We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel(Walworth)(Great Value!)
$93
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
254
179
84
55
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
254
179
84
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroman fortbridal suitegrandfather clockoverlooking the riverlovely locationwedding receptionwedding venueevening mealfood was lovelynight porternight staybiscuitsroom was largebowes museumfull english breakfaststayed one nightcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 616 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked into the George as we were attending a wedding there. The room was very clean and had everything we needed, bathroom also very good. Location is fantastic with outside area dorn to the river. There will be some amazing photographs of the wedding party thanks to location and sunshine!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was looking for somewhere a little different to celebrate our wedding anniversary - we usually dine locally to home on these occasions - and chose The George after reading the most recent Trip Advisor reviews - and taking some with a pinch of salt!!!
We booked in for one night's B&B, planning to eat in the restaurant and not have to drive home afterwards. Our room was OK, a little "dark" and in need of some 'TLC' but more than adequate, with an ample supply of complimentary in-room tea, coffee etc refreshments, including bottled water! The bathroom was also well provided with nice fresh, clean towels and a supply of bath/shower accompaniments.
Our balcony gave us a lovely view over the gardens and patio areas, which lead down to the River Tees, and we could also see the Bridge.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The food, although a little long in being served, was well prepared and well presented. We could not fault the quality or quantity and it was definitely worth waiting for.
The breakfast next morning was on a par with dinner in terms of quality and quantity, with a wide selection of buffet-style items - and a choice of cooked dishes from the breakfast menu.

Now for the "......shame about the bed!" bit.

We had a really enjoyable stay at The George - pleasant surroudings and views, very pleasant and helpful staff and excellent food BUT the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I/we have ever slept in!!!
Despite the aid of a 'sedative' in alcohol format!, we both had a 'discomfort' interrupted near sleepless night! Before you start thinking " sleeping and anniversary?", we are both in our mid-60's and at our ages, sleep takes priority!!!

I mentioned the bed problem to the Receptionist on checking out. She was apologetic and told me that it would 'be noted - whatever that means!

Overall, we had a pleasant experience at the The George - bed excepted! - and we would certainly recommend it - with the proviso that you check the bed to make sure that it is comfortable!!!
We would certainly eat and - more than likely - stay there again.

Room Tip: Ckeck out the bed as soon as you get to your room!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamasterwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel before, during the week of the jubilee, with some friends, we were quite impressed. So, we decided to come back for an overnight stay with members of the family on Saturday evening. Popular for weddings, but if you are not a wedding guest you tend to be muscled out. When we stayed before it was £59 per room, but when I booked for the Sat night, no-one informed me it was £99 per room. When I went to pay the bill, I was staggered to find that someone had used our room number to order lots of food and drinks. When I pointed out that we hadn't consumed these items, they were removed without quibble but it showed that no- one ever asks to see the card they give you to prove which room you are in. The hotel then tried to charge my brother more money because his room had two beds in it. (we didn't request this, we just booked 3 double rooms) The music from the 2 events that were going on (there was a birthday as well as a wedding) could be heard in the rooms of the hotel. Despite being a beautiful setting, there is a very unpleasant smell, like drains, outside.
It was such a shame that our initial view of this hotel was marred this time. We won't be going back. Definitely not worth the inflated Saturday rate.

Room Tip: The rooms in The Mews are much quieter if there is a wedding......and there usually is!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Else B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent a lovely sunny afternoon here. The views were amazing and the atmosphere was wonderful. The staff are friendly and polite as usual. The food is slightly over priced for what you get, but tasty and worth paying extra simply for the views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Juice2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our daughter Helen and son-in-law Matt had their wedding reception at The George Hotel Piercebridge. 01/09/2012.
The venue was perfect, the staff were smart, pleasant and could not have been more friendly, nothing was a bother. The food was first class and served with a smile. The rooms were clean and well maintained, some of our guests have already booked to return for a stay, in what is a most beautiful location.
We had booked the George, on the back of a recommendation from a freind. I owe that friend "a large whisky" Perfect in every way. One daughter down, Two to go. At least we have the venue sorted.We'll be back. But please in a few years. After I save up!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomStebbings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews