We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality place and fantastic staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality place and fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a place-All you would expect from a 5 Star hotel but the stay was made by the friendly,attentive staff who went out of the way to make the stay pleaserable.
I really couldn't fault it. The food was magnificent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    294
    115
    34
    34
See reviews for
354
1,192
24
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Having the opportunity to take a few days away after a serious Illness we decided on Rockliffe as it came highly recommended and had read good reviews. To say we were blown away is an understatement. From our arrival to our departure 2 days later the experience was one of true pampering by the staff. They were all without question well trained, efficient, attentive and friendly.

We ate in the clubhouse on the first night which had an excellent choice of food and like the other restaurants offers mostly locally sourced ingredients. The second night we tried Kenny Atkinson at the Orangery which was a truly special experience with superb food.

Our room was in Old Hall was extremely spacious with 6ft bed and bedding which was in keeping with the quality of the Hotel. Probably the best pillows I have ever experienced before in a Hotel.

The overall experience is that this is very much a guest orientated Hotel with staff that understand the true meaning of hospitality and work extremely hard to ensure that the guest has an exceptional experience. It is not cheap but when you receive this level of customer service it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a good quality and unless you specifically want a room in the original house, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked afternoon tea with our friends for a nice relaxing treat. We were not disappointed. We sat on some big lovely sofas by the window overlooking the golf course. The waitress who came to serve us was very attentive and our pot of tea arrived promptly. We were asked if we had any special dietary requirements which none of us had. Our finger sandwiches came with a variety of fillings and we had a little piece of sausage roll each which was delicious. The scones are very tasty with the clotted cream and jam. There was a good selection of cakes/desserts all beautifully presented. The waitress came and checked on us again and brought us some more fresh tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica8631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were a group of 6 females on a hen weekend, we stayed in the lodges which was ideal for us being a group we could all be together. The rooms were all clean & freshly decorated & the lodge was equipped with everything we needed. The Spa was a good experience and we ate in the Orangery, the food was amazing and the view whilst eating just makes it perfect! The only downfall to this weekend was the receptionist mis informed us, she told us that our lodge would be serviced and we would get fresh towels and our beds would be turned down after we returned from our meal, this didnt happen so we were a little bit disappointed because we werent expecting this till she had told us. We enjoyed some nice cocktails in the cocktail lounge and the staff were lovely! all i will say is with a 5* hotel comes 5* prices (£16 a cocktail!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girloftheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Firstly I would just like to say I have never met such attentive hotel staff before, they made the stay great for us.

After staying at the shambles that was the 5* (apparently) Celtic Manor in Newport last month I was a little dubious about being taken to another 5* golf and spa resort.

I am so glad my fiance took me to Rockcliffe Hall for a spa weekend. It was perfect from the moment we stepped through the doors until the very end of our stay.

We arrived at mid day as our massages were at 2pm, the receptionist still checked us in explained the room was not ready yet, which wasn't a problem as we were allowed full use of the spa before our treatments.

The spa is great and staff there are very friendly too, they provided us with a welcome drink and gave us a tour of the facilities.

Afterwards we were shown up to our room and the staff member was friendly and very helpful. Our room (Number 20) was beautiful and very clean with a great view. A couple of times I called to have an ice bucket and drinks delivered which all arrived very quickly by a yet another polite staff member.

Dinner at the Brasserie was delicious and we returned to our room to find the maid had been to turn down the bed, freshen the tea tray and tidy up the room. I was a bit worried as I wasn't told they would do this or request it and left my hand bag with money in, mobile, lap top and kindle lying around. Nothing was missing though and I relaxed again.

We arrived quite early for breakfast but once again we were greeted by polite friendly staff and the food on offer was great.

We enjoyed our little weekend away so much we are already planning our next visit to Rockcliffe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-KM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have been for several Spa days but this was our 1st stay in the accomodation and we were travelling as a birthday treat. We booked a standard tiplady lodge room which was both large, spotless, modern and luxourius. We were on the ground floor but I would advise a 1st floor room as you can here lots of noise (walking around, flushing toilets) from the room above. We called to the Spa for a couple of hours but it was very busy and not very relaxing. We booked an evening meal in the Brasserie having eaten there before and having really enjoyed it. My husband had a cheese Souffle starter £7.95, I chose steak at £32 inc sauce which i thought was a tad expensive, a lamb shank for the hubbie and 2 puddings, a bottle wine and £100 bill later we weren't very impressed. We have defintley had better food for less money, No steak knife was given to either myself or the people on the neighbouring table so you were left sawing through your food which i expected to melt in my mouth but it didn't. A good nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast in the Orangey. Staff as usual were impeccable, helpful and professional. Would return but maybe dine in the Golf Club or travel the short distance to Darlington.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macracs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are regular visitors and in the past I have had no hesitation in rating this outstanding hotel as 5 stars. The main reason for our visit this time was to experience the improvements resulting from the recent Orangery Restaurant refurbishment.
General - The hotel itself and the Spa in particular was busy to the point of being uncomfortable. There was no room in the spa to sit or to hang robes. It was evident that there were a lot of day visitors.
Orangery Restaurant - We always choose the Taster Menu with Wine Pairing, a reasonably pricey option but one which has always felt 'special'. We were taken into the restaurant a little later than our booking time at around 9:20pm. Our first surprise was that the menu we were given in our welcome pack on arrival at the hotel ('current menus enclosed') was entirely different from the actual menu in the Orangery.
The decor was refreshed but I would not say there was any noticeable improvement from a customer point of view.
On our previous visits I would estimate the capacity of tables filled at any one time to be between 50% and 75%. However, on this visit there were more tables, and the restaurant was 100% full. I am sure this delights the hotel management but not sure they will understand the effect on service from a customer perspective. What has disappeared as a result is the attention to detail. This may sound trivial but in Rockliffe of old there was no way your glass was left empty or you had to struggle to get the staff's attention. Usually when our Taster courses arrived staff had the time to explain what you were getting but now it is rushed and the 'special' has disappeared.
A lot of guests looked bored just sitting waiting on courses to arrive, service was slower and even at 11pm the Restaurant was still around 90% full.
What I cannot fault is the quality of the food or the willingness and attitude of the staff. Without exception they were all trying to do the best they could but as regular guests we could feel the pressure they were under.
It took us a lot of searching to find what I would consider is the best hotel in the North East so I am sad to see it losing it's edge. We will visit again in the hope that these are just teething problems following the refurbishment but if there is no improvement we may have to start our search again.

.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
13.1 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#5 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing