We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very, very comfortable hotel”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very, very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had initially wanted to stay at the Swinton Park but it was fully booked several weeks ago for the time we were going to be in the North East. We found Rockliffe Hall through "tripadviser" and decided to give it a try. We were not at all disappointed as this is a very, very comfortable hotel.

We paid in advance and got a 15% discount on our Junior suite which had something like an 80 sq m floor area. We ate in the Brasserie one night and in the Orangery the second. Both meals were of a very high standard, although to our mind not quite up there with the Driftwood near St Mawes where we stayed in September.

Yes there were a couple of niggles, we failed to master the lighting system in the room whilst the TV was a bit tempermental - the Duty Manager said they were aware of both issues but as yet they had not been addressed - but on the other hand our i-pad worked a treat.

We visited Washington Old Hall (good), Bowes Museum (a bit disappointing), the National Railway Museum at Shildon (2 Gresley A4 Pacifics - Dwight D Eisenhower and Dominion of Canada- being cosmetically restored ahead of the 75th Anniversary of Mallard's world speed record next year) and the Black Sheep Brewery in Masham (my wife was not particularly impressed!!)

All in all a very relaxing two night break in an area we have not visited for some 30 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,915
    308
    123
    35
    35
See reviews for
374
1,251
25
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I took my lovely mum to Rockliffe Hall for afternoon tea for her 75th birthday, Afternoon tea is something we love to do its such a treat. Ive sampled afternoon tea in some amazing places from local places a regular at Wynyard Hall upto the The Ritz in London (cant praise it highly enough), Rockliffe is wonderful i cant wait to return, its pricy but you pay fo the amazing foodue delights and the experience , the ambience and the beautiful suurroundings which compliment the experience (in my opinion). we had a little pot of gorgeousness it was fresh blackberry jelly with a vanilla foam...mmmmmmm it was so lush. i myself love to bake i make lovely scones and im quite hard to please, the scones i had here were the best ive ever had!!
I struggled to make my booking the floods up here had stopped the telephone lines woring, im quite resourceful, and determined and tweted Kenny Atkinson to ask is he could help, i was blown away when one of my fave celeb chefs responded and sorted my booking for me. Im not sure hte staf i dealt with beying Kenny were too impressed at my cheek but i really wanted to take my mum and couldnt get through via the phoen it was never intended t be a stunt. i was originally told by answerphone they couldnt accomodate us but when i rang back the young lady i spoke to couldnt be more helpful ans thn shge rang me back with a better table and an earlier time. I really loved the feel of the place sumptious but not intimidating and a real treu foodie high. My hubby and I are going back for my wedding anniversary gift from my fab children to the Brasserie i simply cannot wait to return. Im going with my team from work for festive afternoon tea for our Christmas treat....bring it on!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I cannot fault this hotel. The staff are fantastic. A five star service with no hint of prevention of snobbiness. The room was amazing with a tv at the end of the bath. It impressed both myself & our 6 year old twin boys. Lovely Miller & Harris toiletries, plenty of tea & coffee in the room. We only had breakfast at the hotel but that was lovely. Fresh pastries, fruit, cereal etc & a wonderful cooked breakfast. The spa was also wonderful. I had a massage & the lady who did it was friendly & professional. The after treatment room was amazing & very relaxing.
All in all we had an amazing time. Most importantly our children were made to feel welcome & that always makes a hotel a winner for me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First impressions were great. Beautiful modern hotel, tasteful decor in a wonderful setting. Staff were very welcoming and attentive which is why I have rated the property as 'very good'. However, the afternoon tea was very disappointing. We were presented with a selection of anaemic looking sandwiches containing egg/cress, ham/mustard, cheese/tomato & the saving grace, smoked salmon/creme fraiche. This was followed by a variety of small cakes including a scone with fresh cream & jam and tea/coffee.
I expected to pay approx £20 for this type of venue but I also expected something a little more adventurous and upmarket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is nothing bad about this establishment. The best hotel that i have stayed in the UK for a while. I stay here every month due to work commitments, and staying at this hotel makes going to Darlington more bearable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic 3 day break at Rockliffe Hall. Can't praise enough the quality of surroundings, both indoors and outdoors, the amazing food and excellent service. The Prestige meal in The Orangery made for a memorable last night and was well worth the expense. If you are planning a special treat this is the place to go you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrygleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a most luxurious hotel set in beautiful grounds. We totally enjoyed our 3 day stay. We were staying in the Tiplady Lodge which is very close to the Main Hall. The room was very spacious and beautifully furnished, and it was incredibly peaceful with views over the grounds.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel and the Spa, and the dinner in The Orangery was a true experience - fantastic food in a great setting.
For a luxurious getaway for a few days, this cannot be beaten - totally to be recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in Tiplady Lodge are less expensive than in the Main Hotel, but are extremely modern and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees, United Kingdom - Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing