We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Les Chenes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Montguyon, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seppy71
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful villa with private sprawling gardens. We had a wonderful week in this lovely part of France. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped and large private pool. Our kids loved the games room and garden. Peaceful location and easy to get to from Bordeaux airport. Would love to return and highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Les Chenes, your comments are much appreciated, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibirdy6...
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely place to unwind”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is down a little lane in the small village of Neuvicq. It is beautifully private but doesn't feel isolated. The property is well maintained and contains everything you could possibly need, including a good sized swimming pool and an outside eating area/BBQ. The gardens are huge, plenty of space for kids to play, and all safely fenced in.
Mandy, the owner, was very helpful and friendly when we booked the villa, and the information folder she sent us prior to our holiday was brilliant.
Maggie, the manager, was there to greet us when we arrived and called in half way through the week to make sure everything was ok. She was lovely, very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Her and Chris (pool man) gave us some great tips on where to shop, places to visit etc.
A car is essential to explore the area, but there is plenty to see and do within an hours drive of the villa. This is a lovely area of France, miles of vineyards and rolling countryside, but there are plenty of sporting activities close by so you can have as active, or relaxing a holiday as you like. For bad weather days the villa has plenty to keep kids amused, including table tennis, play station and loads of DVDs, sky TV, books and games.
Word of warning, there is no wifi nearby so teenagers may be forced to communicate verbally!

The only criticism we have of the holiday is we didn't have enough time to see everything we wanted to, so this means we will have to return in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private, but not isolated. Well equipped.
Liked least: Steps into pool are quite high, might be difficult for anyone elderly or with limited mobility.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2014
We are delighted you had a lovely holiday at Les Chenes, thank you for your kind words. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdie134
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Happy Days at Les Chenes”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a delightful place to stay. Villa lovely and set in a large garden great for relaxation or for children to play in. Everything was perfect. Loved the solar heated pool. Good barbeque area. Plenty of places to visit each unique in its own way. Convenient to nearest village Montguyon. Cannot wait to get back and as there will be a flight from Belfast as well as Dublin to Bordeux it is easy to get to. Roll on next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: I had to go home.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Les Chenes, thank you for your kind words. We do try to provide a high standard of service and accommodation. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bream, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hazel T
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The villa is located in a picturesque, rural area, looking out onto a field of sunflowers. It’s only a short drive to the local town, which has three excellent bakeries and butchers, and there’s a large supermarket close by, too. The villa is very private, and just off a quiet road. The house itself was immaculately clean, very comfortable, and had every convenience you might need, especially given we were traveling with an 11-month-old baby. The welcome pack was excellent, and much appreciated after our long drive and late arrival. The pool is deceptively small in the pictures – in real life it’s much bigger than we expected, and is very private – it’s a real suntrap. Finally, the owners were a pleasure to deal with. We can’t recommend Les Chênes highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: was nothing we did not like
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing