We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sacred Moments Spa Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sacred Moments Spa Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful place, certainly exceeded my expectations and there were lovely facilities not even realised before visit. Wine waiter in restaurant at Spa needs further training, but other than that fantastic location and service which has spoiled me for any where else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieBailey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,867
    300
    119
    35
    34
See reviews for
362
1,219
25
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful pool. Very attentive staff. Excellent therapist .It was the first time I have had a facial and enjoyed every minute of it. Can't wait to have another. Lovely lunch in the Brasserie. Perfect birthday treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a previous spa day we had a good idea it would be lovely. We were not disappointed at all in any way. The facilities are excellent as you might expect from a 5 star spa hotel but it is the service that impressed most. All staff were polite and helpful but it is their friendly manner that exceeds expectations beyond 'professional courtesy'. Vicky in reception and the bright young chap in the Brasserie earning special praise.

Our 2 night stay was bliss, combining the walks and sights of the beautiful upper Teesdale and High Force, the interesting Hartlepool marina with the luxury and relaxation of Rockliffe Hall.

Breakfast in the Orangery was a very pleasant way to start a day with traditional 'full English' fare of quality and the hallmark of excellent service. Thank you Alec. Afternoon tea again the Orangery later was delicious and served with the height of courtesy.

We dined in the Brasserie each evening as the smart but casual option over the more formal Orangery. The Clubhouse would have been an option for us but a celebrity golf tournament had the place booked out. Elevated views over the golf course make the Brasserie a lovely restaurant. An interesting menu, fine wines and charming service make this dining venue quite special.

Tiplady Lodge is modern and stylish to a high order and could not have been more comfortable day or night. Tootling over to the spa in your robe, potentially under an umbrella may not be a 5 star experience for some but we enjoyed the necessary stroll through the grounds, squirrels skipping in the sunlight, all just divine. The main house is of course at the heart of the hotel, tastefully furnished and decorated maintaining the historic charm.

Only negative was remarkably no hooks to hang robes in the bathroom .. what a shame they had to be warmed luxuriously on the towel rail instead!

The spa is in the premier league (even if Middlesborough F C aren't) of facilities. Totally relaxing and a perfect setting to chill with or without additional 'treatments'.

The Rockliffe Hall epitomised a deserved 5 star reputation. Would love to be able to comment on the golf course ....... next time perhaps given the opportunity!

Room Tip: If in Tiplady or Armstrong Lodges ask for room with balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeGeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Very few places get everything right but Rockcliffe Hall Spa ticks all the boxes. My partner and I booked the "couples catchup" package and were not disappointed. You are looked after from the minute you walk through the door and all the facilities are excellent, the lunch in the brasserie was delicious and 3 courses is a must. Cannot recommend Rockcliffe enough and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night and wish we had booked for longer! Everything was wonderful! Welcome was charming and relaxed, our suite was amazing with every wish catered for and the views were spectacular! The meal was perfect in every way and Grace, the sommelier, was helpful and informative without being patronising.

We had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. We will definitely return with very high expectations.

Thanks to all members of staff we felt well and truly spoilt!

Room Tip: Southhampton one was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Last week I organised afternoon tea at Rockliffe Hall with ten friends. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, the service was excellent. We were given the drawing room to ourselves which I did not expect and was a lovely surprise. We were told we could have the room for as long as we wanted and the seating was rearranged at our request. The sandwiches and especially the cakes and pastries were divine. It was a lovely relaxing afternoon, everything was presented to a very high standard. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Absolutely fantastic the staff are brilliant nothing is too much trouble unlimited tea and coffee. It was my mams birthday and the chef crafted Happy Birthday for her in Belgian Chocolate.

Sandwiches were very fresh and lots of different local ingredients are used.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven1Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing