other travellers an idea of how we came to stay at villa Howden. We were planning a holiday in tasmania in late September. We are used to staying in 5 star hotels and luxury apartments, and were disappointed by the dearth of options in Hobart. The Henry jones was booked out, and nothing much else seemed up to scratch. Somehow we found a link to the villa Howden website, and on initial impression was "wow" this place looks great. The only thing holding us back from booking straight away was the thought of a 15 min drive to Hobart. Then, the more research we did around the rest of our week in Hobart, we started to realise "hey, we need a car anyway, we need a car to get to mona, to Cadbury, to cascade, to the wineries, to port Arthur" if we're going to need a car for the whole time, what does it matter where we stay? So that's how we came to book villa Howden.

And what a great decision that was. Our initial phone and email correspondence was so proactive, helpful and engaging. We were travelling with two small children, and were made to feel so welcome (dont worry single couples, this place is huge, and theres plenty of rooms far away from the family rooms!) On arrival, we were offered glasses of tassie sparkling, and the hosts had made a really special effort to welcome our daughter who was celebrating her 4th birthday. That night, we had a family dinner in their restaurant, replete with a special birthday cake for our daughter. The following morning we experienced the best hotel breakfast ever - seriously, the breakfast menu is astounding - Bircher muesli, traditional hot breakfast, eggs florentine, tassie smoked salmon, pancakes with caramelised banana....
The rooms are large, luxurious, with beautiful bedding and great bathrooms. They're also decked out with boutique toiletries and a nespresso coffee machine with plenty of pods, and a complimentary minibar. The hotel has a great little library with books and Internet, a gorgeous downstairs bar, lounge and piano area and fireplaces.
However, the piece de resistance is the grounds of this facility - an immaculate indoor pool which feels like a poolhouse from a luxury hamptons house, and a fantastic view of the bay. The place feels so secluded, so relaxing like a little piece of paradise. Each morning we'd wake up, have a gorgeous breakfast, stroll around the grounds, then bundle our kids into the car and head off for our next adventure. The drive into Hobart is 10-15 mins, but you'd hardly even notice it! Most days, truth be told, we'd drive straight past the CBD and keep going, whether it be to the wineries, port Arthur, MONA or the other attractions. The brunt island ferry is also very close to Howden.
For dining options, we used the hotel restaurant, on another night we went to bate mans bay (nice pub on the beach) and few nights we ate in Hobart. They are many prominent regional restaurant dotted along the coast down the Huon trail.
We really couldn't recommend this highly enough to anyone thinking of travelling to Hobart. Couples, honeymooners, families, grey nomads, foreigners. We are dying to comeback. Or daughter calls her "castle"!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GedRachC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear GedRachC,

Thank you so much for the review, full of a lot of details about your stay and so glad to see you and the family enjoyed yourselves. You were a delight to have at Villa Howden and your daughters were just beautiful and so very well behaved, a real credit to you as parents. We like to make people feel at home when they visit us and looks like we achieved that with you.

I have shown your review and comments to the team, they are all pleased and everyone one says hello. I hope your parcel arrived home safely as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Howden and hope this will be sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews