We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only saved by the Staff”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only saved by the Staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful setting and nice welcome on arrival,we stayed two nights on B+B+D basis.
The room we were allocated was dirty and the tiles in the shower were filthy.
The windows in the Dining Room were dirty on both the inside and outside.
The stench from the drains outside on the patio made it impossible to sit out.

At Breakfast on the second morning we were served almost un-cooked bacon,which was returned to the kitchen but came out again no better ( Don't think the Chef was in this morning )
All other meals were tasty and I asked for well cooked bacon on our last morning which I got.

There needs to be a rigorous overhaul on the cleaning and spot checks to monitor consistency.
I have written a detailed account of our stay to the management and hope they can persuade the Senior Management to make a considerable Investment.

The only saving grace was the STAFF who we found to be very pleasant, warm and welcoming.

They need a lot of Help,Investment, Staff Training and Support if this hotel is to Survive !!

Room Tip: Must pay a visit first,before staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    155
    75
    38
    35
See reviews for
129
243
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a lovely pub by the river. We visited here on a Friday evening and it was very quiet just a couple of people in the bar and 3 couples in the restaurant.

The staff were really nice as was the food. However, the only slight criticism I have is what sounded like a posh prawn cocktail on the menu was actually a glass full of prawns still in their shells. I wish restaurants would state this given that no one in our party likes them this way I would imagine a good percentage of people don't like them this way. So why not just state this on the menu and be helpful instead of trying in some way to be "in". This is strange because the seabass was not described as a fillet yet came as a fillet. All of our party like seabass and would probably have ordered it but as it didn't say a fillet we did order it.

We probably won't come back, the food was nice but the combination of the surprise of the prawns being whole unshelled and when the dish was returned to the staff other staff returned and discussed the issue asking if would like it as it had been made.??? This was probably meant in a helpful manner to be honest but came across a little stroppy. We didn't check to see if it had been taken off the bill.

We probably won't come back but the rest of the food was nice and the atmosphere if very quiet was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here one night on 10th August as part of a wedding party. Dining room is spacious and food was excellent, as this was a wedding reception with many guests. Service was friendly and efficient and the room was cleared quickly for the evening do. Hotel has beautiful grounds with a lovely view of the Roman bridge. Our room was small, but well-equipped, and had an excellent shower. Breakfast was good and served in a room overlooking the grounds. Check in and out was efficient. The hotel dealt well with large numbers of guests.
If you aren't very mobile, this hotel has lots of steps! Also please try to resurface the entrance to the car park.
Otherwise, this is in a lovely location and I would recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: Main building at the front was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a family party arriving on Friday night staff could not of been more helpful in getting us settled in and providing large area in bar where we could all gather. Also very accommodating with dinner for all 27 of us. Felt we had a private party with all staff helpful and very friendly. Wonderful experience continued following day for our son's wedding, described by our new daughter-in-law as "the perfect day". Largely due to staff carrying out all their wishes in a friendly and efficient. On Saturday night wedding party occupied all rooms and excellent service continued until check out on Sunday. All food great quality and value .

Room Tip: Mews rooms very disable friendly, lot of stairs in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay apart from the privacy..... We heard EVERY sound and i mean EVERY sound the people made in the rooms on either side of us. Apart from this we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the area around the hotel. The grounds and gardens are well kept. Couldn't fault the breakfast or evening meals..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here when attending a wedding and loved it. We stayed in one of the separate block of rooms which was just perfect in size. We stayed 2 nights and slept really well - the bed was that comfy. Well appointed bathrooms as well (but get up early if you want piping hot water). There is so much to mention - Bar service is quick and all the staff are polite. The breakfasts are generous and well prepared, the coffee is real coffee machine coffee. There is a wonderful ballroom as well. Piercebridge is fairly small but has a good roman history which is documented in the pub. The scenery is lovely though as well in the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: A room in the main hotel is a shorter walk to the restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the George as we wanted a room suitable for us and my Wife’s mother. We booked into room 226 which was in a block separate from the main building on the ground floor and with a view into the grounds.
Our experience at the George was so good that we contemplated staying a third night before deciding to carry on with our initial plans.
The building is old which was obvious in some of the finishes in the room, however overall it was spacious and clean. The beds were large and very comfortable. The towels were noticeably of better quality than the average hotel. Spare pillows and over blankets were also available in the room. There was a good supply of tea coffee and biscuits which were replenished on the second morning. The shower was hot however being over the bath is was not useable for mother.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was tops.
The George is situated in a lovely location and it is easy to see why it is rated highly for weddings. Outside the hotel a walk to the local village and river side is well worth doing.
On top or all this we believe we had very good value for money and would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
21.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
5.1 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing