We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine la Fontaine
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Chateau de Mirambeau(Mirambeau)
$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Montplaisir(Montendre)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau des Salles(Saint Fort sur Gironde)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Relais(Jarnac Champagne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Pomys(Saint-Estephe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
83
41
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
41
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poolen routeone nighta great stayjacquelinebordeauxguestsgardenfrancehouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 129 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Marc and Jacqueline are absolutely great hosts . The place has a beatifull view in this typical French winery and small villages area . Very friendly people in the village as well.
The breakfast is great and the dinner upon request as well.Very good combination in the rooms of high quality, cleanliness and stylish furniture.

The garden is well located and enough space for any way you want to relax .

Room Tip: all rooms are well located
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 115Hans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went to Domaine la Fontaine as part of the Wine Weekend that they host every year. We stayed three nights and had an absolutely fantastic time there. We stayed in Gite #4. On the ground floor it had a small efficiency kitchen, refrigerator, sofa, microwave, and a small dining table. On the second floor was the bedroom with two windows that looked out on the courtyard, a king bed, dresser and bathroom with a stall shower. Outside there was a small table and chairs as well as other casual seating for reading and relaxing. Detached from the rooms was a pool that bordered the fields in a beautiful setting. Unfortunately, the weather was not warm enough to swim as it looked very inviting. Be forewarned that this is not a Ritz Carlton Hotel. What it is however, is real French country living. Domaine la Fontaine is located in the small French village of Soubran, which we believe adds to its charm. The owners, Marc and Jacqueline, could not have been nicer, more informative or more hospitable. Being with them was like being with old friends, and they made the experience of the Wine Weekend and staying at Domaine la Fontaine the highlight of our two week trip to France. If you are considering a trip to France in September, want to experience the wine harvest, and learn a great deal about wine, you should look at the Wine Weekend at Domaine la Fontaine. We really did not know what to expect aside from the information we read, however, the weekend exceeded all of our expectations. If you are just passing through this area, we would also highly recommend a stop here as the rooms are very reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, and well furnished, and you will not find two more congenial hosts than Marc and Jacqueline. As we said, it was highlight of our two weeks in France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Perfect hosts, french chambres d'hotes, warm and friendly atmosphere. Enclosed swimmingpool sothat playing kids come to no harm. Tips to explore the surrounding countryside will be given by Marc and Jacqueline. Twice a week they will cook and good dinner and supply the wines to go with it, all of which can be enjoyed in a nice "salle a manger". Guest when we were there were French, Belgian and Dutch.. We enjoyed it so much that if possible we will be returning. I noticed funny drawings everywhere and on request Jacqueline told me they were made by Perry Taylor. That was the perfect souvenir from our trip to France. I ordered and the print was waiting for us when we returned to Holland. www.perrytaylor.eu. Also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in front room 3 next to front door. Very good bed and pretty shower cubicle with toilet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Marc & Jacqueline are excellent hosts, very friendly and always wiling to go the extra mile to help. The Gite we stayed in was fantastic, very relaxing, clean and well equipped. A lovely pool on site, perfect for relaxing. Lots of great beaches, picturesque towns and vineyards a short drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Marc and Jacqueline know what hospitality means. Not only are the ´gites´ comfortable and accomodated with everything you need on a family holiday, but the extra´s make ´Domaine La Fontaine´ excellent: a swimming pool, nice diners cooked by Marc, great company and a lot of useful information about the region.

Room Tip: Choose a 'gite' when with kids for more privacy and space.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews