We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming village hotel with river views & friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, East Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming village hotel with river views & friendly staff.”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

You are greeted with a warm smile & attentive service at The Croft. The building may have seen better days but the hotel have decorated it with care & detail making it feel as comfortable & smart as possible. For a few £s more you can upgrade to a themed executive room which is a real treat. Each one fitted out in a different decorative style. We were in the Prince Albert which had a beautiful four poster bed, authentic early phone handset, one on the wall for show the other fully functional, by the bed.
The food was a good standard for the price. The full English breakfast was served with good quality bacon & sausage, all cooked to perfection. Dinner is reasonable, especially the specials which did not dissappoint.
The location was ideal for a wedding we were attending but also would be good for people touring the area.
The highlight was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, they were full of local knowledge and chat to make you feel you'd been staying there for weeks.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claritadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    51
    25
    21
See reviews for
60
127
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Croft Spa with a works party, we have stayed here before many years ago before it was refurbished downstairs.

The bar area has improved and the old Ballroom area which is now Raffles Restaurant looks quite good. Nice, friendly service at the front desk, owner very pleasant and staff in general very helpful. However the bedrooms (ours anyway) really could do with some TLC - in this day and age, and in particular the fierce competition in the Hospitality industry now, there is no excuse for mouldy showerheads and peeling wallpaper. Not only does it look terrible but it is a health hazard. The bathroom, a decent size, was let down by the said black mouldy showerhead, similar black mould on the bathmat, a bath panel which was threatening to go AWOL and peeling wallpaper in the corner.

My husband did mention the offending showerhead to reception who, granted, promptly got housekeeping to come up and clean it.

Also my pet hates are light bulbs which have gone - one in the chandelier in the middle and the main reading light above the bed. Dust - lots of it on top the bed head. Also another important point - why, oh why, can you not open windows in hotel rooms?? Our bedroom one was sealed shut - however the bathroom one did open but did not discover this until the following morning. On a positive note, lovely big comfy, firm beds and nice bath products.

Our works party meal I think was mixed - I had chosen roast beef, although lovely and tasty was spoiled by being too tough. Soup and pudding of sticky toffee was spot-on.

Also thumbs up for breakfast - a good choice of cooked breakfasts - my poached smoked haddock and poached egg were perfectly cooked, a decent portion and served on hot plates.

Not a criticism of the hotel in any way, but improvements to the bedrooms do need to be addressed. Room rates were very good value for money. At the end of the day though, no matter how much you pay for a hotel room, whether it is bargain basement or top-of-the-range - cleanliness is paramount. If Croft just pay a little more attention to these details, then they will receive a higher star rating on here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire/Yorkshire border
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I am surprised by the negative reviews on this hotel - I am very happy with my stay.

I arrived late after a long tiring day and the check in staff were very helpful - the ambience in the bar and reception were very welcome too.

My room - the "Hollywood" room was well decorated and spacious. The Croft can also take credit for wifi being available in the room too free of charge which is the way to go (unlike some stuck in a previous century who still want to charge).

Service in the bar was good and breakfast next morning just right for another day on the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumphfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Spent one night here, very expensive although slightly reduced price as guest of bride and groom. Room dirty, handle missing off wardrobe,another came off drawers, bathroom needed a good clean. The shower dripped and trickled all #### night, so no sleep at all. Tried to shower in morning but shower was stone cold. A very tatty dirty room that was not worth £100- an absolute disgrace really. I stayed at a B&b in the lakes and the room and service was far far better and cleaner and cheaper. Breakfast average, not much choice for ££ paid, coffee luke warm and toast anaemic. Communal areas needed a good clean, a bit like an old pub really - nothing special. Asked for discount but told NO. Only way to our room from party room was via carpark not allowed through hotel - freezing cold.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hell0chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Size of bedroom/bathroom as expected for price but only thing that did live up to tariff charged. Fittings, cleanliness all well below standard. Public areas a designers nightmare. Food and dining service good (but it would have helped if we could see our meals).The four poster looked impressive until you noticed the layer of dust on the canopy and the bathroom tiles needed treating for mildew. No hotel information guide,no mirror on the dressing table nor clock or radio Pity, but a bit of effort could make a nice room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of a wedding party. Reception, dining and bar areas were all really nice and the food and service were excellent. However the rooms themselves were a very mixed bunch. Of the rooms I saw, four , inlcuding ours, were very dated, bits and pieces didn't work and the decor was stained and tired. However judging by some of the comments I heard from other guests some of the other rooms must have been quite nice. For a couple of nights it was Ok but not somewhere I'd recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitley bay uk.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Attended the hotel with approx 30 reletives for an anniversary celebration on 3rd July.
everyone agreed that the hotel was a very pleasant surprise.The entrance area, dining area and the bar were all themed with elaborate wood carvings and moulds.
The bedrooms are all different with sumptuous drapes and bed linen. The bathrooms
again are all different with a wide range of bath types and shapes.
The carvery type meal served in the function rooms was OK but the sevice was provided by what apeared to be teenage students. They were obviously keen but without any experienced supervision.
The real problem surfaced at breakfast the next morning. Tea,coffee,toast,butter,milk all had to be requested over a period of approx 20 mins. The table of cereal,orange juice etc was not replenished until most guests had finished breakfast.
The staff at breakfast again were very young,very disorganised,keen but unsupervised
The food was satisfactory when it was eventully delivered but there seemed to be no method of ensuring that guests were served in any kind of logical order.
This hotel could be a wonderfull place to stay if only they employed experienced staff
and more importantly an experienced head waiter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie Pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croft-on-Tees
2.2 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#6 of 21 in Darlington
176 reviews
10.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
284 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Address: | Croft-on-Tees, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England (Formerly The Croft Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing