We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place and lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coolanowle Country House
Reviewed August 17, 2010

On our first day on our first trip to Ireland we had booked a room for one night at Coolanowle Farmhouse. A fantastic place and lovely people, the hospitality we met here with Bernadine and Jimmy was so nice. They gave us their best room and a delicious dinner with their own farm products. Everything was perfect. This place is really worth a visit and you'll certainly enjoy as much as we did.
After dinner we were invited to go to the pub with them, where a lot of local people met up to sing and play traditional songs and poems etc. An unforgettable evening with wonderful people.
Thank you Bernadine and Jimmy. You made our first enening something very special.
We'llcertainly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanastril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Coolanowle Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2009

We arrived at Coolanowle on a wet windy November afternoon - and were given a warm welcome by Bernadine, and had lovely homemade scones served with tea in front of a roaring fire.

A truly beautiful setting - our spacious room overlooks the rolling hills, and had antique furniture that Bernadine has found in different parts of the country. It was great just to relax and read !

We had organic beef from Jimmy's farm for dinner, and a delicious fresh fruit meringue roulade which was just finger licking good. Breakfast was also delightful, with freshly squeezed juice and organic yoghurt - the Irish cooked breakfast with poached eggs was done to perfection without a hint of grease.

Although Carlow is not a top tourist destination, Newbridge Silverware (which has a museum and a great shop!) and Kildare shopping village is about half an hours drive away, and so is Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank alcerossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIRA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballickmoyler
9.0 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
5.1 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
17.5 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
589 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolanowle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolanowle Country House

Address: Coolanowle, Ballickmoyler | Carlow, Ballickmoyler, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Ballickmoyler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballickmoyler
Price Range: $99 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coolanowle Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coolanowle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing