We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - we loved the place!”
other travelers have booked this property
plenty parking right at the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
plenty parking right at the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
plenty parking right at the door
a 4 star VisitScotland property
a warm welcome awaits
a large comfy corner sofa
be sure to read previous guests comments and leave your own tips for future guests too
all fuel supplied, perfect for a cosy winter break
light airy hallway, with lounge, main bathroom and master bedroom
quality DENBY tableware
great welcome hamper so you needn't worry about food for your first night and breakfast the next day
great welcome hamper included, tailored to every guest
fully fitted dining kitchen with quality kitchenware by DENBY and your very own NESSPRESSO machine
fncy a coffee?
your very own NESPRESSO machine with a great variety to choose from
family bathroom with separate shower, separate bath, underfloor heating
DUCK ISLAND toiletries throughout
waterfall head and flexible hose in shower
super-king master bedroom with feature stone wall, Egyptian cotton sheets
super comfy super king sized, with Egyptian cotton bedding
ensuite with large walk in shower
oak finishing's throughout
upstairs hallway
snug with sofa bed
full sized single beds x 2
relax in our lovely 6 seat, 1 lounger hot tub
picnic table or bench depending on what your doing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tangstad
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - we loved the place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our 3- generation family from Norway had a lovely stay at Fáilte. We were 8 persons together: 7 adults and 1 child of 2 years old. The house was excellent and Wullie and Alison did their best to make us feel welcome. We really enjoyed our stay at Fáilte: the Nespresso machine, the bathrobes, the hot tub, the welcomming basket, the bicycles and childseat, the well equipped kitchen, the comfortable couches, etc. - we loved it all. Our family has stayed in many very nice self-catering cottages in England, Scotland, France, Italy, Greece and Denmark through the last 15 years, and this is definitely the best place we have stayed in ever! We highly recommend it!

There is a lot to explore in the area by foot, bicycle and by car: the Bow Fiddle Rock, the lovely lokal fish & chips-shop, the best ice-cream ever is homemade in the neighborvillage Cullen, Nessie in Loch Ness (sadly she was hiding when we were visiting), etc. We like to walk, and the coastal paths were good with a breathtaking view. Some very nice beaches in the neighborhood. Lot of birds - and some of us even observed dolphins.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
thanks for your lovely review and recommendation, it was great to meet all your family and we are really glad you enjoyed all the cottage and our local area had to offer, it was great to welcome you all and would be great to see you all return again someday, lovely that some of you saw the dolphins which are very famous along the coastline, thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macjanice
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Notch.”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spent a great week away with friends and family in this beautiful spacious Holiday home. It had Everything we needed and more for a party size of eight.
The owners, Willie and Allison have thought of every little comfort that is needed to make a holiday feel luxurious and special, if I give away to much it will ruin the little surprises that awaits you.. 10 out of 10. Trust me you won't be disappointed.
Portknockie itself is a lovely little village and the people are so friendly and welcoming.
The local Inn is worth a visit too with its lovely owner Alan, family and friends.
Great tasting fish and chip shop so leave your diet at home. Lol.
All in all, it feels very safe and child friendly as there are plenty of paths for cycling and walking nearby and a great place to return home to at the end of your day out and about to rest and relax. Thanks again Wullie and Allison for having great sensitivity to people's needs on holiday. Hope to return to your 'Failte' sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
Thanks for the great review, we're delighted you enjoyed the cottage so much and all that is available in the area, really appreciate your kind feedback, hopefully won't be long and you'll be back at Failte
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent a great week at this property and although the weather wasn't great our teenage boys were fully entertained with the technology available in the cottage. Everything was finished to a high standard. Kitchen has everything you could need and more including a fantastic coffee machine which we wish we had at home. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and the scenery is nothing short of spectacular. We would hope to return someday and would have no hesitation in recommending 'Failte' to anyone.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
thanks for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed all the cottage had to offer in spite of the weather, be great to see you all back again and we appreciate your recommendation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieWi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage has been done to a high standard and everything has been thought of. The owners go above and beyond without being obtrusive. Really couldn't ask for a better holiday let. Will definitely be booking again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
thanks for your lovely feedback, we aim to please and it would be great to see you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorro151
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely house 5 star accommodation”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

loved staying at wullies place he could not be more hospitable really looked after us liked the bikes and all the gadgets in house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the gadgets
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
glad you enjoyed all the house had to offer Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahNort...
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and very central for touring.”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a very enjoyable week in the lovely village of Portknockie which is very central to many other locations of interest. Wullie and Alison warmly welcomed us and were extremely hospitable. The cottage was finished to a very high standard and very comfortable. The kitchen was fitted out with new kitchen appliances including a coffee machine also very nice crockery and cutlery. A welcome basket of groceries was left for us which was a lovely touch.
We have no hesitation in recommending the cottage to others who want to visit this lovely part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambiance of the cottage.
Liked least: The journey time from Perth.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
thanks for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed the cottage and our home town of Portknockie, thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscop38
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday property - would highly recommend”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fantastic week here. Portknockie is a lovely village and the cottage has been fitted out to a very high standard.

We loved the SONOS sound system & enjoyed the bikes, the welcome basket was a nice touch and the cottage is very child friendly, Natalia loved the den.

We will be recommending to family and friends and will definitely be looking to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Technology, location, bikes, cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed all the facilities that we have on offer, appreciate your recommendation and be great to see you all (+1) back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing