We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had a smashing stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were very attentive, the food was very good and reasonably priced. It's in a lovely location with things to do nearby and walks alongside the river and roman fort. We stayed for two nights and would thoroughly recommend this for a short break. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivKev-cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, the team will be really pleased to hear this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    149
    69
    36
    32
See reviews for
123
232
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed there last night as a single traveller, put in a really spacious room, with lots of tea, coffee, biscuits, hot chocolate, water and free wifi. It was clean, warm, lovely bathroom.

I would definately come back with my young family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

An excellent and very tasty lunch and really good value for money. Service was friendly and efficient. We will return. Just one thing I must mention is that your very nice barman and the hotel management should make sure his uniform is pristine. Trousers and waistcoat?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. You will be pleased to know we have now launched our new summer menu ready for you to sample on your return visit.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The George for the second time, beautiful location right on the river; great location for walks, excellent service and very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean and a good size with great en suite facilities. Food was excellent, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 805Thac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
318 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed our third stay here in April. To date, we have used it as a stop-over, en route to Perthshire. That said, it would be great for a longer stay - for exploring the North Yorks and Durham Dales. In itself, the hotel has a great setting. We have always had lovely rooms and delicious evening meals & breakfasts. We will return .....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It was great to see you back at the George Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped here using their May Day offer (2 nights B&B + 1 Evening Meal). It cost £49.50 each and £10 for the dog. The room was excellent, clean and very comfortable with a large shower in the bathroom. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice. We eat in the bar area the first night which had a full menu and the food was very good with a good choice of beers including some local brews. We had the included evening meal in the restaurant the 2 and night and it was 3 courses from the full menu.

If you're into history and archaeology then the Roman fort is just a few hundred yards in one direction and the Roman Bridge is a few hundred yards in the other direction.

It's 27 miles from Durham so ideal to stop at and to go to Durham for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesalt1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback and I am pleased that you took full advantage of our special May Day offer. We have different offers running through the year and these can be viewed on our hotel website. We do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having got a fantastic deal for a 2 night stay we were unsure of what to expect from such a value offer, so love underestimating what a place will be like. Smooth check in with a lovely room in the mews but no garden view boo!! Large room very clean & excellent bathroom with a great power shower. The quality of food at every meal was superb & portions were generous & certainly enough choice on the menu if you were to stay several nights & want to experience the different dishes. The staff were very obliging, friendly & a credit to the Hotel. It's position is right next to the river Tees & was beautiful to be able to sit on either the terraces or the tables set out on the river bank & enjoy the peace & quiet. It does seem to attract dogs & their owners & I have to say not a big fan of allowing dogs in pubs that serve food in the bar was glad there was a restaurant we could eat in instead as we would have had to eat elsewhere which would have been a shame. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definitely be back thankyou!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back and perhaps next time you could take advantage of a river view.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing