We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balinasian village hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amandari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amandari
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Balinasian village hospitality”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Unlike other luxurious hotels, we felt Amandari is very close to the local Kedewatan community. The greatest thing about Amandari is that all of the hotel staffs are very friendly, well trained and are trying to show the inner Bali, real local tradition and culture. if you are intersted in Balinasian culture, you will enjoy the various activities they offer. Or you can just relax in a villa with a great view of rice terrace and get soothing massage in the spa. Even in the hotel garden, you can look at little village childrens taking lessons of Bali dance and Gamran every afternoon. My husband and I stayed there for three nights and we enjoyed the guided tour to Kintamani, morning trecking, Balinasian dance and play at the local Kedewatan village thatre, which were all complementary! We really think the all experiences we had were very special and worth for money we paid.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 24, which had a spacious living room with a view of rice field, the bedroom upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithfriends_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    29
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
142
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights at Amandari. Quite simply, it was fabulous. Our two level villa (number 24) was very comfortable and spacious, the private outdoor bath tub beside our villa was wonderful, the views from the villa were very interesting and scenic, the pool was wonderful, and the food and wine were excellent. The manager (Mr. Mehra) and his staff were very accessible and made extraordinary efforts to fully and quickly satisfy our every need. The driver (Bawa) that we had through the hotel for 4 days was excellent, as was the guide (Guna) that the hotel provided.
Amandari is just outside Ubud and the hotel provides a free car service into and out of the town on request.
The hotel even provides free homemade cookies and crackers in the room.
Bali's Denpasar Airport is less than perfectly organized, but the hotel provided (at no additional cost) a person who met us as we stepped off the plane to guide us quickly through customs and out to the car that took us straight to Amandari. We had a similar service on the way home.
We are already planning another trip here in the nxt couple of years. Yes, it is expensive, but it also is paradise. If you are going to Bali and can afford it, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the villas are great. We really enjoyed our stay in villa 24, although the spiral staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the airport until departing 5 days later, we felt like we were the only guests at the hotel. Our every need was met. We were greeted by 6 staff members as the car arrived, and for the duration of our visit every staff member knew us by name, remembered our food and beverage preferences, sought to make every minute perfect. The grounds and views are magical, music and culture integral to the daily experience. We had the perfect combination of privacy and chatting with managers and staff. Our massages were in rooms with outdoor waterfalls. The villa, which was a complementary upgrade, was like living in a dream. Our friends, who stayed in another resort in Ubud and visited us for lunch, were sorry they did not choose the Amandari.
LOVED our 3 hour hike with hotel guide thru village, temples, schools, and meeting local folks, ending with breakfast overlooking the gorge. We also appreciated the driving tour and visits to local quality crafts workshops.
We visited Bali during a Hindu religious celebration. Amandari staff dressed us in appropriate clothing drove us to the village temple and waited for us. We were the only non-locals, and were welcomed with smiles and invitations to enter and take part.
Our thanks to manager Sid and all employees for the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: If you are going this far, spend a bit extra and stay in a villa with plunge pool overlooking the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We cannot say enough about our experience in Amandari.
The villa is beautiful, quiet and private - an oasis of calm and peace.
The food is fabulous, we ate all our meals in the villa. The chef does a great job both with the food and the training of his staff who came over to the villa to prepare some of our dishes.
The service is absolutely impeccable. Our butlers Sudi and Mawa went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We felt so comfortable and at home throughout our stay.
And last but not least, the GM Siddarth, our charming host, does an excellent job in ensuring that Aman lives up to its reputation and stays second to none.
We will return soon for another amazing Amandari experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuyu_H012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Loved the people and the service, they would always be smiling. The place was spectacular, sounded by rice terraces. The food was brilliant!! Highly recommended for honeymooners. The quality of the service is impressive, it starts as soon as you come down from the plane. They even gave us a free massage as a honeymoon gift!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Aman really knows how to create an experience like no other hotel chain in the world.
The hotel itself is a part of the local community and culture. You feel like you are living the Bali experience just be staying there. Couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs, The roosters are LOUD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Christmas holiday break and were Aman "virgins" and are now converted to Aman junkie status.

This was a beautiful experience. The staff are just perfect - welcoming and friendly. The GM is charming and on top of everything that is going on - the perfect host.

We stayed in a pool suite and the decor is understated and relaxing. The pool was just the right size and the views sublime. My only small suggestion for improvement would be to have another sofa/day bed in the room. There was only one rattan chair and ottoman.

The Amandari team are also supporting a local orphanage for disabled children who treated the guests to a performance of traditional Balinese dance on Christmas night which was just delightful.

I am looking forward to a future visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balmaingirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,810 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amandari

Property: Amandari
Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
#2 Family Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amandari 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amandari (meaning peaceful spirits) is located in the village of Kedewatan, on the fringe of Bali's cultural capital, Ubud. Perched on an escarpment high above the winding Ayung River gorge, this resort follows the design of a traditional Balinese village. Pebbled walkways link the thatched-roof suites, each of which has its own walled garden. Amandari provides a unique setting from which to experience the cultural richness of Bali's artistic centre as well as its mountainous region to the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amandari Hotel Kedewatan
Amandari Hotel Ubud
Amandari Resort Ubud
Amandari Bali/Kedewatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing