We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The old lady at the sea”
Fantastic time with a lifetime of memories
 Left on Jan 5, 2019 for a stay in Dec 2018
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic time with a lifetime of memories
 Left on Jan 5, 2019 for a stay in Dec 2018
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden The beach in front of the villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Fantastic time with a lifetime of memories
 Left on Jan 5, 2019 for a stay in Dec 2018
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Children playing on the beach
Yoga session on the beach at the villa
Beach side garden
Lunch in the summerhut
Garden with swimmingpool
Bathroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Wedding at the villa
Bride and broom on the beach at the villa
Wedding celebration at the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Pitiwella, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Russian first
Any
English first
hayleym58...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The old lady at the sea”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A group of 18 of us stayed at the villa for two weeks December 2017. We were of mixed ages from 8 to 67. The villa accommodated all of us with plenty of space and an excellent pool. The staff were truly amazing and looked after our every whim, nothing was too much. The staff are discreet yet always on hand and always with a smile. The manager came everyday and organised amazing trips from safaris to train rides to climbing Adams peak. The drivers were knowledgable and always on time ensuring we got the most out of our trip. Truly lovely place and highly recommended. The cook made amazing food although I’m not sure we made the most of her skills and a tasting menu would be something to consider for future visitors. A washing machine would of been handy but we managed without. All in all a lovely place and fantastic memories made. Thank you for making our first visit to Sri Lanka one to remember and we will be back!

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2018
Dear Guest , very nice to read that you enjoyed that much your stay at our villa . Always welcome ! Good idea to have a 'tasting' menu . By the way : there is a laundry close by that does laundry and ironing for a competitive price .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bliss_PV
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It was my first trip to Sri Lanka, and 15 of my family and friends (ages 2 - 74) joined me for a week long birthday celebration. We flew in from 8 cities around the world and were greeted by this fabulous beach villa. Wim the owner was very prompt and helpful all along the way with pre arrival information, planning and logistics. Once we got there the location and layout of the property exceeded expectations - slightly rustic and you couldn't be closer to the ocean! The staff were very good and yet un-intrusive, they looked after our every need so well, especially the chef Ishanti and the helper Taru. The food at the villa was excellent and it gave us the much needed flexibility on whether we ate out or in each day. There are security guards on the premises as well, and we felt very safe throughout our 9 day stay. The pool was lovely too (note, it is extremely slippery around the edges so do take extra care) and the property affords enough space to spread yourselves out. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day. We experienced a few leaks during our stay due to heavy rains but the staff fixed those immediately and it was fine. Transport is easy to access, we took tuk tuk's and local buses from just outside the villa on a couple of occasions, and made plenty of use of the cars and drivers that the Villa manager organised for us, as we were a large group (incl airport pick up). Galle, Hikkadua, Unawatuna, are all within easy reach. We had a week full of joy and hope you do too!

Date of stay: November 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2017
Dear Payal ,
So nice to read your review .
The way you describe your stay at the villa is so lovely .
Thanks for that .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimpsmidl...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

the delicious food and could not actually think of food! The children were kept There are not enough words to explain how great this villa is. The people who work there make it their mission to make your stay as wonderful as they can. Everything is tailored just for you. There were 18 of us travelling from Australia, Hong Kong and U.K and the ages ranges were 70 - 3 years. The staff helped with taking a sick child to the doctors and making sure everything was ok. Playing with children whilst the pool was being cleaned (was very early in the morning i might add). The food was the best on the island and if i had to moan about anything it would be that the villa needs a sample menu as when asked what we would like for dinner, lunch or breakfast it was normally after we had stuffed our faces with happy with the wide range of food too from spag bol to chicken goujons to everything inbetween. The rooms were clean and any extra bedding or towels that were asked for were quickly delivered. The security guards were discreet and reassuring that every time we went on to the public beach (which was quiet) we were watched for safety reasons. Its true you can't swim in the sea it is too rough but a walk and a paddle is fine. The unawattuna beach a short tuk tuk ride away is fabulous for food, shops and cocktails! I am not a lover of any animals whilst on holiday and try to avoid them if i can, but the villa dog is an exception! My 13 yr old daughter and her friend went on to the beach and the dog followed, whenever anyone approached the dog would go and sit next to the girls and "protect" them as people would walk the opposite direction. It was very reassuring. I could babble on with all the things that are so great with this place (including a phone call from the owner to check you're having a good time and everything was ok). But the truth is If you want a fabulous holiday where you are pampered and spolit - this is the place!

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Dear guest , thanks for your nice review . Also the staff was happy having you and your as their guests .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTra...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

15 of us went there for 5 days for a friend's 40th. We fell in love with the place instantly. The property, the service, the food, the beach, the pool and the gardens were all incredible. I would go back in a heartbeat. Been to many places in Asia, this is one of my favorites!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thanks for your "Superb" review . Always welcome at our villa !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinindaP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a big crowd. Fantastic location and food”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The place was great, it was right on the beach with a lovely pool and big garden. the staff was non intrusive and very polite. we got the entire place and it was very private. there is a very big garden as well. all in all its highly recommended for a big crowd.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Dear guest , thanks for your review . Always welcome at our villa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna C
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The villa ”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was spacious although dated and in need of refurbishment. When it rained couple of the rooms had leaks. One over the bed luckily we were able to move around. Also we were not impressed by our welcome. The manager wasn't there the staff didn't introduce themselves. We were not told which rooms had a safe and a couple had hair dryer but we were not told this either. Electric sockets didnt work in some of the rooms and there were problems with the air conditioning in some of the rooms. When the manager finally came he didn't even introduce himself. I think he should be sent on a hospitality course. What would be useful would be a folder explaining who staff are and what services provided. The chef was brilliant and quickly learnt how to make Indian Masala tea and poached egg. We enjoyed the sri Lankan curries she made.
The villa has a house dog and cats this should be in the brochure some people may have allergies.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Dear Taruna , thanks for the review .
I'll take your views into consideration .
We repaired already the leaks , the electric sockets and the A/C in the rooms .
The villa is a reconstruction of a 300 years old Dutch house and we tried to keep the "old soul " of the house , sorry if that gave you the impression to be dated .
All info concerning the provided services was send to the travel agent at the moment they booked the villa for your stay .
Nice that you enjoyed the chef's cooking .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfct villa to chill with a group and have your privacy. Personnel is superfriendly and an excellent chef. Close to dutch fort and other nice things in the south of Sri lanka.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2017
Hi Laurens ,
Thanks for your review . Always welcome to our place .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing