We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel(Walworth)(Great Value!)
$89
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middleton Lodge(Richmond)
$190
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clow Beck House(Darlington)
$157
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
258
181
86
55
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
181
86
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroman fortbridal suitegrandfather clockoverlooking the riverlovely locationwedding receptionwedding venueevening mealfood was lovelynight porternight staybiscuitsroom was largebowes museumfull english breakfaststayed one nightcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 624 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Like many travellers, we passed The George many times over incalculable years, glad we stopped this time. Built beside a peaceful river bank it is also within a very historic Roman setting.
Room was spacious with two double beds, though en-suite a little tired.
Food excellent, recommend the `house` burger, without the unremarkable chips!
Breakfast cooked to order.
Do walk across the bridge to the lovely village and the village pub at the other end. Pub, The Carlbury Arms, is run by a welcoming young Irishman, has a large dining area.
After indulging, you may like to then see the Roman Latrines, (signposted), worth seeking out.
Many walkers and cyclists also stop off here, the countryside being truly beautiful.
From The George it is a mere 45min drive to Newcastle, and probably less to the market town of Darlington

Room Tip: Ask for the twin room with the double beds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 151Mike151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a night and used it as a base for a night out in Darlington. On reflection this was probably a bad idea as the taxi fare in total return cost 32.00 but in regards to the hotel - no complaints at all.
Situated in a beautiful spot on the Tees river with sloping lawns down to the river with tables and chairs.
Rooms were clean and comfy (maybe a little stuffy) but well worth the 39.00 paid.
We will defiantly be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Given that it was not dear we were not disappointed by the little things that let the hotel down. At no time did we see any senior staff on duty. The hotel seemed to be run by waiting and bar staff, not a major problem but an interesting policy. The rooms were adequate but a little tired. Our hot water ran out in the morning as I was shaving. The food was good and the beer excellent. The staff were ok, perhaps a little stand offish but that could be worked on by better management. All in all we found the George was good value for money and perhaps if it was smaller and managed more efficiently it would be really good. Worth a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CjMFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It actually turns out we have visited The George many years ago, so were pleasantly surprised its was the same place! We had a pre dinner drink in the garden down by the river which was very nice.
Food was very tasty and well presented and came out promptly, the only down side, the starters were served on some nice looking slate plates, which looked lovely, but I couldn't stand the sound of the cutlery scratching against the slate!!
Nice selection of real ales and wine, keeping both Mr and Mrs happy!
The staff were friendly and attentive, however I did feel their appearance slightly scruffy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mrsbindurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had attended a wedding at The George Hotel last year and were attending a wedding this time at the near by Headlam Hall on the 14th June 2013. We booked the hotel room through the company web site and were pleased with the £35.10 price. We turned up at 12.30pm earlier than the booking in time of 2pm and the receptionist said this was fine. She gave us the key to our room and said that due to us been early it may not have been cleaned yet but we were more than welcome to leave our bags in there if we wanted to. We thanked her and took the bags up to the room which hadn't been cleaned but this was fine. My husband went back and told the receptionist that we had put the bags in the wardrobe and she said that she would inform housekeeping.
We arrived back from the wedding about 12.30am and I went to get the bag out of the wardrobe where we had left it and it was gone. My husband went down to the main reception and spoke to the night porter (Mick) whom he said was very helpful and also mortified that our bag was not in the room. After a search and unable to locate the bag he tried to ring the manager (Matt) but there was no answer so he went up to Matts room to wake him up. Matt was unwilling to come downstairs to speak to my husband and said that Mick would have to speak to housekeeping in th morning and if the bag did not turn up call the police. At no point did he come and speak to my husband in person!! Mick apologised about his manager. My husband as you can imagine was livid. We had a terrible nights sleep due to fretting about our missing belongings which included our cars keys and also my glasses. My husband went down to the main desk again at 7.25am to see if the bag had been located and again the manager was no where to be seen and the housekeeping staff were not in at that time. At 7.30am there was a knock at the door and Mick was stood there with the bag and a member of the housekeeping staff who had not got the message about the bag been in the wardrobe and put it in safe keeping. We were extremely grateful to Mick for his help with the matter. At 10am we went to check out. We still had not seen the manager and when we asked to speak to Matt the receptionist telepohned him and were told we woyuld have to wait 15-20mins to speak to him as he was up in his room. 25mins later Matt arrived. He explained that he was a stand in manager for a wedding that was been held that day and he had got there late Friday Night, he denied that anyone had spoken to him which I feel is total rubbish as I acan't imagione there benn 2 managers called Matt!! My husband again explained the incident and hewas very stand offish but did eventually apologised and admit it was a breek down in communication amongst the staff. We did not pay for the room and it was a terrible end to a lovely wedding day and would not return to that hotel again!
Very disappointed
However on a plus the room was lovely and spacious and very clean with a lovely large tele

Room Tip: keep your luggage with you at all times
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Steph A

Please accept my sincere apologies for the mix up regarding the storage of your luggage. We normally only permit guests who arrive prior to our check-in times to store their luggage with us at reception and then we deliver the luggage to the room once the housekeepers have serviced the room. Unfortunately, as you had been permitted to leave your luggage in the room prior to it being serviced, the housekeepers then assumed that it was ‘left luggage’ from the previous occupants and it was stored accordingly, hence the mix up.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies as I am truly sorry that the incident spoiled your stay and I hope that the full refund helps in some small way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews