We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”
Review of The Otter and Fish

The Otter and Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the river tees in the picturesque village of Hurworth close to the north Yorkshire border. Fully refurbished inside & out to the highest standard, creating an ambiance second to none, in what has to be the best interior in the area. Family owned & run since 2006, we pride ourselves on our food & service. Our menus and service create a warm & welcoming atmosphere with the emphasis on food & service, ensuring a great experience. We serve traditional bar meals as well as a full a la carte menu, giving customers of all tastes plenty of choice. Our food is all homemade, prepared on the premises and sourced from local suppliers.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited the otter and the fish with family for a meal and drinks. We all had 3 courses and the food and service was great. We sat in the bar afterwards and felt it was nice and cosy. I would revisit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    184
    41
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“MarjOrie2013_13”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant since just before it was transformed to its current standard.We have had Lunches,Dinners and Early Bird Menus.I cannot remember being disappointed with the food but was sorry when for a while they stopped doing the beautiful curry.However i see it is back.Hurrah.

The staff are really helpful and efficient.Good job we do not live next door or I would never cook!!
Well done Otter and Fish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjOrie2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our food was lush. I was a little bit disappointed at first as I really fancied the garlic mushrooms from the early bird menu which the first waitress said I could still order from and pay the individual price, the second waitress said this was not possible as stopped serving those dishes at 6pm ( surely if they were in the kitchen I could buy them) any how this meant I had to choose something else. Mmm thy did me a favour I had king prawns to start, which ere lovely. He place has a great atmosphere, will def be returning

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish food outlet”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

In terms of attractiveness this is one of the favourites for its surroundings. It is well worth a visit with good food and great atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look forward to our next visit”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Popped in for Lunch on New Years Eve, after visiting a couple of weeks earlier with friends, same friendly greeting and service along with great food, will defiantley be popping in again through out 2013

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Otter and Fish also viewed

Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Otter and Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing