We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXATION FROM BUSINESS”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Working away from home I encounter varying standards of accomodation & food, what a refreshing change to find a lovely inn where the staff are friendly, courteous & obliging. A very good selection of wines & beers on offer & a restaurant / bar menu with good variety backed up with specials all to an excellent standard. The rooms are very comfortable, clean & with all the necessary facilities. If I were a certain well known comedian I would consider changing my hotel arrangements. Very good value for money without a doubt, HOME FROM HOME. I have & will continue to recommended The George to friends & colleagues around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 601 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a lovely old coaching inn by the river.
We booked two rooms for an overnight stay, one for ourselves and one for our elderly parents and both rooms were extremely clean and well equipped
The Sunday carvery and following morning breakfast were excellent. Well done to the chef!
I cannot praise the staff enough for their warm, helpful and friendly welcome.
All that we met were a credit to the management.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I got married here in August 2012. The red carpet staircase was an amazing entrance, the food was beautiful and Stacey the wedding planner could not have been more helpful in helping with the organisation of our special day. The George provided the DJ for the night who played a good variety of music. Our night time buffet was delicious and on request they kept serving it for an extra half hour. The only downfall to our day was that when we went to the bridal suite at the end of the night (which was fabulous) there was no hot water, i rang reception to inform them and i was told that the boiler was broken. It was the same the next morning so we did not get to use the amazing bath tub in our bridal suite. Reception were not very helpful with the fact we had no hot water and we had to get a cold shower before sitting for breakfast. At breakfast the service was excellent and there was a good selection of continental as well as cooked food. Thank you for making our day so special, just a shame about our suite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On our way to a family gathering in Yorkshire, we decided to take the scenic route and meander through the countryside instead of dual carriageways or motorways. Stopped for lunch at this lovely old coaching inn. It was very busy with a wedding party who's members had obviously arrived just minutes before us. Although the staff were so busy, a waiter found us a table and took our order promptly and courteously. My husband enjoyed the fish dish and I relished the beef - not over or under cooked but just right. The outside of the Inn was lavishly festooned with flowers and the inside was comfortable and clean. Will be returning here next time we are in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beth and her team were a very calming influence on the day.

The food and service was organised and of an excellent quality.

The package was tweaked without problem and the customer service in meeting our expectations was exemplary.

We enjoyed our day thoroughly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SRobinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely setting overlooking the river

The gardens were well kept with a nice terrace looking over the river

Our room was large but very basic and like other parts of the hotel is in need of redecoration. The staff were very friendly, food excellent

The WIFI was poor

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank adrian-c15ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There has been upheaval in the ownership of the George which will always cause disruption. Despite this, the staff are doing their very best to give their guests a pleasant hospitality experience. Our room was one of those that has had a recent makeover and it was tastefully executed. The common areas are looking a little sad and it can only be hoped that the budget for renovation will not be exhausted before these areas are given some cheer. Basically it is a charming historic hotel, set beside the picturesque river Tees and just across the river from an old Roman Camp. The breakfasts are very good but lunch and dinner seem to be a little ambitious, over fussy. As demonstrated at breakfast, they should stick to good simple fare for other meals and they will have more satisfied clients.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently redecorated. The older ones are a bit dismal as other reviewer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
19 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
70 reviews
6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
502 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
15.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range: $54 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Countryside hotel with views over the river Tees. Onsite restaurant and bar, function room, conference facility and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing