We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding 5 Star Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I have visited the Ocean Reef Hotel a few times.
We've experienced a wonderful Valentines dinners here as well.

It is only 45 minute drive from where we live and I can honestly say that it has been a wonderful experience each and every time we have visited.
Service, food, staff, accommodation and location make this a well worth experience.

Their restaurant is highly recommended to dine at. Presentation is really lovely and of course the food is of the highest standard, well worth the wait! Not at all a rush and eat type of restaurant, here you want to take your time and enjoy the whole afternoon or evening it's that lovely.
Don't miss out, this is one place you have to experience, staff never forget a face and make you feel so welcome.

Beverley Langkilde - SATSA-Tourism Tattler Trade Journal

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOURISMTATTLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a lunch at the Bamboo restaurant in January:

- food was OK but we waited a very long time for it to arrive
- tables were dirty and got wiped only after my request
- the place was almost empty and still the service was very slow.Not too friendly either ( they literally dropped our bill on the table)

Nice view from the patio though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank marbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the oceans reef hotel for our 2nd anniversary and it was a really pleasant experience. Very quiet clean and neat hotel. Had no problems at all. Our room was fantastic and had a great view of the ocean. The food from the hotel was really good too.

Most of the time we just chilled on the beach which is very private and secluded from the main beach and the crowds. overall would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. The rooms on the top floor seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Boutique Hotel experience, unique restaurant menu with friendly staff providing a personal touch, the venue provides great facilities for conferencing, secluded beach with the small town experience.

Room Tip: Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel sounded great and the web pictures looked amazing! In reality,this hotel/apartment was absolutedly filthy dirty! After speaking to the manageress,the room was cleaned but unfortunately this didnt include the windows which i could hardly see out of,or the many cobwebs! The restaurant served delicious food but the waiters are completedly untrained.....one didnt even know what calamari was- i ended up writing the order down and still we didnt get exactly what we ordered. Even that took 45 minutes to be served (there were only 3 tables in the restaurant.....). All in all.....never again!

Room Tip: First ask to see the room before paying in full as we were required to do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Zinkwazi Ocean Reef Hotel and luxury Villas on The Kwazulu North Coast has nestled itself in this sub tropical paradise, a haven for birds, insects, monkeys and other small animal life. The wooden walkway through the forest, under the protection of the canopy, offers a glimpse of a sparkling jewel of deep blue, peeping through the trees and at last a full view of this glory of Indian Ocean and untouched golden beach.
The Hotel is a minimalistic fusion of African/Balinese influences, understated, modern luxury, which rings true of many of Signature Life's Hotels. A laid back yet luxurious attitude to coastal living, the emphasis of the hotel is the transparent view point beyond the foyer, Bamboo Restaurant, the patio and rim flow pool to the sea view, that seeks you out and commands your attention, beyond the beyond.
The hotel was fully booked and therefore I could not sneak a peak at the hotel rooms, however the self catering villa that I stayed at with family and friends was very spacious and perfectly comfortable. The gracious consideration to South African entertaining and our excellent all year round weather (this was our winter) was evident in the open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area and the large sliding glass doors that spilled out on to the deck area that had a dining table and was equipped with a large gas braai (because no place can call itself proudly South African if it does not have a braai facility of some sort).
Zinkwazi is a beautiful, untouched paradise of beach and bush only 80 km from Durban and The Zinkwazi Ocean Reef Hotel sits majestically on the hill, peeping out through the forest canopy and is definitely a place worth visiting! www.---------------.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proudlysaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zinkwazi Beach
22.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
438 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lodge at Prince's Grant
0.8 mi away
Scent From Heaven Global
Scent From Heaven Global
#2 of 4 in Zinkwazi Beach
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zinkwazi Beach
10 reviews
0 mi away
Nkwazi Eco Backpackers
Nkwazi Eco Backpackers
#1 of 4 in Zinkwazi Beach
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi

Address: 17 Magai Drive, Zinkwazi Beach, Zinkwazi Beach, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zinkwazi Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Zinkwazi Beach
Price Range: $156 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing