We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and my birthday and could not have picked a better place to go. When we first enquired about booking a room we were informed the hotel was full but they took our details and said they'd call back if they had any cancellations - which they did. Great customer service before we even arrived!

When we arrived at the hotel, our car was parked for us and our cases were taken directly to our room. We were shown to some seats in reception where we were congratulated on our anniversary and checked in. Clearly someone had taken notes and we were very impressed! They'd put cards and chocolates in our room for us which made for a lovely start to our stay.

We made full use of the spa - it was fantastic!! We would definitely recommend it!! I had a lovely massage by Abigail - she was very friendly and made me relax straight away.

All in all, we had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. The staff are what sets it apart though! Every single member of staff - from the valet, to the receptionists, spa staff and waiters - go out of their way to make you feel special. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,042 - 2,048 of 2,727 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

2 nights stay. great standard, great time. thank you all.
200 characters more it says minimum, well here we are, writing 200 more. It was great, expensive but an indulgent treat. oh god, still not got to 200 characters, ive said what i want to say. it was good, and worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_ben85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Rockciffe for my husbands 50th birthday, everything was perfect, room beautiful, spa lovely and the food at the orangery was the best with a very nice atmosphere, formal but not hushed as can sometimes be the case. We would highly recommend Rockcliffe Hall and can't wait for an excuse to return!

Room Tip: We had a lovely terrace in a junior suite in the new hall, it was a beautiful sunny day so nice to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Everything about Rockliffe Hall was amazing, from the friendly welcome, the bedroom, service, cleanliness, and the spa. What a way to unwind and totally relax. We cant recommend it enough.
Regarding the spa the massage in the "Jaccuzi" and water jets were better than a massage from a Physiotherapist.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked afternoon tea on a warm day and opted to include the Hendricks gin and cucumber cocktail. The presentation was imaginative and the drink was pleasant but very poor value for money. The finger sandwiches were disappointing with little filling, however the dainty cakes were a delight.
I made my choice of tea from a good range on offer and would have expected leaf tea with a strainer and another pot of hot water, so was surprised at a couple of tea bags dunked in the pot and nowhere to put the soggy bags.
The staff were all young, pleasant and helpful. Our feedback was received in a positive manner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a 'cheeky midweek' spa day at Rockliffe Hall which was perfect in every way. Brunch was delicious with high quality ingredients and excellent service. The spa area is certainly the best in the region, so much choice and we loved the body shaped beds! However the highlight for me was the wonderful massage which I can honestly say is the best treatment I've ever had (and I've had a few). Staff are exceptional, attentive, pleasant and a real credit to the hotel. I would highly recommend Rockliffe Hall for a spa day. Nowhere else even comes close. Now to plan our next trip...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukesy_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous 2 night break at Rockliffe Hall for our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

Hubby had booked for us to have Afternoon Tea on arrival, we arrived a bit late but we left the car at the door and it was unloaded and parked for us whilst we tucked into a lovely Afternoon Tea in the Orangery.

We stayed in a ground floor New Hall Junior Suite which was fab, with a dressing area, separate toilet and bathroom which had the best shower we have ever had. The room had doors which opened onto a patio area with a table and chairs, overlooking the golf course which was great as the weather was lovely.

The pool area is fabulous and quite unique and although it is school holidays, the hydrotherapy area is above 16,s only which is great if you are wanting to have a more relaxed stay.

We have stayed here before so on our first night decided to have a late swim in the pool and hydrotherapy area as it would be quieter and we nearly had it to ourselves! We had pre-ordered room service for when we got back, they were running a bit late but rang us to keep us informed, and the food was lovely, and we were very relaxed.

After a gorgeous breakfast next morning, hubby played golf and I met him later for a snack in the clubhouse, the food was lovely and all the staff including golf pros are really helpful and friendly.

Had our Anniversary meal in the Orangery and treated ourselves to the Taster Menu which was 7 little courses of heaven, all beautifully presented and very very tasty. The waiting staff really knew the menu and could answer any questions we had. We love to sit in the bar before and after Dinner to relax and have a drink.

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly from the Concierge, Reception, Bar and Waiting, Clubhouse, Housekeeping and Spa, all had a smile and could not do enough for us.

We last stayed last September but due to a Conference could not use all of the Hotel and we were a little upset by this, but Rockliffe has redeemed itself and we will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: New Hall rooms have very quiet air con, and are modern. Check first if any areas of hotel are off l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkietrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
835 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
197 reviews
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range: $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing