We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our private home in paradise”
Fantastic time with a lifetime of memories
 Left on Jan 5, 2019 for a stay in Dec 2018
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic time with a lifetime of memories
 Left on Jan 5, 2019 for a stay in Dec 2018
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden The beach in front of the villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Fantastic time with a lifetime of memories
 Left on Jan 5, 2019 for a stay in Dec 2018
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Children playing on the beach
Yoga session on the beach at the villa
Beach side garden
Lunch in the summerhut
Garden with swimmingpool
Bathroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Wedding at the villa
Bride and broom on the beach at the villa
Wedding celebration at the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Pitiwella, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Russian first
Any
English first
theStormk...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our private home in paradise”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a group of 10 adults and 8 children ranging in age from 1 year up to 8 years old stay this past March. We couldn't ask for anything more. There were plenty of beds for everyone and the amenities were exactly as described. The staff was absolutely amazing, they took care of our every need and the food was fantastic. Ashanti, the cook, made delicious meals as we requested and introduced us to some amazing Sri Lankan curries. Siri, the landlord, helped us with everything we needed including travel and deliveries of food and beverages as needed.
From the minute the kids woke to the time we put them to bed they were in the beautiful and well maintained pool. The location is perfect as well. It's away from the hustle and bustle of the larger cities and resorts so the beach is essentially considered a private beach. But we weren't to far from Galle or Hikaduwa to take advantage of the sights (only 10 minutes by tuk tuk).
Everyone had such a great time and can't stop talking about planning our trip for next year.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Dear Guest , so nice the way you describe your stay at The Old Lady at the Sea ! Always welcome at our villa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auntydodo
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue for a group holiday - all ages.”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful Christmas vacation here. We were 3 families with 8 children plus a Grandmothr and a close family friend. The set up allowed us to allocate bedrooms easily and gave us a sitting area big enough to take all 16 of us at one table plus 2 separate seating areas for adults and children to split up during the day.

The food was absolutely fabulous and always plenty available. Drinks served whenever we wanted them.

Taxis and trips were organised for us as and when we wanted them and the dining area was decorated for Christmas.

Perfect holiday!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Hello there , thanks for your review . Happy that you enjoyed that much your stay at our villa !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I6093UQsa...
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multiple family holiday”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were 10 adult and 8 children staying for just over a week coming from Singapore. The villa has 9 rooms which meant we could easily sleep everyone and the villa grounds is perfect for young children (aged 0 upwards) as there is plenty of grass space to run around and 2 pools, one for kids and one for adults.
The villa staff are very hard working and sweet but English not great so a few things got lost in translation but we go there.
All the meals were fantastic and the children's food requests were all catered for. They even organized a fantastic surprise birthday party for my husband that included a disco and decorations.
I would definitely recommend the villa for people with young families and it is virtually indestructible.
The villa is also on the beach and is short drive in a Tuk Tuk to both Galle for day trips and evenings out and also to visit Haikadua along the coast.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
Thanks for your review . Happy that you enjoyed your stay at our villa that much .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover3...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect party location”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the villa for a long party weekend for which it was absolutely perfect. Accommodating staff, lovely food and a beautiful beach straight out of the garden gate. The bedrooms are all very pleasant and of a good standard and the outside seating area is a very relaxing place to spend the time. Clean pool of a good size and a perfect temperature.The owner was charming, exceptionally helpful and really quick to respond to our many questions. We would definitely recommend for a larger party.

Date of stay: October 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Thanks for your review . Always welcome at our villa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa for a fun and happy family holiday”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most lovely and relaxing holiday over New Year 2016. It was the perfect villa for a family/friends group of 12 of varying ages. The location next to the sea made it so easy to go for an early morning walk and it was so peaceful listening to the waves (sometimes a little large for a relaxed swim). The villa is opposite a bus stop which makes it very easy to go into Galle or Hikkaduwah (great restaurant called Neela's and the deeply moving Tsunami Museum).

The food was absolutely delicious Sri Lankan fare - especially the seafood and fish. We learnt how to make the tastiest dahl ever. The morning often started with sipping coconut water from a freshly cut coconut followed by a yoga session.

Siri and his team were on hand all the time to help us and make sure we had a good holiday. I'd go back given the chance...

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thanks for your review . Very helpfull for the future guests to imagine how their stay at our villa will be .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangocurr...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We were recently a part of 20-member strong birthday party collective that stayed for 3 utterly unforgettable nights at The Old Lady at the Sea.

My wife and I had arrived separate to the rest of the group and owing to the late arrival of our flight, we found it particularly difficult to locate the property in the dead of night with little or no locals to ask for directions and if they did, it would be patchy at best. If you intend staying here, I strongly recommend taking a printout of the location of the property to mitigate any issues with your arrival.

After an epic 23-hour journey from Sydney, we finally entered the Old Lady at the Sea, warmly greeted by one of their staff members. At once we were consumed by the villa’s utter simplicity - clean, effective and enduring design and basic but clean and spacious rooms. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and also come equipped with air-conditioning, an absolute must in Sri Lanka’s tropical heat.

However, you’ll have little time to appreciate the inside of your room because once you step out of it and on to the sprawling grounds of this Dutch villa, you’ll fall in love all over again. Well-manicured green lawns dotted by heaps of coconut palms, the azure blue waters of the pool, the breezy summer cabana and the sights and sounds of the ocean crashing just meters away from you – as I said, you’ll fall in love all over again.

As beautiful as any hotel or motel or villa or holiday rental may be, they are usually winners only because of the quality of staff that care for their guests. And this is The Old Lady’s winning hand.

The amazing staff will blow you away with their effortless service, always just right, never intrusive and all requests are met and served with love, a simple smile and a nod of the head.

Our friend’s 40th birthday do was planned in extensive detail. Every detail was comprehensively executed by the stunning kitchen and service staff and the results blew us all away. Not just on the day but all through our stay, the quality of food served was brilliant – authentic Sri Lankan fare is what we asked for and that’s exactly what we got.

The Old Lady at the Sea did not disappoint on any counts. Couple that with the company of friends who hadn’t met in years and an occasion that was special to all, this holiday and stay will remain etched in our brains for a lifetime.

Beware, if you book your stay here, you may not want to leave.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Amazing how you describe your stay at our villa . It gives us a happy feeling reading your review . Thanks for that .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuhaC3
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was an excellent location. The food was superb. And the staff absolutely phenomenal as only Sri Lankans can be.

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thanks for your review . Also the staff was very happy having you and your family at the villa . Always welcome .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing