We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

hi. Stayed for one night, and have to say all round myself and wife could not fault all the staff always asking if everything was OK and always wanting bto help,
Breakfast very good. Slightly bit dated decor,but nice atmosphere and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank-you for your very kind review about your stay with us at the George Hotel. We are very happy to hear that everything met your expectations and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Regards
Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    156
    77
    39
    35
See reviews for
129
247
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
319 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It's been very remiss of me not to remember to review The George, after a visit in March :-( My husband and I have always enjoyed our stays here and March was no exception. We have always found the rooms warm and cosy when it is cold outside - which is very re-assuring!!

I've just discovered that the Hotel has received a Tripadvisor 'Certificate of Excellence' as a
2014 WINNER and is a Finalist for 'Best Accommodation Operator' in the 2014 Publican Awards ... neither surprises me.

They are a member of a small group of hotels - they each operate a 'Treesleep' scheme ... I keep forgetting to mention that when I post a review. From the revenue they receive from every one of their bedroom sales, they donate the cost of a new baby tree to their local woodland trust - great idea, hey?!

May be able to make it back next month, fingers crossed .....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review about our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and that everything we offered was to your liking. Thank you also for mentioning the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence as we have worked really hard to raise our standards to the highest possible. We do hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

After a superb morning of organised cycling in the Darlington area,I suggested a lunch stop at the George. Lycra stashed away we arrived in beautiful sunshine, beer purchased, menus perused, decision made. We went for the Sunday roast sandwiches which were allagedly the only sandwiches on a Sunday. With visions of Beef, turkey, Gammon dripping with meat juices in some crusty roll with trimmings, we awaited our order in the courtyard soaking up the sunshine. What a disappointment, a waitress brought out three "sandwiches" on dry "multipack" breadcakes, dry meat no trimmings and no cutlery or condiments. All considered inedible without mustard or horseradish or something to assist its dry passage down the alimentary canal!! Not great for an establishment of such good repute! I guess a sandwich on a Sunday is not their forte, nevertheless they should serve something far better than this! PS the local brewed ale was cvery good, which slightly redeemed the situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9scrumhalf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our lovely beer and we can only apologise about your sandwiches and assure you that it is far from our normal high standards. We do hope you will return and give us another try.

Kind Regards
Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great little hotel tucked away from the busy A1 in the quiet village of Piercebridge. Clean well decorated room at a real value for money price. Staff very friendly and helpful. Floor boards in the room above a bit creaky which was a bit disturbing when the guests moved about. However for the price could not fault it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thankyou for your recent review about your stay with us and we are happy that everything was to your liking. Our main building is very old and full of character and some of the floorboards can be a bit creaky. When you stay with us next time, you may wish to request either an upstairs bedroom in the main part of the hotel, or, a bedroom in the newer Mews buildings.

Kind Regards
Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed for one night it's a great location and an amazing price £39 for the room and breakfast. if you have stayed at a premier inn and expect around the same you will be surprised. I found the room better, extremely nice staff and the breakfast choices are better than premier inn. If your looking for a nice function room you won't go wrong, it has a great entrance staircase and I would imagine because of this and it's location it would be great for weddings. Hotel has around 30 rooms and a very good restaurant. My only complaint Would be I didn't find the pillows very comfortable.

Room Tip: Mobile phone signal rubbish on O2 and Three, all rooms have free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thankyou for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear about your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel. We always try and give our guests the best possible stay at the best possible rate! The ballroom is the perfect venue for weddings and functions, and as such we have many ‘brides to be’ excited about their big day with us. We look forward to you staying with us again soon

Kind Regards
Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston,lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Made a booking direct with the hotel. Receptionist extremely helpful and allocated us a balcony room at a favourable rate.
Check in staff also friendly and the views from the room were over the river.
Maybe the bathroom needed a little TLC but our room was spacious,comfortable and clean.
Our evening meal was also satisfactory and as it was a little chilly a log burning fire added to the atmosphere in the bar and dining area.
No complaints and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t0paz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello,

Thank-you for your kind review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the George and we were very pleased to be put up in a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the river. It was a joy - even in the grey and rainy weather! The shower was a bit tricky but we got there in the end.

We decided to treat ourselves to a lovely evening meal, went downstairs and sat down and ordered duck breast with truffle oil mash, wilted spinach etc.
Unfortunately we had a wait of over 3/4 of an hour during which time we were harassed by a dog at the next table. The owners appeared to think it was acceptable for the animal to growl and bare its teeth at not only me, but the young waitress/barmaid who was a pleasant young girl. It was all rather disconcerting and I was surprised that the George elects to allow a dog where food is being served. Our job is photographing dogs and in three years and 1000s of dogs we have only come across one other problem dog like this one and we refused to photograph it as it appeared unsafe.

When the food finally arrived it was beautifully presented but............. the whole meal was barely lukewarm and the cubes of duck had a greyish 'reheated' appearance and tasted quite awful.
We ate none of it and all though we were offered a replacement we were too tired to wait again and too disturbed by the dog. The manager apologised and did not charge us for the glass of wine we had but we still felt terribly let down.
Breakfast was good, however, and we slept well. Last time we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 22 has a balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and I do apologise for the wait for your food, please be assured that all our food is freshly prepared by our chef’s and is never reheated. We do permit well behaved dogs into our bar area, and we also offer a lovely riverside restaurant at the George where dogs are not permitted so I do hope you will visit us again.

Kind Regards
Jo Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
463 reviews
5.1 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing