We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hobson Motor Inn & Wings
new zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tired and old”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked purely on location.The room had a funny smell to it not mouldy but just a closed up smell.The toilet was terrible dirty around the base and the floor if it didnt have big rubber mats would have been very slippery.Windows above sink had not been cleaned for ever.Overall value for money not good.This motel needs major work done on it or the bulldozer,I think the later

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
23
7
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a great place, well run and friendly. We were there in large groups for a wedding and stayed for 2 nights. Clean, well equipped, with a pool and kids play area, bbq available. We have a 3 year old and I felt he was safe all the time. Value for money, reasonable price, reasonable accommodation. Don't be influenced by bad reviews, try it for yourself.

Room Tip: Down the road is a large mall area with all the amenities and supplies you could need. Straight acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this establishment. We chose it purely for its location as it was hlfway between two events we were attending. The part of the establishment we stayed in was the Club Pacific West harbour Timeshare. The rooms part of the timeshare are identical to the rooms in the rest of the complex. Whilst the room was supposedly suitable or 4 adults there is barely rom to swing a cat for two and we were three. The two bedroom units are however very suitable for 4 plus.
The unt had the bare esentials for self catering and the staff were very accommodating.
It is just an average motel but because of its location we may very well use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobsonmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hobson Motor Inn & Wings, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you to the Reviewer for taking the time to share their thoughts and especially for acknowledging the efforts of our friendly and helpful housekeeping team.

Club Pacific West Harbour is a separate entity and under separate ownership from Hobson Motor Inn although it is part of the same complex and serviced by the same staff. All the units are attractively constructed and pleasantly located in spacious park-like grounds.

The one-bedroom units owned by Club Pacific West Harbour have a double bed-settee in the lounge area in order to accommodate guests as economically as possible. Once that is unfolded however there is inevitably less space in the living area.

The Hobson Motor Inn one-bedroom units accommodate three people and have a single divan bed in the lounge area which takes up less room than a bed-settee and can also be used as extra seating.

Thanks again to the Reviewer for their feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there as part of a sports team, where do I start, first night broken sleep as we tried to work out what vermin was making all the noise in the roof, I started getting bites from something in the bedding, we came back one day wet through looking forward to a hot shower, but no, no hot water for some reason, same day got back and found bowl on couch catching water from the leaking roof, that night we saw a mouse, and then there were the ants, the wall heater didn't go, great location, nice surroundings, inside very average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobsonmi, Public Relations Manager at Hobson Motor Inn & Wings, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you to the Reviewer for taking the time to share their experiences. We at Hobson Motor Inn always welcome the opportunity to find out where we have gone wrong and how we can improve our service to our guests.
In this instance it seems that the guest experienced an unusual and unfortunate series of events, largely resulting from the recent spell of extremely inclement weather. As we were not informed of the problems until the day before the guest's weekend departure we were unable to do anything more than offer alternative accommodation, apologise profusely and present the guests with complimentary bottles of wine.
We have since made repairs to the roof and addressed all the issues that arose and we warmly urge the Reviewer to come back and try Hobson Motor Inn again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobsonville hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

At first I thought this place was just tired, a bit broken but ok... Then it went downhill... The people next door had to change rooms as the roof leaked and management had simply put a bucket on the sofa to catch the drips! The toilet seat was not attached and everything that had broken through the years in each appartment we saw had been fixed with tape or not fixed at all. The breakfast was not only disgusting but actually rancid! The eggs were fully grey and the packet butter was literally YEARS out of date and smelt of vomit, not just one but several! Two of the party ended up with food poisoning from what little we ate before discovering the full horrors!!! Do not stay here or if you have to, certainly don't eat the food!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LethargicSuperhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobsonmi, Manager at Hobson Motor Inn & Wings, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
TRIP ADVISOR RESPONSE
Management and staff of Hobson Motor Inn would like to thank the reviewer for taking the time to post their comments on Trip Advisor and would like to assure them that we are totally committed to ensuring our guests’ welfare during their stay.
Addressing the issues raised:
“Tired and a bit broken” – our 36 unit motel was opened in 1990. Our lawns and gardens are well maintained with great care by our groundsman. The units are regularly upgraded and as soon as maintenance issues arise we address them without delay. The reviewer’s comments are therefore disappointing. We will however endeavour to do better.
“the roof leaked” - the month of May this year was an extraordinarily wet month with the most extreme horizontal and torrential rain we have had in Auckland for a long time. Obviously a roof leak cannot be fixed instantly, especially in heavy rain. Guests can rest assured, however, that we would never knowingly put them into a leaky room. The reviewer admits that the guests he refers to were relocated without question. The “bowl on the sofa” was placed there as a temporary measure to prevent the sofa getting soaked pending repair of the leak.
“the toilet seat was broken” – we are unaware of such a thing. We would have liked to be informed at the time if that was the case. Our subsequent inspection of the units has not revealed any broken toilet seats.
“everything had been fixed with tape” – again we are unaware of anything being “fixed with tape” and without any particular thing or unit being specified we are at a loss to know what is being referred to.
“the butter was literally years out of date” - this could not happen as the turnover of the individually packeted butter used for guests’ breakfasts is fairly rapid. We contacted Craig's Butter and it appears that guest has mistaken the manufacturer's reference code on the bottom of the miniature packet of butter for the date. The date code is on the outer box only. We have checked all our butter supplies and have none out of date. How it could be rancid we do not know as it is kept refrigerated at all times.
We catered for a large birthday party in our function centre last weekend. The comment we received was as follows:
“May I extend my heartfelt thanks again for making my birthday celebration a very successful one. The feedback from the guests was all wonderful and positive they were especially raving about the food.”
We do not believe any food poisoning suffered by the reviewer’s friends could have resulted from food supplied by us.
Whilst we appreciate feedback from our guests, good or bad, in this case we consider the review to be somewhat inaccurate and unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Motor Inn has a nice location and good grounds, but the maintenance of the facility leaves a bit to be desired. Poor (or none) bedside lighting, upstairs curtains that can't open because their cords are broken, bad smell on the upstairs carpet (including smell of the cleaner). Can hear neighbours going up and down the stairs in the adjoining rooms at night.
The cleanliness of the bathroom (especially the shower) was also not good enough.
Staff were friendly however, and very accomodating for our group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

An older but clean & tidy motor lodge handy to Westgate shopping complex and only minutes from Aucklands North Shore.
Also handy to the local RSA and a very nice fully licensed Indian restaurant.
Very good off road parking and is in a nice quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hobsonville
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunset Lodge Motel
Sunset Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Henderson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
15.1 mi away
Parakai Springs Lodge
Parakai Springs Lodge
#1 of 1 in Parakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobson Motor Inn & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobson Motor Inn & Wings

Property: Hobson Motor Inn & Wings
Address: 327 Hobsonville Road | Auckland, Hobsonville 0618, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Hobsonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hobsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hobson Motor Inn & Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hobson Motor Inn & Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing