We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Elegance in the Jungle.”
Review of Amandari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amandari
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance in the Jungle.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the drive down the stone-walled path to reception to the parting confection offered by reception, the Amandari has got it down. Although one of its older properties, the Amandari is a gem, located atop the Ayung River valley, each suite is separate, has its own garden, and mine had an excellent view of some well-tended rice fields. When I say under-stated elegance, I truly mean that. If you are expecting over-the-top, in-your-face luxury, like that of Ritz Carlton, with a slightly stuffy atmosphere, this is NOT the place for you. If you want to immerse yourself in Balinese culture, with warm, inviting people who aren't afraid to laugh and joke with you, but pamper you to no end, then you will be at home in Amandari.

The green-tiled pool is lovely and incorporates itself seamlessly into its surroundings. The views from the infinity's edge are incomparable, particularly at dusk. Might I recommend, if inclined, to select a seat at the bar an hour or so before sunset and enjoy a drink and tapas as the sun goes down? The guacamole is terrific, as was the cheese quesadilla and fresh gazpacho. Mmmm. That brings me to the dinner menus, which had full fare of Balinese cuisine and Western possibilities as well.

We took a cycling excursion (that involved a lot of uphill climbs-beware to non-cyclists), walk through the rice fields and local market, as well as a trip through the monkey forest and downtown Ubud and its markets. The monkeys can be quite friendly, have zero respect for personal space, so prepare yourself for that, and if you happen to carry food for them, expect to get a hug from at least one of the critters. Our tour guide was named "Jaya" and he was absolutely fantastic. Warm, thoughtful, friendly, and as informative as we wanted him to be.

The thatched-roof suites, themselves, have spacious double-vanitied bathrooms, outdoor tubs, and marble floors. I loved how they would light incense that would burn all day long. Rooms were refreshed several times a day and, in retrospect, would have loved to have spent more time in the room on its terrace, mediating and relaxing.

Aman is a special group of hotels, and Amandari does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Wear ear plugs if the cock-a-doodle-doo of the rooster wakes you up in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JToddWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    31
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
150
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went here with my family and it was a wonderful trip. This place makes you feel like you are in the jungle and there are great views of rice patties and the entire area is lush with foliage. Very peaceful, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remipatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

peacefull, quite, and "you" time are good word to describe all of the Aman Resort group.
like the other aman Hotel amandari have no Television in his suite.
beautifull rice field sweep away in front of your window as your green scene in the morning and in the day..
traditional balinesse food pammper your stomach.
the area is not only green but also full of colour, and if you go down lokal village you can understand what do i mean. ;)

Room Tip: this area located in the jungle, sometimes you can found a couples of mosquite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imay_septia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Long ago before the plythora of umpteen mini boutique hotel hatchling wannabees there was the revolutionary original ...Aman Puket in 1988 followed by this catagory stunner in 1989...Amandari. For years I had heard about these two magical places destined for the exclusive few who could afford the cost of admission or for those who had saved dearly for that admission.
18 mo after 9/11 with Travel way down to tourist dependant Bali, I was lucky enough to score a semi affordable 2 nts at the famed Amandari I had heard so much about. My girl friend and I also visited Four Seasons Ubud and the Ritz Carlton.. The Ritz was not in the same league so its not relevant to this thread about exotic boutique experiences.

Comparing Four Seasons Ubud to the Amandari is really a subjective preference choice as both are excellent and both really excel in their own unique ways.

FS is slightly more affordable ...your checkin will evoke a Star Wars like experience .....floating observation platform of geometric forms set against a stunning jungle valley Vista. The compound and individual bungalows combine modernists forms with the finest tropical woods and organic materials to delight your senses. FS is the contrast and balance between contemporary modern and lush tropical surroundings.
Amandari... Has an entirely different ethos being designed to integrate with the rituals and pulse of village life while still affording the maximum in luxurious privacy.
Using classic Balinese temple/ village architecture! contruction and materials as a reference, Amandari achieves a unique harmony with its natural surroundings. As a result , Amandari provides a greater sense of zen if one desires this. Its not some hotel plopped into a terraced jungle. The relevance and success of this approach is still evident after all these years as people continue to be inspired by their visit.
We loved and felt inspired visiting each resort. Both offered truely exceptional luxury experiences fit for a prince and princess. However, If we could only return to one place it would be the Amandari. The Zen is in their details.

Room Tip: Any unit with a pool overlooking the terraced rice fields and jungle beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hc437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The aim of Aman, in theory, is that you feel at home in a luxury hotel without the obscene luxury making you feel uncomfortable. That goal, so difficult and delicate to achieve , we lived in the four nights we spent at the Amandari, no doubt.
The place is very nice, although I must acknowledge that Bali in general were somewhat disappointed because we did not expect it to be as developed for mass tourism. However, Amandari is in a location that is likely to be just as special for many years, thanks to being away from the beach. Quiet, evocative and delicate. And the service was perfect and invisible at the same time. Every time we left the room, even if it was half an hour, invisible elves had been there leaving it even more perfect. Smiles friendly but not forced, solicitous but not servile employees. Perfection in hotel service.
If I had need to say something more critic, the restaurant should improve, because it is not up to the standard of the hotel, although for our experience Aman sometimes fail at that. The rest, perfect.

Room Tip: We went to the cheapest one, the Village suite, and it was great. We can guess that the more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xinyuanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great view overlooking the forest and river at the AmanDari. Given the general faster flow in Ubud, I think some of that feeling spills over into the Aman. If you are looking for tranquility and must stay in ubud, this or the Four Seasons are probably the best places, though I found stays at other Amans in Bali more peaceful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything you love at Aman resorts you'll find at Amandari. They were especially welcoming to out children ages 5 and 8. We had friends with children visit us for the afternoon, and without discussing our guests beforehand, the Aman staff with their "jedi" skills knew their names and preferences.

The front desk staff spent nearly every evening with the kids searching for frogs on the property. When we left there were lots of good-bye hugs. We really felt at home and the location in Ubud (not in the main shopping district, but set away on a hillside in the jungle) was stunning. Do explore the property and the steps leading down to the river. We all loved listening to the calls of the jungle before falling asleep and following the butterflies to breakfast each morning.

There are three Aman resorts in Bali. Don't miss Amandari!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 197 in Ubud
1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 197 in Ubud
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 197 in Ubud
1,118 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amandari

Property: Amandari
Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
#2 Family Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amandari 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amandari (meaning peaceful spirits) is located in the village of Kedewatan, on the fringe of Bali's cultural capital, Ubud. Perched on an escarpment high above the winding Ayung River gorge, this resort follows the design of a traditional Balinese village. Pebbled walkways link the thatched-roof suites, each of which has its own walled garden. Amandari provides a unique setting from which to experience the cultural richness of Bali's artistic centre as well as its mountainous region to the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amandari Hotel Kedewatan
Amandari Hotel Ubud
Amandari Resort Ubud
Amandari Bali/Kedewatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing