We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mulranny Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westport(Westport)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
$184
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Newport(Newport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveler rating
530
312
106
59
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
312
106
59
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreclew baysea viewkids clubachill islandnephin restaurantgreenway cyclebar foodhot tubthe great western greenwaystunning locationlovely hotelfamily holidayjohn lennonfunction roomwedding receptioneach evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I rarely take the time to write reviews online although I should as I always consult them whenever I'm planning a trip away! I thought this place really deserved a mention as I enjoyed it so much. We stayed here for three nights last week and couldn't fault it. We booked in last minute having been let down by the noise levels in our original accommodation in westport. We had to switch hotels so having rang around a bit, The Mulranny were able to facilitate us, off we went not knowing what to expect. When we got there we were directed to our room which was a spacious two bedroomed apartment, just perfect for us with our 4 year old. It meant that when she went to bed early we were able to have our desserts or a glass of wine in the apartment without disturbing her sleep. The views are spectacular, the staff were very friendly and efficient, the overall standard of the hotel was excellent.

I would describe it as a homely and comfortable hotel, somewhere you feel relaxed and et ease. On the Thursday a wine tasting was organised by the hotel which was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours before dinner. Dinner by the way was the absolute highlight of the stay, the food was excellent, generally I tend not to expect too much from hotel meals but the quality and standard of the food is on a par with any high-end restaurant. The wine list, was refreshingly concise and had some gems on it. Jurata, the sommelier was really helpful assisting us with our selections and was really lovely to chat with.

The leisure facilities are pretty good too with a large pool & plenty of machines to exercise on. I never thought I'd be thankful for a disaster of a hotel in westport (we were meant to stay there for 4 nights) but I am as otherwise we would never have experienced the loveliness of the Mulranny Park hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcarrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Lcarrig,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Greenway is this hotels main attraction along with its wonderful views.
There were minor problems with bar food, but the staff generally were excellent.
The food in the dining room was surprisingly good and the staff were excellent.
Breakfast was OK only - the orange "juice" was vile, but lovely fruit and stewed rhubarb made up for these shortcomings.
The bedroom was good with stunning views.
The greenway is really a wonderful activity and the Bike Hire experience was exceptionally good - Clew Bay Bike Hire.

Room Tip: Sea view Room 110 was good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear pom_10,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, the Greenway and the food in the Nephin Restaurant. We have taking your comments regarding breakfast on board and they are being addressed by the Restaurant Manager, Asta.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mulranny Park Hotel in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited in April for a 3 night stay. The hotel has a fantastic location right on the greenway, which is such a great amenity. There are lovely walks to do right from the hotel and beaches near-by. When we first arrived, we were given a very small attic room, which although it had a view of the sea (if you craned your head out the small window), had no wardrobe and no bath! We requested a room with a bath and were given one (the last in the hotel they said). It was nice, no view, buy very spacious (and with bath!).

We had two dinners in the restaurant and one in the bar, and all were good. Breakfast was not up to the standard of the dinners- I would entreat the hotel to at least offer porridge made with milk on order rather than the massive vat of porridge made on water (awful) that is available.

As we visited in the Easter break, the place was packed with kids, not a problem for us, but just so you're aware if you'll be visiting during school holidays. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Nice pint of Guinness in the bar with a lovely view out to Clew Bay! So despite the minor niggles, we'll be back to Mulranny (while hoping they make their porridge on milk next time!!)

Room Tip: Worth asking to change if you don't like the room you get.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly_malone_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

.Dear Molly_ Malone,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay with us. We have taking your comments on board and they are being addressed by the management team as it is only through feedback such as yours that we continue to improve our standards here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mulranny Park Hotel in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very disappointed with the overall quality of the hotel. Certainly not a luxury hotel. Plastic flowers, cheap pictures and poor quality furniture. No ambience, just plain ordinary decor. Really disappointed as had though it would at least have some of the old grandeur of the original railway hotel. Stayed in the John Lennon Suite which was was totally naf. A few cheap pictures up on the wall and someone had a bright idea of putting a colourful child's futon in a corner which was ridiculous and looked totally out of place. I think they though they were recreating a 1960s look. The suite was just a big bedroom with standard furniture, not what I would expect for a luxury suite.. Overall a total waste of money. When we went down at 10am for breakfast, there was very little bread only a few slices of brown bread. When I asked if they could get more bread the waitress originally said no and that the bread there was 'nice homemade brown bread' (which was obviously out of a package). Lots more people came in after us so there was going to be no bread for them either. The waitress reluctantly agreed to ask the kitchen if they could make some more croissants. The waitresses were also more concerned with clearing away tables than serving tea or coffee to guests. You had to get up and go to a waitress and ask for tea for the table. The breakfast food was again very average, barely warm. Will not be recommending the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Only book /take a room if it is to the front of the htoel as otherwisse you have an average hotel with no view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Bernie F,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that the decor was not to your personal taste.

We would like to apologise for not delivering our usual high standard of service on this occasion and would like the opportunity to welcome you back again to present our usual standards on a future occasion if you would contact me directly on dmadigan@mulrannyparkhotel.ie to discuss further.

Again thank you for your time we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

great views and scenery,lovely walks, and a cycle route for the more energetic,hotel facilities are excellent ,mouth watering food and great selection of drink,very welcoming,helpful and friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crailcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews