We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walworth
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

decided to try walworth castle for the carvery, driving up to the castle was amazing entrance was excellent, staff at reception was miserable!!!, went through to restaurant, ordered drinks at the bar, and bought tickets for carvery, staff at bar was average, the carvery looked small, our table was littered with left over dinners, a waiter came and removed these once we sat down, went to the carvery the meat was plentiful, no mash potatoes left? veg was ok flat yorkshire puddings? we ate and left, would we return.... no.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuyandsuebartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We do appreciate all review left for our hotel, although if you would have let us know of your dissatisfaction at the time, we could have done something about it rather than going straight home and on trip advisor. Sundays is an extremely busy day for us and I am sure the staff on duty would have cleared the tables as quickly as possible. We source all our products locally, and make our Yorkshire puddings in house. I am sorry that you would not return and I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    236
    126
    77
    30
See reviews for
138
443
20
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights in one of the 4-poster bedrooms. This is a real 400 year old castle that is now a hotel so lots of interesting room shapes and corridors. The staff were all really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, food prices very reasonable and tasty.
The childrens play area had a good range of quality outdoor kit for smaller children.
There are a lot of things to do close by (by car) great countryside for walking, Durham is a short drive away and well worth a visit, the Bowes Museum at Barnard Castle makes a good day out, even the National Rail Museum was a surprising family hit (and its free entry!).
How lucky we were to stay here and experience a unique break in a wonderful part of the UK.

Room Tip: This is a 400 year old castle not a travel lodge - if you want to stay somewhere with 150 identical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristorgrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for completing such a wonderful review of our hotel. Being privately owned and operated we are a family friendly hotel and it is really nice to receive your comments like your daughter thinking that she is a princess. I am pleased that you found all the staff to be friendly and we certainly would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We chose this hotel despite it being a bit more expensive than other hotels in the area because we had not stayed in a castle before. We were allocated a large bedroom with a four poster bed and with steps to get into it ! We found the staff to be very friendly and pleasant.
The evening meal was superb and the breakfast which was served to you was also excellent. We were very pleased with the hotel and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I will pass your comments onto our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Walworth on 1.1.13 with a large group of friends and family. It was excellent, with friendly staff, lovely surroundings and super food. The chef not only cooks well, he's a real character. Thanks to all for making a great start to the New Year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunntravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about New Years Day. I will certainly pass on your comments to the members of staff who made your meal so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed one night as part of the january deal, we dined in the restaurant and had a lovely meal then had drinks in the bar until last orders. However we feel this was all spoiled a little when we were woke up to loud sirens and red flashing lights filling the room at 6am. We rushed downstairs to be told the chef had set the fire alarm off in the kitchen, I understand that mistakes can happen and its not really anyones fault but we did not even get an apology at the time or when we came to check out.

The food and the hotel is quite nice but was just let down by how this incident was dealt with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for the fire alarm being set off by accident. This does not happen very often and I sincerely hope that this did not spoil your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and drinks whilst being at our hotel and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed overnight at this hotel of character and atmosphere.

Was immediately upgraded to a suite which definitely had the wow factor. Great room with a four poster bed.

Very comfortable and had a good nights sleep.

Bathroom very new and modern with a good power shower

Never ate there as had room only.

Very polite and efficient staff. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We have recently had some of our bathrooms refurbished and I am pleased that you enjoyed one of them. We do try and upgrade our customers where we can so I am happy that you got a four poster room. Next time you are in the area you might like to try our new menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a private room booked for a family lunch for 17 people and six of us stayed overnight.
Everything was very good, the rooms, the breakfast, the evening meal, the lunch and the service.
All heartily recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peasle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walworth
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.8 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
4.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Address: Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darlington's only castle hotel, nestled in 18 acres of lawns and woodland yet only 5 minutes drive from J58 the A1(M). It is the ideal location for your overnight stay and is perfect for both business accommodation, meetings and conferences, as well as wedding receptions and romantic getaways. We have 32 individually designed bedrooms and complimentary Wifi access throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing