We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, luxury accommodation, next time will definitely stay longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caves Beachside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Caves Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location, luxury accommodation, next time will definitely stay longer.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Beachfront suites situated over-water beside the wetlands lagoon and with direct views to the surf beach (and benefitting from the gorgeous sounds of surging waves during the day and at night) are worth every penny. Book one of these if you can. Couples only, no kids, so there is a great ambience and lots of peace. New restaurant opens onsite soon, in the meantime there is a bistro which is OK but won't win any awards..

This place is a great resort and am now a big fan. Top marks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    82
    38
    13
    14
See reviews for
58
119
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the New Year period and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the spa suite that faces the beach with no obstructed view (except for the small bushes) and enjoyed the great view everyday.

Our suite was only a minute's walk from the beach which was great, and just 10 minutes away from the hotel was the caves which can be explored at low tide. Great for small kids.

The room was good - I love the open concept bathroom, where lying in the tub still allows me to watch the tv, and the fact that it was open concept meant that I don't feel suffocated in the steam. The rooms were spacious and clean. A light breakfast in the room meant that we could have breakfast in bed (although you have to make your own).

We also had our NYE at the hotel - there was a big crowd and was getting quite noisy, but we made reservations at the C restaurant which was a good move as the restaurant was much quieter and dinner was quite good as well. Not too pricey and of course, there was fireworks at 9pm just outside the bar area which was pretty good. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Children are not allowed at the suites, so a good choice would be these rooms for couples wanting so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adecpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice hotel which was needed on this part of the coast, excellent location right across from the beach..well at least 250 metres from the beach..
the hotel has a very open and airy design to it,and is mostly made glass windows and has plenty of outdoor seating which to many hotels and pubs in nsw dont have..amazing considering the weather..
The area in front has man made ponds and there is accommodation on site if your interested..but not the cheap kind..your looking at self contained..so not cheap

We came hare on a Saturday around lunch time...the place was busy which is a good sign..
We had a few beers, the drinks were very cold...top marks for that
We tries some food from the bistro...very nice portions at a good price.
Tip: if you are after just a small bit to eat ..i recommend the brushetta...around $8
There is also good tab facilities and big screens for sport
great little place to break up a trip or a good local place to have a few drinks
We will be going back...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a lovely modern hotel in an area of coast that can only be described as forgotten. The bush surrounding the beach is barren in comparison to most of the NSW coast. Maybe they could plant a few trees. Get the Manly look or Greenmount appeal with a few changes.

We arrived for breakfast - well there were about 30 of us so it is a big group. However we did ring ahead to let them know that a large group would arrive,

Food was a disaster - Poached eggs were like little bullets and the salmon was either ment to be cold or was not cooked - just was not sure which way it went, Others had the pork sausages that were not cooked. The food did not match the look of this lovely hotel.

We saw the function room - beautiful setting and would be wonderful for a wedding BUT hey after the breakfast from hell it would not entice anyone to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Location is great, right by the beach and the rooms are lovely. What lets it down is the food in the bistro and the 'king' beds are twins pushed together.

Stay here for the location, but that's all you get. Not worth the price tag

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We, 2 adults & 2 children, traveled to Caves Beach on Friday afternoon. Just a couple of hours north of Sydney but we felt a million miles away. We checked into reception and were given our key and directions to our Villa. It is stylish, spacious and oooohhh the view of Caves Beach. Perfect for our little family but would be terrific for two couples heading away for the weekend. We were there for PinFest 2012 - fantastic event. Endless pinball games and then back to the villa for a rest. There are plenty of supermarkets around to self-cater or if you are feeling especially like a holiday (ie Mum wants some time out too!!) the bistro is hearty and delicious. Definately worth a weekend away

Room Tip: Closer to the bistro is a little noisy until 10ish but not terrible, after then it is quiet. Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_possie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

There is much to like about the beachside units overlooking a lagoon right near the beach. The rooms are quite well appointed. But it's all a bit weird that the toilet does not have a door. I didn't feel at all comfortable using it. We stayed there during mid winter, and the room did feel a little too cool. The whole room and bathroom is open plan and it feels like the bed is located in the bathroom so it doesn't have a comfy feel. It would be great in summer though.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SirisMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caves Beach
14.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,012 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
16.1 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Beachside Hotel

Property: Caves Beachside Hotel
Address: 27 Mawson Close, Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Caves Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caves Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caves Beachside Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caves Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing