We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of The Dove Inn

The Dove Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dove Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Micheldever B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were given a friendly welcome by the staff who did not know at the time that we were staying overnight. Our room was clean and tidy although a bit chilly as the radiators were not working properly. First class food with an excellent varied menu. One of the best breakfasts we have had at any hotel. A good friendly atmosphere and ideal for a quiet break away or somewhere to be used as a base for driving around as very remote.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for The Dove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with some friends for a spot of lunch of friday. Wow what a change from last year! Seems like the management are really picking up. The atmosphere was lovely. The staff were so attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much hassle. We ordered a variety from the lunch menu which was superb. Seems some decorating has been done since our last visit and what an amazing improvement. All fresh and bright. The food came out beautifully decorated and in very good time. Food was all freshly cooked and great value for money. With the fire on it gave a really homely country feel to the place and with duck and chickens free range outside seemed a real asset to the place. We will definitely be returning. Thankyou for all the staff and management at the dove for such a wonderful afternoon. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Marhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Dove Inn used to be a great place to have lunch when you have booked your car into Micheldever Tyres. The food was good and honest giving good value and the service was very good and at the same time your new tyres were fitted at great value for money.
I understand that it changed hands about a year ago!
It is now none of the above, the menu is limited and not particularly enticing, the food is poor and not value for money, and the service fits in to all this!
The only good thing is that the tyre service is still very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank parvs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stopped for lunch at The Dove Inn, Micheldever Station today. The establishment has obviously seen better times. It is a pub with restaurant and I think some accommodation dating back some 100 years of mixed architectural parentage. The service was well meaning but best described as amateur. We chose the carvery and ordered some drinks. The drinks arrived at our table, which was already bestowed with a drinks tray swimming with liquid, they were served having been spilt and therefore the glasses were wet and 'sticky'. The furniture in the establishment was eclectic, certainly any thought of matching was not entertained. Much of the furniture and fittings were of dark wood that maintained a sticky texture.
The carvery was centered around two meats: beef and gammon, the latter advertised to us a pork. The food was adequate but some of the vegetables were not hot. The pork/gammon was poor, the outer skin was served and it was dry.

We were charged £30 for this meal, a price that quite frankly well beyond the standard of the establishment or the food.

My advice: if you want a meal go to the Northbrook Arms in East Stratton or the Woolpack in Totford

If asked to describe the Dove Inn in one word: Sad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was down for a midweek break at forest holidays and kept returning to this great developing pub. The chickens set the scene as you come in and a great first impression from the outside - staff were welcoming and acknowledged us straight away despite being busy and the fact they welcomed our dogs even better!! Food was consistently excellent thoroughly enjoyed all our meals (we were a party of 5 and not one complaint!) On our last night visiting we got to meet the Landlord and Landlady who were both lovely and clearly putting all they could into the business to try and restore it back to its former glory - but with food service like this it clearly won't be long until it is - will definitely be back again when we next pass!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciespoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A welcoming country Inn, very convenient to many Hampshire attractions and towns, yet come back and stay with the chickens! Brilliant !
Its an ongoing project for new owners, and they are turning it into a fabulous place!
Cleanest white linen, thoughtful bedrooms, and a building full of character.
Thanks to Sharon & Chris, very friendly !
Very good food, freshly cooked, don't expect instant ! good food takes time.
One evening 2 local riders stopped with their horses, to have a beer, no not the horses! the people! but such a sight to see, like a shot from a movie!
Yes we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent four nights here for a break in the country and it was great. A beautifully decorated pub surrounded by pleasant views and even some chickens and ducks to give that real country feel. When greeted the bar staff and management where very friendly and helpful. We where shown to our room which was clean, fresh and very welcoming. We later had dinner in the restaurant and the food was fantastic, really well prepared. This place really did have a cosy feel to it that made the whole trip very enjoyable. We've made some lovely friends and will be defiantly visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micheldever
3.1 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,205 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,173 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
4.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 1 in Overton
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dove Inn

Address: Andover Road, Micheldever SO21 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Micheldever
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Micheldever
Price Range: $114 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dove Inn Micheldever, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing