We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, beautiful and nurturing”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“quiet, beautiful and nurturing”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stay once a week at The George and have done for some years now. It is welcoming, cozy with roaring fires in the winter, lovely breakfasts although they need to perceft their scrambled eggs! The staff team a friendly and very helpful, the rooms are quiet and pretty, and there are great gardens and views overlooking the river and countryside in some rooms. In my experinec it's great for business, couples, family, friends and solo.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you Liz for your feedback and we look forward to seeing again soon. We do agree with you, Room 221 is a fantastic room!

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    156
    77
    39
    35
See reviews for
129
247
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A true old english pub with a very warm hospitallity. Excellent pub food of high quality and customer aware staff, especially Sam B. Very good value for money winter rates, and would stay again when next in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gellatmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on Friday with my fiancé as we are getting married there next February. All I can say is I cannot wait and hope this year flies over. The staff are great. Nothing is too much trouble, the food is amazing and the room was fabulous. I only wish we had stayed for 2 nights.

A special thank you to Stacey and Nick for a special evening, you made us feel so welcome. And to Beth for making us feel very confident that our wedding will go exactly to plan..

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and so looking forward to sharing this venue with our wedding guests

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you Kim for your lovely review and we look forward to making your Wedding Day a joyous occasion.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch following our wedding on 10th January. Staff were great, very professional, kind and helpful. Food was excellent, we had nearly every dish on the menu and everyone thought it was without fault. We stayed overnight in a superior room which we were very happy with and the following morning breakfast was very good. Would highly recommend. They made our wedding memorable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review I hope you are enjoying married life together. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at the George on 14th February - the second time on business in the last couple of months, and found it as enjoyable and accommodating as the first time.
Switched from the restaurant (a Valentines dinner for 1!!) to a table in the bar, as I arrived. Service was good and food excellent (as the first time).
Well worth a few miles detour!
Fixed on my list of best places to stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms in annexe very comfortable and warm - welcoming on a chilly night. Park across the road facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Keith, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I recently held an evening dinner for 150 people at the George. We made several last minute rather unhelpful changes on the night all of which were accommodated, including an extra table about 20 minutes before serving.

The main ballroom is an excellent room, with it's own bar and sweeping grand entrance steps.

The food was excellent and fitted our rather tight budget.

The feedback from 150 hungry farmers was all positive. I'd highly recommend the venue and staff for anyone looking to hold a big function.

Room Tip: I have stayed overnight. The hotel has open fires and a really good selection of local beers and a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just had 2 nights at The George and it was great. The food was really lovely, lots of it and a good price. The staff were really friendly and helpfull and the room was lovely. It is in the middle of nowhere but we enjoyed the chance to have some time to relax.Will definatly go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niecey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I hope the weather wasn’t too bad for you on the way back home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
463 reviews
5.1 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,100 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing