We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fine basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

We just happened to pick the hottest day of the year to stay -yes there was one! rooms did not have aircon or a fan and the windows only opened a fraction so a very very hot night.
Rooms were spacious and clean, though the themes a little odd.
Very old building as the floors are quite uneven so if you feel you are walking up hill in the room you are not going mad.
Food was really good though-breakfast was generous and the staff very friendly. Good value for money for a reasonable hotel room.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — poorly ventilated rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackgsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    78
    49
    25
    20
See reviews for
55
118
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Describing itself as Darlington's premier boutique hotel is, I think, damning itself with faint praise.

The staff were brilliant - in every respect. Helpful, friendly and efficient. And full marks for free wireless internet access and free wine and water in the rooms. Many hotels that cost three times the price don't provide these facilities.

However, the building itself is a little tired. It seems to have been redecorated in the last couple of years but in a very 'Changing Rooms on the Cheap' way. And this is now becoming a bit tatty and faded. The shower in our bathroom was also a very poor affair. These things don't correspond to boutique in my book.

The beer garden is a slab of concrete with some chairs overlooking the car park. Saturday night's dinner was taken in Raffles restaurant at The Croft. This was complete with (and I quote) "exquisite furniture made up of authentic wicker furniture, huge carved wooden sculptures and banana plants [that] were all imported from Kuala Lumpa [sic], to create the perfect ambience to transport you to another world". During our meal with were serenaded (read 'deafened') with a live band playing country and western, which I'm sure is all the rage in Kuala Lumpur these days. The food was nice and beautifully presented, however.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Tatty interiors
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

The Croft is worth a visit.
Staff are very friendly, personal and helpful - makes all the difference.
General fabric of the place is a little tired and the plumbing in the rooms is not great.
Themed rooms are good fun - some are a bit quirky though.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — plumbing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try a themed room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

The hotel was excellent, food was out of this world. Advice about decor has been listened too obviously, as this was an excellent place to stay. My room was upgraded to a double for FREE, and it was massive! Staff were great, breakfast lovely and the waitress called Marnie was friendly. If you are a little wierd stay in Room 1 as when you open your curtain you are 5 metres from an OLD grave-yard!! Needless to say it was very peaceful but enjoyed 5 nights here.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — It was all great
  • Tips/Secrets — Free wine AND CHOCOLATE with room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pet-Ops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2006

a lovely hotel wiv great facilities....the sauna was brill afta workin out in the fully equiped gym the staff were polite and attentive and breakfast was fine and the hotel room was lovely especially wiv the freebies throw in the wine and chocs were a supprise...great stuff!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekkabek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

Stayed here on business for the first time - have tried other hotels in the Darlington area without much success.
Croft Hotel is in need of re-decoration and refurbishment - a little 'tired'.
Staff were friendly and welcoming. Restaurant ok and reasonable value, but decor is a bit overpowering.
Breakfast service was very slow - not a good start to the day.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizness Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2005

I recently stayed at 'The Croft' formally Croft Spa and I have to say what a refreshing change. The hotel has been lovingly restored and offers very refreshing bedrooms. The room I stayed in was called 'The Oriental' which had marvellous authentic 'thai' furntiure and deep red walls. Definatly the best small hotel I have come across in years!

Helpful?
4 Thank hazb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croft-on-Tees
2.2 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#5 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
10.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Address: Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England (Formerly The Croft Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing