We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect party location”
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa Walking on the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Walking on the beach
Children playing on the beach
Yoga session on the beach at the villa
Breakfast
Beach side garden
Lunch
Lunch in the summerhut
Garden with swimmingpool
Bathroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Wedding at the villa
Bride and broom on the beach at the villa
Wedding celebration at the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Pitiwella, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Russian first
Any
English first
Discover3...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect party location”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the villa for a long party weekend for which it was absolutely perfect. Accommodating staff, lovely food and a beautiful beach straight out of the garden gate. The bedrooms are all very pleasant and of a good standard and the outside seating area is a very relaxing place to spend the time. Clean pool of a good size and a perfect temperature.The owner was charming, exceptionally helpful and really quick to respond to our many questions. We would definitely recommend for a larger party.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Thanks for your review . Always welcome at our villa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightsee6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa for a fun and happy family holiday”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most lovely and relaxing holiday over New Year 2016. It was the perfect villa for a family/friends group of 12 of varying ages. The location next to the sea made it so easy to go for an early morning walk and it was so peaceful listening to the waves (sometimes a little large for a relaxed swim). The villa is opposite a bus stop which makes it very easy to go into Galle or Hikkaduwah (great restaurant called Neela's and the deeply moving Tsunami Museum).

The food was absolutely delicious Sri Lankan fare - especially the seafood and fish. We learnt how to make the tastiest dahl ever. The morning often started with sipping coconut water from a freshly cut coconut followed by a yoga session.

Siri and his team were on hand all the time to help us and make sure we had a good holiday. I'd go back given the chance...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thanks for your review . Very helpfull for the future guests to imagine how their stay at our villa will be .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangocurr...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We were recently a part of 20-member strong birthday party collective that stayed for 3 utterly unforgettable nights at The Old Lady at the Sea.

My wife and I had arrived separate to the rest of the group and owing to the late arrival of our flight, we found it particularly difficult to locate the property in the dead of night with little or no locals to ask for directions and if they did, it would be patchy at best. If you intend staying here, I strongly recommend taking a printout of the location of the property to mitigate any issues with your arrival.

After an epic 23-hour journey from Sydney, we finally entered the Old Lady at the Sea, warmly greeted by one of their staff members. At once we were consumed by the villa’s utter simplicity - clean, effective and enduring design and basic but clean and spacious rooms. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and also come equipped with air-conditioning, an absolute must in Sri Lanka’s tropical heat.

However, you’ll have little time to appreciate the inside of your room because once you step out of it and on to the sprawling grounds of this Dutch villa, you’ll fall in love all over again. Well-manicured green lawns dotted by heaps of coconut palms, the azure blue waters of the pool, the breezy summer cabana and the sights and sounds of the ocean crashing just meters away from you – as I said, you’ll fall in love all over again.

As beautiful as any hotel or motel or villa or holiday rental may be, they are usually winners only because of the quality of staff that care for their guests. And this is The Old Lady’s winning hand.

The amazing staff will blow you away with their effortless service, always just right, never intrusive and all requests are met and served with love, a simple smile and a nod of the head.

Our friend’s 40th birthday do was planned in extensive detail. Every detail was comprehensively executed by the stunning kitchen and service staff and the results blew us all away. Not just on the day but all through our stay, the quality of food served was brilliant – authentic Sri Lankan fare is what we asked for and that’s exactly what we got.

The Old Lady at the Sea did not disappoint on any counts. Couple that with the company of friends who hadn’t met in years and an occasion that was special to all, this holiday and stay will remain etched in our brains for a lifetime.

Beware, if you book your stay here, you may not want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Amazing how you describe your stay at our villa . It gives us a happy feeling reading your review . Thanks for that .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuhaC3
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was an excellent location. The food was superb. And the staff absolutely phenomenal as only Sri Lankans can be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thanks for your review . Also the staff was very happy having you and your family at the villa . Always welcome .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonmoo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to relax with a big party”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was perfect for a family holiday of all ages. The location is brilliant and the beach very unspoiled with lots of fishing and other interesting things to enjoy - particularly the Mohitos in the Reggae Bar! Yasinta is a brilliant cook and with her team looked after us so well - able to cater to everyone's desires. Superb curries down to chocolate cake! The villa is well equipped for a large party and has space as well as facilities to make it really enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review . Happy to read you enjoyed your stay at our villa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tjs333
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing break away with friends”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a villa for a group of 10 friends to have a short break, this villa was just perfect for that, as there was plenty of space for us to enjoy time together around the table enjoying beautifully cooked meals, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, whatever you wanted, they catered for. The villa is set overlooking the beach which was wonderful, we all went for several walks along the beach every day.
The staff looked after us very well, whatever we wanted they sorted, without being in the way. I would definitely recommend this to friends and would consider returning!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Dear Guest , nice to read you enjoyed your stay that much .
Always welcome to The Old Lady at the Sea .

Thanks for writing the review .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anickcham...
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent place where to have a family reunion”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family being spread between Europe, Asia and Oceania, our group of 11 persons (aged from 4 to 70 years) spent 11 very happy days at the Old Lady. Very well located at some 5 km from Galle, the house is next to the sea (which was a little too rough at this time of the year). It is well designed to look after a group such as ours. Privacy but closeness as well. Sandy is a tremendous chef and Saman, the driver, looked after us and our security. It was almost perfect.
The rooms are very comfortable but not luxurious. Some additional help in organising our outings / visits (e.g. to check the opening dates and times) and the availability of a small library would have been appreciated.
Overall, all participants were delighted by the Old Lady at Sea and the friendly, professional staff and we have no hesitation in recommending them. Mille mercis!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and staff
Liked least: A little noise from the main road
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Dear guest , thanks a lot for writing this review , mostly appreciated .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing