We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spring splendour @ rockcliffe spa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“spring splendour @ rockcliffe spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Enjoyed the whole experience! Especially the lovely massage by Tracey, felt totally relaxed & revived by the end of the day. One day at Rockcliffe is the equivalent of a 2 day breakaway elsewhere. All staff friendly,helpful & professional. Delightful ambience throughout the spa.Many thanks for a fabulous day ... I will certainly return |& am more than happy to recommend this lovely spa.

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvivi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    294
    114
    34
    34
See reviews for
351
1,186
24
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to Rockliffe and it really is sublime. It's expensive but you get what you pay for- from the moment you arrive and see cricket on the lawn- you leave your car with the concierge and your bags are in your room before you. You know you have arrived somewhere special.
Spa must be one of the best in the country, service is impeccable, attentive but not intrusive. The surroundings are pristine inside and out. Food is delicious and not that expensive (steak with all the trimmings £30). Lovely wine (£4-£6 a glass). I really don't think you can beat this hotel.

Tip- take your own champagne. There's a fridge in your room and they are happy to send up an ice bucket and glasses- no charge!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited 5 may for my friends hen party the staff were so polite and friendly everything was simply 5 star !! The hot rocks massage was superb. We are all planning a return in the near future. We did the lazy Sunday package and it was worth every penny. There is so many spa rooms to choose from 2 sauna areas then the igloo and so on. The spa pool area is great with lots of different areas to lie and sit around it. The pool is fab for doing a few lengths in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

An excellent day at a truly excellent spa to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. Mud ritual and warm oil massages were excellent.

All of the facilities are fantastic and the brasserie lunch was to an excelent standard, serverd by friendly and professional waitresses.

We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for our 10th anniversary and stayed in the old hall. The room was fantastic with beautiful views over the golf course. The spa is one of the best I've been to. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. It is a breath of fresh air to stay in a hotel that employs local English speaking staff. We ate in both the orangery and the brasserie - the food is absolutely delicious (albeit rather pricey).

Will definitely be revisiting.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went for Lazy Sunday spa to celebrate my birthday.
Whole experience was excellent, from staff to food to the warm oil massage. Spa rooms slightly ruined by certain guests who insist on using spas as a place to catch up with friends and talk about work, illness and anything else they can think of! Have been to other spas and had same prob so not a Rockliffe issue but a forewarning.
Would highly recommend the Brasserie and the massage, so good!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MiloandMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Me and the other half decided to come here for afternoon tea with our 11 month old boy. At first we didn't know if the place would be child friendly, but after emailing to find out if they offered baby facilities, we recieved a quick reply letting us know they do, so we decided to give it a go. And we are glad we did! We had a great time and our little boy enjoyed the cakes!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FionaLambert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#4 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing