We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at caves beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caves Beachside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Caves Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford Central Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunch at caves beach hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great food, great staff, great venue and great location!
Only had lunch there but definitely will go back and stay!
Lovely seaside position - awesome play area for children, which includes inside and outside areas.
Food was reasonably priced with a great selection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leane_yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    78
    33
    12
    13
See reviews for
55
109
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Firstly as there is limited beach accommodation between Central Coast and Newcastle Caves Beach Hotel is the perfect choice, 1hr 50mins from Sydney this is a great drive up the Old Pacific Highway if you are not in a hurry. We have had 3 overnight stays at Caves Beach and each time found it perfect for our needs, we have also visited during the day only. The Beach Suites are furnished in a modern clean way and with a different touch in each suite. The bottle of wine and complimentary breakfast items (cereal and toast) are a bonus and any mini bar items are included. There is a deck which you can enjoy outside your room and see the ocean. The beach is accessed easily and we walked to the southern end of the beach to swim in the flags, also the water caves are located at this end. The pub is fine and has several outdoor areas along with an inside and outside play area for children. The food is good and reasonably priced, I have been a few years ago where they had big paella pans cooking on the weekend, not sure if they still do this.There is an uncover carpark with access straight to reception. We have ridden motorbikes on 2 occasions with 2 other couples and found this a perfect location for this. The Beach Suites are suited to couples so not sure what the alternative is if you have children. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Our friends had a room with a spa and gas fireplace which was nice in winter. The end rooms would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

It's not right on the beach, but close enough. The room was tidy, if a little weirdly layed out. The toilet and shower don't have doors - quite the romance killer! The food at the restaurant was ok, not great, but not bad either. Staff were friendly and there was little noise around which was great. A good place to escape for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rindabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieTraveller
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The thing that stood out at the Caves Beachside Hotel was the customer service from the staff. The weather was attrocious so we were confined indoors but the staff went out of their way to make it an enjoyable visit for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENNY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

10 business partners stayed overnight in the private villas over looking man made ponds with the beach 2 min walk. The beachside conference rooms are great, natural light and the staff are very accommodating. Excellent restaurant.

Only thing is during the week they close by 11pm so if you want to hang out and drink/ chat longer, you need to take it back to your private villa.

Another great bonus is they provid free mini bar incl bottle of wine! Great value and location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janineg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent our wedding anniversary in one of the Beach Suites at Caves Beachside Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The suites are very well appointed and comfortable and the complimentary wine and snacks are a lovely touch.

We didn't try the restaurant, but did have an evening meal in the cafe, which was okay and we had breakfast there also which was pretty good - certainly nothing to complain about. The meals were cooked really quickly too.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely time there and are planning to return as it is a good base to explore the Lake Macquarie area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Beach Suite was fantastic - luxurious, beautiful, functional design and very comfortable. The complimentary bottle of wine and mini bar was a nice surprise. Downside for us was the lack of a healthy option at the restaurant and lack of wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WereTravelinLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caves Beach
3.1 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
14.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bay Hotel Motel
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
2.3 mi away
Raffertys Resort
Raffertys Resort
#1 of 1 in Cams Wharf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aquarius Motel Belmont
Aquarius Motel Belmont
#3 of 5 in Belmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Beachside Hotel

Property: Caves Beachside Hotel
Address: 27 Mawson Close, Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Caves Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caves Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caves Beachside Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caves Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing