We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink and light lunch”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Holmfirth
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Drink and light lunch”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I've been here twice travelling through and found the interior to be very appealing, roaring fires, good ales and the most delicious beef and horseradish sandwiches. Would love to come to stay sometime.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margotswift15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for the kind feedback, and I agree, the beef sandwiches are fantastic. If you do ever wish to stay and sample some more of our hospitality please contact the hotel direct to hear about our great special offers.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Jo Cowley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    159
    80
    40
    36
See reviews for
136
251
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Have been for a night away with the wife. The room was nice but needs cleaning better there was a hole in the bath. The food looked nice but the chef needs to taste the food and sauces befor serving to the customers.over all just generally disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rout84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Extremely sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We will certainly look into the issues you have raised, these do seem a little odd as our guest feedback is normally so positive.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Jo Cowley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very good hotel, nice location, old fashioned with log fire burning. One night stopped on room only for just £39 for a good sized double. Staff accomodating - changed rooms as first room offered was near the road. Noisy neighbours (but not the hotels fault)! Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back (off the road side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, glad you found the team accommodating and enjoyed the fantastic fires. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
General Manager Jo Cowley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed here just for the night as it was only 35.10 for the standard room, the room was really nice and probably better than most standard rooms you would get elsewhere. really sylish, comfy bed and very clean. quite a bit of room too. only thing which has got this a very good instead of an excellent was the fact the shower was a little small. other than this it was brilliant for the price and we will be going back in march. service from the staff also was really good. we were walked to our room and everything explained. you definitely dont get that everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello Anthb1989,

First and foremost thank you for your terrific feedback about The George Hotel and the staff. We as a team aim to give the best customer service possible and think first impressions count so we try to show all guests to their bedrooms giving information on the way so I am pleased you enjoyed this gesture.

The advance purchase rate that you booked on I feel is fantastic value for money so when you return in March book early and take advantage once again.

Once again we look forward to your return visit and thank you for your feedback.

Kindest of Regards
Johnathon Cairns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée visited for a Sunday Carvery recently and we can honestly say it's the best Carvery we've ever tasted! Lots of selection of vegetables, meat cooked to perfection.

The only thing holding me back from 5* is the service - although professional it wasn't very genuine or welcoming - on more than one occasion I noted a staff member pacing up and down not very discretely looking to see if we'd finished our food, also my fiancée commented that one of the waiters seemed a bit miserable!

We would rather sacrifice the waistcoats and ties for a more genuine, warm, welcoming service. Saying that, we would give them another chance purely based on the brilliant grub.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello Chris11111111,

I am so pleased that you and your fiancée sampled our offerings of a Sunday Carvery. I feel that the selection along with the quality makes for excellent value for money. The kitchen team will be delighted with these comments.

I am sorry that you feel the service let the experience down a little for you. The whole team aim to give excellent service and I am sure that reading this the team will be concerned about your findings. I will take on the comments and ensure that we react with training and coaching for the team members involved.

We look forward to you returning in the future and I am sure an improvement will be noticed.

Kindest of regards
Johnathon Cairns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Staying near Durham for the weekend we had our dog with us. We went to the George,as it was listed on the doggie pubs site/app, as a place where dogs are welcome in the bar, but the bonus is that meals of the same std as the restaurant are served here as well.
We were both very impressed (so was dog) The food was far better than we expected, and i would recommend without hesitation. The meals were beautifully presented and the staff very friendly and efficient. Add to that lovely real fires and nice atmosphere. Would deffo return in summer as great spot on the river.

Room Tip: only ate there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello MelB66,

When I read your review I was delighted as it epitomises everything that we are about at the George Hotel. With friendly staff, great food, a lovely ambience and of course we make sure our 4 legged friends are made just as welcome as their owners.

I know the whole team will be extremely pleased when reading your feedback so thank you. We look forward to you returning during the summer.

Please keep spreading the word!

Kind regards
Johnathon Cairns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

May sound a strange review to state things were fine but the potential is so much more.
We stopped for a night to have some "us time from family over Christmas" and for this purpose it served its purpose. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room is again Ok, and I prefer rooms with character like this in comparison to similar priced rooms, but there was a couple of faults, we stayed in room 217 (Grouse) and whilst the bathroom was modern the shower pressure was hopeless to the point it went off at some point, I guess it may have been next door neighbour using water at the same time. It was quite good to get fit running around to get wet.

What I think disappointed us most was the restaurant, the menu was appealing unfortunately the meals we received were not great quality.
To give specifics, there was only 3 scallops that were overcooked. The duck was not cooked well. There was too much oil on the fries. As we had already paid for breakfast I was looking forward to be proved wrong but the quality was not there, it dawned on us that it was the quality of food. The sausages were bad quality (guessing richmond sausages), black pudding was overcooked and wondered if this was the same for the evening.
I feel The George is close to getting it right and really wish they rectify the problems as we would like to be proved wrong, it could be very nice and hope to return one night when we hear good comments / reviews.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Apologises that you did not find the food to be up to standard, we have been gaining a great reputation for our food, so this will disappoint the team, however we will all take your comments on board. I’m glad you enjoyed the service and I truly hope you will return.

Kind Regards
Johnathon Cairns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
471 reviews
15.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
297 reviews
5.1 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing