We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven of tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sandhill

Relax with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax with a view
Easter 2014 at Sandhill, Clare Island in background. Full tide at Sandhill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Relax with a view
Easter 2014 at Sandhill, Clare Island in background.
Full tide at Sandhill
Sandhill sitting room
Sandhill
Sandhill is first house to right of orange building, on the hill.
Dine with a view
Sandhill Dining area
Master bedroom and new bed.
Another new bed for 2014.
Kitchen area
Views all around.
Croagh Patrick, Ireland's Holy Mountain seen from Sandhill
Sandhill
Walking out to sea on the seabed from Sandhill
Sunset behind Clare Island
Granuaile's Castle at Rockfleet
April on Mulranny Strand
Mulranny pier and salt marsh.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mulranny, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nickiruss...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of tranquility”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week. 3x families in the same house- 4 adults and 7 children! We thought we would be a bit squashed but not at all. The house was really spacious with a great layout. There seemed to be a space for everyone and we never felt like we were living on top of each other. The house was spotless when we checked in. It was nicely decorated with lots of artworks in every room. The beds were very comfortable and made up with bed linen that looked new. Yowells also looked new and eachbroom jad different coloured towells. Nice touch. The kitchen was great, more than enough plates, saucepans etc which was important as we ate in alot. The house was situated on a hill and the views were spectacular. Lots of nice walks from the house. Mulranny is about 4 miles away from the house so you will need a car. Newport was a 15 min drive and well worth a visit. Gorgeous beaches only minutes away from mulranny. We spent our days on the beach swimming or crab fishing on wet days. The mulranny hotel has a great pool that you can pay to use for the day.
Sandhill was the ideal spot to stay. It was a pleasure to come back too after a day crab fishing or exploring rocky beaches etc. I have never stayed in the same place twice when on holiday but I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot on the planet for tranquility with plenty of room for lively dinner parties.”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time time in Sandhill. The views confirm that Clew Bay is the most beautiful place in the world; one can watch the changing skies and seas all day. Well equipped, roomy kitchen with everything you need to cook up a storm for visiting extended family and friends. Comfy living room with toasty fire and lots of games and puzzles. Lovely spacious sleeping quarters. At one point we ended with 4 adults, 1 teenager, 2 kids and a dog and were very comfortable. Kevin and Mary were enormously helpful and responsive to our every whim. The ponies were a bonus highlight that induces a weepy farewell from our 8-year-old.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer4...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect retreat in stunning location near so many places of interest”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is perfect. Fabulous views over Clew Bay with changing skies and landscapes with the ebb an flow of the tide. With walks at the doorstep and Achill a short drive away, there is so much potential for outdoor living. Or do like us and spend a few days around the house and grounds and sit back and enjoy the view! The house is so spacious and is beautifully decorated making it warm and comfortable and with so many interesting aspects to it that continually surprise. There are windows everywhere giving fantastic views and the rooms are huge and the hallway is like a room! Kevin and Mary, who manage the property, are always available without being intrusive. I could see this house being suitable for all kinds of people and no matter what your interest or expectations of a holiday in Mulranny, this property won't disappoint. It is clear to see that this is a house much loved by its owner and offers far more than the average rental holiday property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriam...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a lovely time we had staying at Sandhill, the house was great but the views were spectacular, we had some great weather which left the sky full of stars in the evening, just stunning.
The location was ideal for what we had planned and we were pleasantly surprised at how easy and quick it was to get to all the various places, Including Newport and Crossmolina.
Mulranny is a few minutes away and we enjoyed all the beaches, our trip to Achill island and Keem bay was a delight and our day cycling on the green way was great fun. I even squeezed in a local yoga session!
The house itself was very accommodating with everything you needed regarding cutlery, crockery,linen, towels and comfort. Our children loved wandering down the road to the mud flats and beyond collecting all sorts of shells, wood and stones, the local shellfish factory were very friendly and shared their knowledge with the family, which was fab.
We will be back at some point, great holiday making great memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
842karen
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellant holidy home with great views”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

comfortable large spacious holiday home with large bedrooms fully equipped for small children
ideally situated with great views close to Newport and mulranny in car
lots of great walks in the area
plenty of places to visit and good food available locally
house manager very helpful and friendly
had a great week and would book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: all good
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryclare...
1 review
“Breathtaking holiday in homely house”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This house is fantastic! It is clear the owner uses the place frequently as there are lots of homely extras that other rentals lack. The house is warm and comfortable and the views from the house are the best we have ever seen. Also, the hospitality provided by the house manager Kevin who lives nearby is outstanding. Thanks Kevin for a wonderful stay that we will always remember fondly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the house and the open fire place
Liked least: there was no internet and it was advertised as with internet. But on flip side this stopped husband working on holidays!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humphris2...
Howick, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really great place for a peaceful, relaxing family holiday.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We were two grandparents with our daughter, son-in-law and 2-year-old grandson. The house was perfect; safe for our little one and very comfortable. Superb scenery and wonderful walks and drives. The house was fitted with all we needed and the owner was extremely helpful at all times. Restaurants and beaches in the vicinity were very good and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. We had a very happy time at Sandhill. Thank you Mr Madden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, inside and out, the quiet, and the fantastic view.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing