We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Marvellous will go again.”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Villa Mooresque

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Carces, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
janet_gos...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvellous will go again.”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is our 4th time with Carole and her Shar Pei at Villa Mooresque. We were there in June this year beating the terribly hot weather. Great time as usual, good food, delightful house and company. Great place as a centre for touring around the lovely countryside and cycling. Carole provides towels for the pool as well which is a nice touch.
Janet & David Goswell

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thanks Jan and Dave for your wonderful review, Xiao Li and I enjoyed having you once again and hopefully we will see you in the future
Thank you and best regards Carole-anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura F
Alice Superiore, Piemonte, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fourth time!”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well... if you stay four times at the same place you like it right?
Lovely villa, wonderful hostess - and very helpful too!
Oh and delicious breakfast...
And since it was so very hot I DID enjoy the swimming pool!

Traveling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Laura & Giandomenico

Always a great pleasure to welcome you to my house ! We all get on sp well together and my shar pei enjoys your attention so much she is always so sad when you leave! Until next time ! carole-anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura F
Alice Superiore, Piemonte, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have been there three times,and that shows how much we liked the villa!
The hostess - and her dog - are just adorable.
The room and bathroom are worth a four-star hotel, as is the superb view from the room window.
And if it gets too hot, you can just jump into the swimming pool!
The breakfast too was extremely good.
A really great place to stay.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb weeks stay at Villa Mooresque”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed at this Villa on numerous occasions.The hosts are are very welcoming and the accommodation absolutely superb. With uninterrupted views of vineyards and the changing colors of the town at different times of the day is an artists dream.

Carces as a location is a typical French town steeped in history and a great spot for any keen cyclist to watch this stage of the race. There are also a number of wonderful restaurants within a short drive or cycle ride.

It is also an excellent base for climbing, Kayaking.

Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the vineyards and pool.

We would recommend this to anyone looking for a short stay and looking to experience the VAR at its best.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim_Petra...
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
“Unforgettable stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We found this address over the internet. Always exciting where you end up. We booked for two nights. The village of Carcès is nice but not a highlight. The surrounding however is amazing. It's France as it should be. Beautiful villages, nice hills, nice houses, beautiful situated vineyards, squares with fountains, terrasses, platans. Really beautifull to discover all the beautifull places in the surrounding. We went most of the time to Cotignac, for dinner (only 6 km away). Outside ofcourse, with a charming and great atmosphere.
We decided to ask for two more nights, so we stayed four in stead of the originally planned two nights. We were so happy that the answer was yes! We knew already the Provence and we like to go back there every time. Now we found a nice address were we will definitely return.
The bedroom is very nice and stylish decorated and has a perfect view on Carcès. The bathroom is modern and pleasant. Both are in the main house but have a separated access. So if you like you can enter the front door and go directly to your room. However....., the hostess/owner (and her very nice dog) of the house was awaiting us when we arrived for the first night and she showed us the room and than immedaitely invited us to look at the final stage of the Tour de France at tv. She poured a glass of white wine and we looked to the tv and in the meantime started talking about anything and everything. She is a well educated and wel developed woman that has a very interesting life. We found the talking very nice and are very happy that we met her. So, we never went to our room without meeting her. A very kind person!
Apart form going to Cotignac we went to the beach of the Mediterranean (one hour and a half driving). We explored the surrounding by car and also by biking. We took our race bikes with us and cycled in the surrounding of Carcès. Fantastic! You can cylce on flat roads but is you want you can find some steeper hills. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Villa Mooresque. Because of the location of the house, the house itself (I forgot to mention the lovely water of the swimming pool) and last but not least the perfect owner!! We will return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Stellen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombaybea...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A room with a view and the perfect base”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We recently stayed at this villa for the second time, back after the absence of two years, so there is clearly something that has brought us back.

The Villa is located near the end of a quiet cul-de-sac just below the village. It's position affords it a lovely view of the vineyards and the town above, right from the from guest bedroom. The visitor's apartment (bedroom + bathroom) is a separate section of the house, which affords privacy and independence. The house is decorated with the bohemian charm and culture of the host. The main living room has a dramatic double-height ceiling. There's an outdoor cafe table which is a great spot for an evening glass of wine, and an outdoor dining table as well. Breakfast was a very satisfying croissant, yogurt, and coffee.

Next on to the the town, Carcès is a beautiful medieval Provencal town, located at the top of a small hill along side a little river, the Argens. The town itself offers a pleasant stroll or evening outdoor dinner or glass of wine (we would recommend the creperie). On Saturday the village comes to life with a bustling little market with fruits, vegetables, cheese, and a range of other items. I should mention that the walk from the villa to the town is easy, about 15 minutes on foot, first along the road next to the vineyards and then crossing a pedestrian bridge over the river.

The region itself, The Var, is Provence as we imagine it: medieval villages where you can dine under shade of large trees, hills that afford dramatic views, olive groves, and vineyards everywhere. (Speaking of vineyards, there a wineries around every corner, many with tasting rooms.)

Last but not least every B & B is made by its host. The host is bohemian, cosmopolitan, vivacious, welcoming, and helpful.

We've been here twice. If we're back in the region, we would certainly stay a second time, and recommend this place to friends, without hesitation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Villa Mooresque”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We found the small bed and breakfast to be extremely charming...the room was well decorated, trendy, and the villa living area to be in very good taste. The terrace overlooking the pool and Carces was the perfect setting for the welcoming aperitif. Carces is a small, quaint French village that has an interesting farmers' market and a couple of wineries for wine-tasting. The surroundings are full of other small, quaint villages, where one could pass weeks visiting the local points of interest or just sitting out in the town squares sipping white wine.
The villa is inhabited by Carole, the owner, a very flamboyant but generous host, and a large and surprisingly intelligent Sharpei named Xiaoli. Hide your flip flops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing