We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel/bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caves Beachside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Caves Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice hotel which was needed on this part of the coast, excellent location right across from the beach..well at least 250 metres from the beach..
the hotel has a very open and airy design to it,and is mostly made glass windows and has plenty of outdoor seating which to many hotels and pubs in nsw dont have..amazing considering the weather..
The area in front has man made ponds and there is accommodation on site if your interested..but not the cheap kind..your looking at self contained..so not cheap

We came hare on a Saturday around lunch time...the place was busy which is a good sign..
We had a few beers, the drinks were very cold...top marks for that
We tries some food from the bistro...very nice portions at a good price.
Tip: if you are after just a small bit to eat ..i recommend the brushetta...around $8
There is also good tab facilities and big screens for sport
great little place to break up a trip or a good local place to have a few drinks
We will be going back...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrmtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Caves Beachside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a lovely modern hotel in an area of coast that can only be described as forgotten. The bush surrounding the beach is barren in comparison to most of the NSW coast. Maybe they could plant a few trees. Get the Manly look or Greenmount appeal with a few changes.

We arrived for breakfast - well there were about 30 of us so it is a big group. However we did ring ahead to let them know that a large group would arrive,

Food was a disaster - Poached eggs were like little bullets and the salmon was either ment to be cold or was not cooked - just was not sure which way it went, Others had the pork sausages that were not cooked. The food did not match the look of this lovely hotel.

We saw the function room - beautiful setting and would be wonderful for a wedding BUT hey after the breakfast from hell it would not entice anyone to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Location is great, right by the beach and the rooms are lovely. What lets it down is the food in the bistro and the 'king' beds are twins pushed together.

Stay here for the location, but that's all you get. Not worth the price tag

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kiwiroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We, 2 adults & 2 children, traveled to Caves Beach on Friday afternoon. Just a couple of hours north of Sydney but we felt a million miles away. We checked into reception and were given our key and directions to our Villa. It is stylish, spacious and oooohhh the view of Caves Beach. Perfect for our little family but would be terrific for two couples heading away for the weekend. We were there for PinFest 2012 - fantastic event. Endless pinball games and then back to the villa for a rest. There are plenty of supermarkets around to self-cater or if you are feeling especially like a holiday (ie Mum wants some time out too!!) the bistro is hearty and delicious. Definately worth a weekend away

Room Tip: Closer to the bistro is a little noisy until 10ish but not terrible, after then it is quiet. Beach...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_possie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There is much to like about the beachside units overlooking a lagoon right near the beach. The rooms are quite well appointed. But it's all a bit weird that the toilet does not have a door. I didn't feel at all comfortable using it. We stayed there during mid winter, and the room did feel a little too cool. The whole room and bathroom is open plan and it feels like the bed is located in the bathroom so it doesn't have a comfy feel. It would be great in summer though.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SirisMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We reckon that we camped/tented, some years ago on the very spot where the hotel now stands. At that time it was Caves Beach Caravan Park! We had been for lunch before and HAD to NOW share this FANTASTIC location with friends. We parked under the Hotel, luxury! Got GREAT service and personal attention for our arvo. tea and beers. You've GOTTA go to enjoy the ocean view, expansive deck bordered by ponds, food and SERVICE- its worth the trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumpbackBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great food, great staff, great venue and great location!
Only had lunch there but definitely will go back and stay!
Lovely seaside position - awesome play area for children, which includes inside and outside areas.
Food was reasonably priced with a great selection.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leane_yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caves Beach
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
14.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
2.3 mi away
Raffertys Resort
Raffertys Resort
#1 of 1 in Cams Wharf
322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Beachside Hotel

Address: 27 Mawson Close, Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Caves Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caves Beach
Price Range: $175 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caves Beachside Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caves Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing