We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chehster-leStreet
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Night Away”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting overlooking the river

The gardens were well kept with a nice terrace looking over the river

Our room was large but very basic and like other parts of the hotel is in need of redecoration. The staff were very friendly, food excellent

The WIFI was poor

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adrian-c15ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    154
    71
    38
    34
See reviews for
126
239
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There has been upheaval in the ownership of the George which will always cause disruption. Despite this, the staff are doing their very best to give their guests a pleasant hospitality experience. Our room was one of those that has had a recent makeover and it was tastefully executed. The common areas are looking a little sad and it can only be hoped that the budget for renovation will not be exhausted before these areas are given some cheer. Basically it is a charming historic hotel, set beside the picturesque river Tees and just across the river from an old Roman Camp. The breakfasts are very good but lunch and dinner seem to be a little ambitious, over fussy. As demonstrated at breakfast, they should stick to good simple fare for other meals and they will have more satisfied clients.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently redecorated. The older ones are a bit dismal as other reviewer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had been traveling gently South looking at Roman sites an d stopped in Piercebridge to look at the fort and bridge. We'd had a lovely day, but it had been long and tiring so we went into the George for a drink. It looked as though it would cost a fortune to stay there but we were wrong! The building and setting are perfect, the welcome was friendly and warm. The beer was excellent and the food wonderful. Our room was large and cool and I've never seen as many tea bags in a room before. Every one of the staff we met was friendly and chatty while being totally professional. I cannot praise the George highly enough. It's a definite stop when we venture North again. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old_fat_man_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful setting and nice welcome on arrival,we stayed two nights on B+B+D basis.
The room we were allocated was dirty and the tiles in the shower were filthy.
The windows in the Dining Room were dirty on both the inside and outside.
The stench from the drains outside on the patio made it impossible to sit out.

At Breakfast on the second morning we were served almost un-cooked bacon,which was returned to the kitchen but came out again no better ( Don't think the Chef was in this morning )
All other meals were tasty and I asked for well cooked bacon on our last morning which I got.

There needs to be a rigorous overhaul on the cleaning and spot checks to monitor consistency.
I have written a detailed account of our stay to the management and hope they can persuade the Senior Management to make a considerable Investment.

The only saving grace was the STAFF who we found to be very pleasant, warm and welcoming.

They need a lot of Help,Investment, Staff Training and Support if this hotel is to Survive !!

Room Tip: Must pay a visit first,before staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a lovely pub by the river. We visited here on a Friday evening and it was very quiet just a couple of people in the bar and 3 couples in the restaurant.

The staff were really nice as was the food. However, the only slight criticism I have is what sounded like a posh prawn cocktail on the menu was actually a glass full of prawns still in their shells. I wish restaurants would state this given that no one in our party likes them this way I would imagine a good percentage of people don't like them this way. So why not just state this on the menu and be helpful instead of trying in some way to be "in". This is strange because the seabass was not described as a fillet yet came as a fillet. All of our party like seabass and would probably have ordered it but as it didn't say a fillet we did order it.

We probably won't come back, the food was nice but the combination of the surprise of the prawns being whole unshelled and when the dish was returned to the staff other staff returned and discussed the issue asking if would like it as it had been made.??? This was probably meant in a helpful manner to be honest but came across a little stroppy. We didn't check to see if it had been taken off the bill.

We probably won't come back but the rest of the food was nice and the atmosphere if very quiet was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here one night on 10th August as part of a wedding party. Dining room is spacious and food was excellent, as this was a wedding reception with many guests. Service was friendly and efficient and the room was cleared quickly for the evening do. Hotel has beautiful grounds with a lovely view of the Roman bridge. Our room was small, but well-equipped, and had an excellent shower. Breakfast was good and served in a room overlooking the grounds. Check in and out was efficient. The hotel dealt well with large numbers of guests.
If you aren't very mobile, this hotel has lots of steps! Also please try to resurface the entrance to the car park.
Otherwise, this is in a lovely location and I would recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: Main building at the front was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a family party arriving on Friday night staff could not of been more helpful in getting us settled in and providing large area in bar where we could all gather. Also very accommodating with dinner for all 27 of us. Felt we had a private party with all staff helpful and very friendly. Wonderful experience continued following day for our son's wedding, described by our new daughter-in-law as "the perfect day". Largely due to staff carrying out all their wishes in a friendly and efficient. On Saturday night wedding party occupied all rooms and excellent service continued until check out on Sunday. All food great quality and value .

Room Tip: Mews rooms very disable friendly, lot of stairs in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing