We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paint fumes of hell !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paint fumes of hell !!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed on the Friday night , I went up to the room yes I understood it was a basic room .... But so basic that the room STANK of gloss paint so much so that we needed to open the window ... Only to find the windows did not open ! We will put a fan on ... No fan... No air con ... The beds were like sleeping on wooden planks they were that hard , in the morning the shower was terrible , either ice cold or so hot that you scream with pain !! Breakfast ... Well we sat down to dirty plated , tea stained cups , when the coffee was brought out is was like warm and stated like it had been sat there stewing for hours , overall one of the worst places I have ever stayed in my life !! Dated is an understatement , suffered with head aches from the fumes all weekend !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    86
    51
    26
    21
See reviews for
63
136
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent one night bed and breakfast on return from a Spanish Holiday, The hotel is very old over 200 years, the interior has been renovated and the named rooms were very quirky, we stayed in The Victoria Room which was very large with an excellent en-suite.

The hotel is only a few miles from the A1 and is in an excellent position for anyone travelling up or down from the north

Ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night, but the meals were not cooked to a high standard and were just passable.

Breakfast however was excellent and was well cooked and presented.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and attentive.

All in all a good country hotel and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyBrookes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferryhill, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here on the Groupon offer in February the stay hotel was nice but tired in places and could do with some modernisation. The room was spacious and there had been extra heaters put in the room for our arrival. Breakfast was nice although my boyfriend had hoped to use the ‘spa’ facilities before breakfast however they hadn’t been switched on!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed here on business and wanted a quiet night. Staff were helpful although reception was a bit slow due to only one receptionist. Room was massive with a large bed and clean too. The desk was not very well placed to work on, being tucked in an alcove near the generously sized bathroom but it was at least well lit. Evening food was slightly more expensive than a budget hotel but quality was very good so no complaints there. Gym is very small with limited equipment but it was nice to have a gym at all for the price. Breakfast was fine, again, no complaints and the price was quite cheap.
Four stars only because of the room layout and the staff were a bit slow but otherwise, a good sleep and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in April 2011 following our wedding at a nearby venue. (see my earlier review 'It was pants!'). After a memorable stay for all the wrong reasons and after a letter of complaint the hotel did accept the service we received on our wedding night was not acceptable and we were offered a free night which we decided to accept in September 2011. Previously we were in 'The Chateau' this time we were in the oriental suite. This time the room was clean - no added extras!

There was still a lack of attention to detail, there was a large bathroom but no space round the sink to put your toiletries. The bath was nice but only drained if you held the fitted plug up with your hands! Only one bedside light worked, you couldn't even plug one in as the cord didn't reach the socket!

Amusingly for the oriental room there was an Egyptian themed dressing table - but that is being a bit picky!

Breakfast was fine and the staff friendly. We appreciated the offer of the free night from the hotel and we can honestly say the service was better, but it needs to address the lack of attention to detail as it really lets this hotel down - it really could be so much better!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Good value accomadation excellent staff fabulous breakfast.

Staff endeavour to accomadate your needs and are very apporoachable with anty additional requests.

Room Tip: Phone and check for upgardes different rooms and standards re size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay186347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed here last week for one night booked by company for business in area. I stayed here earlier in the year for two nights. The reason i was prompted to write a review was to point out that if you are considering choosing this hotel then you may need to ask about the bedding. I stay at hotels at least once a week and always have a duvet, the Croft only gives a sheets and bedspread which is decorative rather than warm or comfortable. My first visit I did ask for a duvet and was given a single one, however I never got a chance to ask on my recent visit as I arrived late.
There appears to be more staff than customers and no one helped me with my luggage or check in (receptionist was on phone) so staff not working as a team.
I was in the chateau room which was shabby chic, but no proper desk and chair.
The positives are the food was excellent, toiletries nice and there was free wi fi available.
I would stay here again as it was convenient for my work however I will phone ahead and ask for a duvet.

Room Tip: Rear are quieter, front is on road, ask for preferred bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croft-on-Tees
2.2 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
837 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
10.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
299 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Address: | Croft-on-Tees, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England (Formerly The Croft Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croft-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing