We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space, dark sky park and plenty of different kinds of walks”

Galloway Forest Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Galloway Forest Park is the UK's largest at over 97,000 hectares. it is only part of the wider Galloway forest area managed by Forest Enterprise Scotland at 116,000 hectares. it is a working living environment producing 650,000 tons of timber every year to make houses, pallets, paper and chip boards. The forest park is also host the UK's first Dark Sky Park. An area where the night time environment is protected for all living things and where you can see the universe open up in front of your very eyes - weather permitting! There is a superb red deer attraction that allows you to get up close to UK's largest mammal. Tours are available in peak season. The famous 7stanse mountain bike trails are also available along with many wonderful walking trails. its an outdoor extravaganza where you will often see nothing but nature and met nothing other than wildlife and fresh air. Three visitor centres are there to service your food, drink and information needs with friendly staff and likeminded visitors.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We stayed nearby for a week intending to walk a lot with the dog and enjoy the forest park with its loch and historic sites
We walked a few times on different trails including the Loch Trool circular trail where you pass by both Bruce's Stone and the site of one of the battles and enjoyed the tranquil countryside with its clear and clean paths over streams through areas of deforestation in the effort to make this place look like it should naturally do.
Great trails, easy to follow, friendly little cafe and beautiful countryside.
Unfortunately our stay did not allow us to experience the dark sky views as it was cloudy on all the nights, so we will have to come back to do this another time.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"visitor centres"
in 15 reviews
"red deer"
in 23 reviews
"wild goats"
in 12 reviews
"wild camping"
in 6 reviews
"loch trool"
in 11 reviews
"dark sky"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 6 reviews
"otter pool"
in 7 reviews
"milky way"
in 6 reviews
"open april"
in 2 reviews
"clear skies"
in 3 reviews
"scones"
in 7 reviews
"nice cream"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 3 reviews
"stunning place"
in 2 reviews
"easter weekend"
in 2 reviews
"os map"
in 2 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 149 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2018

We booked at the last minute due to the great weather and they were really accomdating. Our 3 girls (14,11 &9 years) took part in the SUP lesson, Giant Water Slide and the Wibbly Wobbly Water park. Adam was our instructor for all the activities and he was brilliant with the girls, knowing when to encourage them to conquer their fears and when an easier option was required. Thouroughly enjoyed by all, we will definitely be back.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank tlporter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

So many walks to in the area can’t count, if you like mountain biking visit one of the many 7 Staines trail centres in the area.
If you do head to Scotland though make sure you take lots of insect repent and dry skin oil which helps with the midges or you will be eaten alive :)

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

So much for a first wild camping trip, ruined by some hugely inconsiderate people. We had what sounded like fireworks which thanks very much scared life out of the dog, shortly after that huge fire had started to which fire brigade had to attend, some outdoor event somewhere or people having a jam session outside till at least 4.30 am it echoed all round the hills. Definitely wouldn't recommend this place unfortunately after talking to others they had similar experiences, beautiful place ruined by inconsiderate, irresponsible people. The fire started further away from us in an area where a lot of people were hopefully nobody was hurt.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Blackcar40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Public Relations Manager at Galloway Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

We are very disappointed when we get reports like this. We would welcome to know more about this incident and where it took place. As you said it is the few irresponsible visitors who ruin a truly magical location for the majority of responsible visitors.
Also for yourself and others benefit, the police are very well aware of issues but need live reports at the time of the issues so that they can attend and take action. Do not hesitate to contact 101 and report it. If it is serious as in this case at peak fires season, then 999 is not out of the question if it is felt it is putting others at risk.
We hope that you will come again and perhaps visit another part of the park where we have a quieter visitor profile.
our contact email is Galloway.FD@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

There are plenty of options to spend a day. We came over the Easter weekend and were pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t too busy, practically quiet compared with other Foresty Commission sites in England.
We did the green & yellow tracks around Loch Trool which was a good 4.5hrs, with some great views & interesting sites. On the next day, we climbed the Merrick. Unfortunately it was a white-out at the top however it cleared during our way down giving some fantastic views.
We stopped at the wild goats on the way out. The little cafe at Loch Trool car park is great, and dog friendly so we could warm up after our walks. Scones & toastie as delicious and good value!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 236gemmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galloway Forest Park also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing