We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Hell”

Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zinkwazi Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Holiday Hell”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was without doubt the worst holiday my husband, children and I have ever experienced. We booked a 2 week family holiday over December 2011 / January 2012 based on the Lodge's website, which shows (amongst others) clean lodges, neat and tidy gardens, and a sparkling swimming pool. We booked 3 lodges to accommodate 16 people (8 adults and 8 children) and were required to pay in full up front. Between us, the cost of our accommodation was in excess of R60,000 for the 2 weeks and, given that this was not inexpensive, we expected a certain level of comfort. We were sorely disappointed. Our "lodge" was dark, dirty and dank. We had to scrub the dirty ring from around the bath on the night we arrived before our children could bath. There were enormous cockroaches in the bin cupboard in the kitchen, easily the length of my thumb. There was gecko excrement on top of the fridge. The linen and the bath towels were threadbare. The pillows on the beds were discoloured and stiff from age and use. It rained the night we arrived and we woke up the next morning to find the floor in the children's room under water and their beds saturated because of a hole in the roof. My sister-in-law was bitten so severely by what the doctor suspected were bedbugs that she was put on cortisone and antibiotics, and had festering suppurating sores on her ankles and legs for weeks afterwards. Her oven door didn't close properly so it was difficult to cook anything, like a lasagne or a chicken. The seal on the fridge was also warped so the fridge didn't get very cold, and milk and yoghurt had to be stored in one of the other 'lodge' fridges. When we arrived, the communal swimming pool was a murky green - it was cleared up over the 2 weeks that we stayed there but it smelled of urine throughout. The trampoline was broken. We were robbed the one night and had all of our beach gear that was on our deck stolen (beach towels, costumes, etc). The robbers were disturbed trying to gain entry into my brother's "lodge" and ran away. The Lodge advertised a ferry as a means to get to and from the beach using the lagoon. It turns out that it was no more than a raft (some plastic barrels roped together with some wooden planks and seating on top), which (if we had wanted to risk it) we could pole ourselves up and down the lagoon. We too were met with surly, unhelpful, disinterested, aggressive and rude staff (other than the cleaners who serviced our "lodges" on a daily basis and the maintenance guy who tried). We were shown no sympathy following the robbery and in fact not a single person from Lodge management even made any enquiry as to our well being. Lodge management were hardly ever present or available, and the staff at reception were indifferent to complaints about the state of the "lodges" and other facilities. We made enquiries about checking out early and obtaining a refund but were rudely told we were free to leave if we were dissatisfied but that there would be no refund under any circumstances. I overhead guests who had checked into the 'lodge' next door to ours talking on their cell phones in which they said that they had just arrived and were disappointed ("it's not what we were expecting") - they left that same afternoon. It was a bitterly disappointing waste of money and, more importantly, a total waste of a precious, hard-earned holiday with our kids and extended family. Subsequent to our holiday, I read an article in the Sunday Times, written by Ben Trovato in early December 2011, in which he described his experience at Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge. It was strikingly similar to our experience described above. Never again will we return to Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge (& Paradise) and we will not recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank thewillows4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    0
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were supposed to stay at this Lodge for a week but in the end left early without a refund because we couldn't bare to stay any longer.

We were first greeted by a rather aggressive member of staff named Jenny, I am not sure if she owns the place but it would certainly appear that she despises working at the Lodge. Manners cost nothing and this woman needs to learn how to use them.

The swimming pool was unusable. It was so dirty that you could not see the bottom. I enquired at the reception desk about it but, the indifferent attitude of the staff meant no apologies or justifications as to why it was out of use were provided.

We did not have children with us but if we had, I would have been very upset. The children's pool was out of use, the play park was rusty and looked so unsafe it surely hasn't been used since the early 90s....

When we originally dealt with the Lodge over e-mail to make the reservation they were misleading and claimed to be so busy that they could only take a booking for a full week. We paid high season rates for nothing. There were no more than 4 other people at the Lodge and I wonder if it is essential for them to take payment upfront beacuse so many people leave after a day or so.

Money is just not being invested back into this Lodge so my advice would be do not waste your money staying here.

I would have loved the opportunity to provide this feedback to the Lodge personally but they demonstrated such disinterest at my checking out early that I did not see why we should make the effort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank clafey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zinkwazi Beach hotels

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a charming and homey collection of beach bungalows and some camping sites. We stayed in a 2-bedroom 2-bath bungalow that had a totally modern and fully equipped kitchen, very comfortable living room and two private outdoor patios -- one fully covered with outdoor fire/BBQ area. Rooms not airconditioned, but overhead fans were good. We had lovely lagoon water view. Lots of good birding from the patio as well as along the lagoon. There is free wifi at the Raffia Restaurant that is part of the complex. It has good food -- excellent prawns -- and great eclectic music courtesy of the owner/chef Peter. Great deck and bar for eating -- rain or shine. The beach is a short walk/drive away. The lodge is located in a residential area, so it is very quiet and feels very private.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow with a lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zinkwazi Beach
0.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi
Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi
#1 of 3 in Zinkwazi Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scent From Heaven Global
Scent From Heaven Global
#1 of 5 in Zinkwazi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellvale Private River Resort
0.0 mi away
Sensayuma Backpackers
Sensayuma Backpackers
#1 of 3 in Tugela Mouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge

Property: Zinkwazi Lagoon Lodge
Address: Nr. King Shaka Route, Zinkwazi Beach, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zinkwazi Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Zinkwazi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing