We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
north east
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

From arrival to checkout, we found the staff absolutely fantastic in all areas.

The room was sparkling clean, facilities superior to other hotels, truly had a fantastic break and can't wait to go back again.

The spa is fantastic a truly relaxing atmosphere.

Food in the clubhouse was Suberb and excellent value for money.

Thank you Rockliffe for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    320
    131
    37
    34
See reviews for
394
1,310
25
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love this hotel and definitely will be back!

A fabulous stay in one of the Maple Suites - lovely room, with fabulous facilities.

The spa is to die for - a great solarium with multi-function jacuzzi - ice room, tepidarium (who's ever heard of one of those before? - not me, but I tried it and liked it!!) and sauna. The treatment rooms are very well equipped with great staff and really nice treatments. Once you have had your treatment you are taken through to the relaxation room - they have thought of everything! One small criticism of the spa was that there weren't really enough beds round the pool area, given the space they could do with a few more.....but then if people who had finished in the spa for the day actually removed their towels from the beds it would probably make quite a lot more available for others to use!

The Orangery was not open due to refurb so we ate in the Clubhouse and the Brasserie. Both were good (not excellent, but good). One criticism would be that steaks were overpriced - a 8oz fillet for £34? Plus side dishes on top? A bit excessive................. Ribeye for £29.50? Once we finished our meal and were heading back up to the hotel ( a couple of minutes walk) the lady behind the bar asked if we would like to concierge to come and pick us up? We said yes as we had walked down without jackets.... No sooner said than done the concierge arrived to pick us up, not in a golf buggy or similar as I had expected but a BMW 520 GT!!! A nice touch!

The hotel was quite quiet as early January but service was very good, grounds are superb, rooms are stunning with the comfiest beds in the world and the food was great. I look forward to going back!!!

Room Tip: Maple rooms are very nice with great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, Tyne & Wear, England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed one night in the Tiplady suites, with a spa package. Service brilliant, rooms luxurious and well appointed, food excellent, spa facilities classy. Exceeded my expectations and worthy of 5 star status by a country mile

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights 29,30,31 december. We stayed in 312 in new hall. Fabulous rooms, comfy bed and pillows. All ameneties in the room were very good they have thought of everything. Room was adequate temperature, very quiet could not hear any noise at all.
We ate in orangery for breakfast and this was lovely, fab views. Brassiere first night was exceptional, clubhouse very good with large portions. The mistletoe ball was a great night well organised although the food was not as good as what we had in brassiere. We were informed that ladies had to wear ball gowns or dresses below the knee. Then appeared some young ladies with dresses just below thier buttocks. It was printed on an email that anyone not in correct attire would be refused admission!
All of the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. The spa treatments were fantastic and i have had many treatments around the world and these were on par with e.g maldives (kuremathi). I would recommend body bliss, aromatherapy body massage, and facial that made my skin look very healthy and fresh. My husband had a back of the body massage with a mini facial he felt relaxed and fell asleep. I had 2 treatments on new years day as spa was not fully bookded and came home feeling refreshed and rested. We loved the hydro pool especially after having massage the next day it helped to relax the muscles that had been worked on the previous day in massage. We went to driving range for an hour we were given golf buggy as it was raining. We had a good laugh. We also went on one of the walks which we enjoyed although we were covered in mud following all of the rains.
Our bill was over charged by £52.00 when we highlighted this it was corrected.
Our stay was well worth it. We will be back.

Room Tip: 312 top floor so quiet good nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Rockliffe on the Saturday between Christmas and New Year for my friend’s wedding.

Our room was amazing 314 with a superb view and we were delighted – i felt like Carrie Bradshaw and our daughter was especially delighted with the TV in the bath! It’s just a shame that we didn’t get chance to spend a bit more time in our room.

The service at this hotel is beyond amazing, nothing is too much trouble, and we were made to feel really special.

My friend’s wedding was beautiful and the canapés, wedding breakfast and night time fish & chips, and beef cibattas were all delicious.

The golf looked good when we popped down to the club house on the Sunday am but the same thing, we didn’t really have the opportunity to use the facilities offered by this hotel .

Drinks are pricey but the meals looked good value.

I think if you booked this for a romantic getaway or a luxurious break you would not be disappointed.

Ps the Dom perignon is on offer at the moment for £25 a glass - the American Bar at the Savoy charge £59 a glass!

Room Tip: Pay the extra cash for one of the rooms in the main hotel it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultimatebarbiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited with friend and enjoyed afternoon tea which was delightfull service was excellent very relaxed warm friendly we will return very impressed . We didnt stay but strolled the ground s the staff we encountered were very professional and attentive xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harla95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really smart, modern rooms. Everything was good about stay and spa was great. Looking forward to returning. We stayed as part of a group on a Christmas party night. Breakfast in the orangerie was excellent. Large bath with flat screen tv in each room is good when getting ready.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbaranks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,192 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
783 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing