We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and characterful, superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel in a beautiful bit of countryside.

Our room was fine, pretty conventional, had everything you need and expect (bed, telly, table, a couple of chairs, coffee stuff, shower, toilet), but nothing exceptional. Big enough, but not spacious.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, definitely the highlight of the hotel. We were there as part of a large (25-ish) group booking, which put some strain on the staff, but they did their best. We had the function room booked for our exclusive use on one night, and they did a very good job of providing delicious food and keeping us well looked-after.

The building is old enough to have some character to it, but is well-maintained throughout. Decoration is smart, the bar downstairs feels quite modern, the rest of the hotel is fairly neutral, neither modern nor self-conciously olde worlde.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was comfortable though not exactly large. Reasonable bathroom but shower a bit feeble.
However any shortcomings with the room were more than made up for by the excellent service. Staff were courteous and helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was the best i have ever had in a hotel. Cooked to my exact preferences and delicious. Unlimited cereal, juices, tea and coffee with croissants and pain au chocolate also available. Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awkward666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked this hotel on late rooms and we were visiting friends in the area and we only needed one night. I drive past the hotel quite regularly and thought how nice it looks so decided to give it a try as the room rate was the same as the premier inn.

We arrived mid afternoon as was very impressed by the decor and the feeling of the hotel in the lobby and bar area. It looked modern and clean. After checking in we made our way up to our room which was on the first floor. The room was clean but looking very dated with mahogany furniture which had seen better days and also a few handles were missing from the wardrobes. The bathroom was large and clean again with a lovely deep bath.

The biggest problem came when lying on the bed, it squeaked and groaned loudly if either of us turned over and once both of us laid down we rolled into the middle. Looking underneath the large bed had no center rail which meant the slats were taking all the pressure and bowing in the middle (for those who read my reviews we own a furniture shop and beds and mattresses are our biggest bug when staying at hotels!) It got even worse when the husband tried to sit up in bed and the slats collapsed making the mattress slide down to the floor! On lifting the mattress we saw that the slats hadnt been screwed down so should be a simple fix.

It was quite noisy until about midnight, with slamming doors and i have no idea what was going on downstairs but there was a lot of scraping and loud banging going on! We slept ok but the quality of the mattress and bed wasnt fantastic

We didnt dine in the hotel in the evening but had breakfast in the morning. The lady who waited on us was pleasant and professional but this was somewhat overshadowed by 2 other members of staff talking loudly in the kitchen and then 1 proceeded to ring someone and start talking VERY loudly about their child and that he needed new PE kit. Just what you want to hear whilst trying to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. We both had eggs benedict. It was hot and fresh but nothing amazing. On check out we were given a bag with a piece of cake, an apple and a bottle of water which was a nice touch

The hotel is showing signs of promise but the rooms need up dating majorly if they want to continue charging their room rates. I paid £50 and i feel for what we got that was more than enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motorsportgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Perfectly placed for our 2nd nights stop in our C2C cycle. Great accommodation and service. We had a look around the village for an alternative meal at night but the pubs looked a bit tired and uninviting. Settled on the Croft hotel's own restaurant and it was excellent food. Recently refurbished hotel, very clean, attentive staff who couldn't do enough for us especially the bar staff and night porter. I'd share the photos of the chaise langue but on second thoughts maybe not! Bike storage arranged last minute inside the hotel was a bonus too. Lovely setting. Superb room, very clean. Thanks. Will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernMonkeyRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay here over the bank holiday weekend. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room we were allocated was really very nice it was airy and clean with plenty of room even with a put up bed for our 9 years old. However and trying the bed I found that it had a rock hard mattress with a wooden base which you kept knocking into. We went to reception to state that I would not be able to sleep in that particular bed. It was no prblen at all and again the receptionist was very helpful showing us to another room straight away with a bed which was more suitable for me. So praise indeed for the speedy way they dealt with the issue and their helpfulness, again the room was very roomy and airy with really good decor even though it was over looking the main road, due to excellant double glazing there was hardly and traffic noise so a decent night sleep was had.
We had a groupon bed and breakfast deal which was really good value for money. We had full english which was served to you at your table, it was piping hot and was adequate enough to easily see you over till lunch time, we also dined in the restuarant one night and the meal was very nice. The staff again were really attentative and pleasant. All in all a really good and pleasant stay in a recently refurbished hotel with gastro pub grub and brilliant staff. Would I stya here again, yes most certainly if the right deal becomes available again.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a very hard mattress and was really uncomfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newmarskeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed overnight on a business trip with 2 other colleagues. All 3 rooms were different, we all agreed our beds were very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious, as was out cooked full English breakfast. At check out they sent us off with a little package of cake and water, a lovely touch and much appreciated. For the foreign traveller, if you are looking for an hotel with a bit of soul, in lovely English surroundings and good english cuisine in this part of the world, then this could be for you.

Room Tip: They are all different, so be adventurous
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed overnight at The Croft Hotel in Darlington. The hotel is beautiful and in lovely surroundings. The staff are really friendly and the bar prices are reasonable! The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were lovely. Room service was fast and you could order food and drinks to your room until 9pm. We had a lovely stay, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croft-on-Tees
2.2 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,579 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
804 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel

Address: | Croft-on-Tees, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England (Formerly The Croft Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Price Range: $74 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing