We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat!”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Rockliffe. Staff were excellent from immediate welcome to leaving(Anton was particularly helpful). The staff were always attentive but remained discreet and in the background when appropriate if we were in conversation or relaxing but on hand if needed. The hotel and facilities are first class. The Brasserie staff were amazing! Jo and Alex stood out!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,971
    313
    128
    37
    35
See reviews for
391
1,286
25
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We yet again had a wonderful experience at Rockliffe, although live very near it still makes a great escape. Food,Spa and Rooms all great. Would always recommend this hotel and spa for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My friend and I booked an overnight spa break and went last week. How wonderful to encounter a place who's website really doesn't do it justice. This is by far the best hotel and staff we have ever encountered. The attention to detail was second to none. The old and new buildings perfectly blended and in harmony.
The staff were amazing. A well-trained blend of friendly helpful service with no trace of the obsequious! Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We could find no fault at all in any part of the hotel. The spa break is excellent value for money - this from people who regularly visit spas throughout the country.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and spa and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What an amazing hotel with such friendly staff. From the moment you step through the door this hotel did not fail to give you the wow factor. You are treated like a celebrity with nothing too much trouble from the highly trained and attentive staff. During out stay our party of four managed to eat in all three of the hotel restaurants each highly individual with excellent food and service. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for the high quality of rooms, food, facilities and service. We are already looking forward to a return trip. Sue D

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a room in the Old Hall where all the facilities are to hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a work trip which we extended into the weekend and it was worth every penny. The best hotels are not satisfied with just earning lots of stars but take it to the next level by offering the right level of service to each person. This is where Rockliffe excelled, ok, so the Junior Suite was really a large bedroom with a chair and table but the furninshings and bathroom were just right. There wasn't really a focal point of the hotel due to the split of the new and the old wings, but that just made it more informal and relaxing. If you can afford to stay here then you will be in for a treat, talking of which the spa also got thumbs up from my wife!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was given a voucher for Afternoon Tea for 2 as a gift and went along with one of my friends. The hotel certainly has the WOW Factor and from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel special and were very attentive. The food was amazing and we were most definitely looked after. I will certainly be returning in the very near future!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A fabulous return visit for a birthday celebration for 4 hard working ladies, was the best relaxing weekend we could imagine. The welcome from Alec, taking care of our car and bags, touching base with us by name during our stay, was matched by Angela in reception and explaining the room workings, so we immediately settled.
2 days of chilling by a warm pool, hydro rooms, spa treatments, were interspersed with succulent food ranging from Afternoon Tea in the old hall, to delicious evening meals in the Brasserie.

All this is delightful but what makes Rockliffe Hall stand apart from any luxury hotel we've stayed in, Ranging from Cedar Court, York to the Four Seasons, Toronto, is the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of every member of staff. Nothing is too much trouble. How do they recruit such talent?

Special mention to Samantha, who is so attentive at breakfast and Ailsa, who gave us great advice and suggestions, in helping us plan our weekend, ensuring the most appropriate deal and booking every detail, so we could simply turn up and enjoy.

We will be back, as RH is simply the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,059 reviews
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,138 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing