We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Vacations EVER!!”
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Walking on the beach
Children playing on the beach
Yoga session on the beach at the villa
Breakfast
Beach side garden
Lunch in the summerhut
Garden with swimmingpool
Bathroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Wedding at the villa
Bride and broom on the beach at the villa
Wedding celebration at the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Pitiwella, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Russian first
Any
English first
Gakku S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Vacations EVER!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were travelling first time to Sri Lanka in December and for sure we are going to come back!!
It is a best place where you can getaway with your family and friends.Hotel is located just in front of the beach with amazing view to the ocean.Rooms are really nice and big. Hotel itself is very clean and well managed. All staff members were incredible and very helpful during our stay. Everyday we had different varieties of food which was wonderful as well. as for the island i have no words to describe all the beauty and majesty of nature.
Overall it was a great experience and we are so grateful that we had a chance to visit such an amazing place and stay at the old Lady at the sea.

Looking forward to be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Thanks for your review . It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at The Old Lady at the Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soxy1964
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Villa for 5 Days in December 2014.
The Villa was beautiful but most of all the SIri the manager and the staff were so accommodating and helpful.
Our meals were all cooked beautifully. Our every request was granted.
Siri and the staff made my 50th Birthday unforgettable !
Thank you very much for a fantastic stay.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thanks for your review . Also for our staff it was a pleasure to have you as guests at The Old Lady at the Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adiletz20...
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was my first trip to Sri Lanka and I actually didnt know what exactly I could expect from it. It was meant to be a family gathering and a birthday celebration of my mom. Well, in several words, it was freaking amazing!
The warm sun hit me immediately and I was on my way to start my tropical holidays. Besides that, there was a group of relatives from far away waiting on site. I mean, you couldnt get more excited than that. The neighborhood looks very green and natural. People over there are friendly and they smile to you, while living in very simple conditions.
The villa is located in a small village, located exactly at the beach of the Ocean. The view is fantastic and you simply never get tired of it. Even with several rainy periods, the sky would clear and the sun would put a smile on your face. I mean, just simply reading a book , with your whole body facing the ocean, makes it so joyful! The breakfast in the morning, with Sri Lankan omelet, kurt yoghurt, fresh fruit, and so much tastes delicious. Sharing the table with people that you love, like and spend time together, adds an incredible feeling.
As the roadway is very close, you can easily reach the port or the city center of Galle. There are different ways of transportation, if you are curious, take the public transport bus with Sri Lankan people ;) Most of the time, the staff will always take care of you, so you dont have to worry that you will have to walk.
When you enter the Villa, you actually feel separated from all the rest. It really has this unique atmosphere, where you forget about a lot of things which can bother you. My room had enough space, equipped with airco, toilet and shower. Most of the time, you will be laying on the bed chairs outside, relaxing in the swimming pool with a bear or walking over the beach next to ocean volumes. After 5pm watch out for mosquitos, make sure you have sprayed the open parts of your body. The staff was very helpfull and the manager Siri is a very nice person. All the special requests were managed by him with success. If you like beer, make sure to try their Lion beer, you will be surprised how good it is. The variety of delicious seafood with various dressings and new sauces will deffinately open new tastes for you. One of the reasons is, that the ingredients are fresh.
Visiting the Hikkaduwa beach every early morning (around 7) is so worth it! Dont be lazy and pull all your friends with you, you wont regret it
It was a very pleasant, energetic, natural stay in the Old lady. Despite my short stay, I managed to have a mixed holiday both filled with rest and activities. Deffinately looking forward to visit them again with a new group of friends or relatives, its just too much fun.

I want to thank the staff members for making my stay very comfortable and pleasant. I wish you all the best and may we see each other again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Any activity you do with the ocean view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thanks for your review . Nice to read that you enjoyed that much your stay at The Old Lady at Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and exotique place!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Very nice sea view, real Paradise! I am going to come back as soon as possible!
Very nice and clean room and swimming pool. Beautifull villas and very gentil staff.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2014
Thanks for your review . It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at The Old Lady at the Sea .This will be an ideal opportunity to use your Fidelity Award .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indirkona
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

we have enjoyed our stay in the old lady villa very much. Our wedding went perfectly. Team working in the villa is very nice and hard-working. Siri is a great manager, nothing is a problem for him, he can also organize tours all over island and transport wherever you need. Chef cooks amazing, you can tell her whatever you would like to eat and she will cook it and it will taste amazing. Tarindu, Priya and three others (sorry, names were hard to remember )are very friendly and hard working. So thank you for such opportunity to have our wedding and vacation. All the best wishes for your villa business.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2014
Thanks for your review . Mostly apreciated . It was a pleasure to have your wedding celebration at our place .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryW213
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as a group for a 40th birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb too and rooms clean and comfortable.

We will most definitely be back next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2014
Thanks for your review . It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at The Old Lady at the Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran S
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing~”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We were a pack of 18 from all over the world staying at Old lady for 3 days.
It was such a wonderful stay

Rooms
We had the whole place for ourselves and since we advised as to what time we were arriving all the rooms were air conditioned and ready for our stay. The rooms are actually of the standard of a 4 star hotel.

Staff
We were welcomed by the team there with a welcome drink and hot towel. And they are soo friendly. Special mention to the beautiful PULLY, the dog who will always accompany you wherever you go. Siri and his team was just amazing.
Yasanthi the cook was the best. You can name whatever and she knows how to cook them the best way it could. Loved every meal we had.

I am planning another trip to Sri Lanka in April, and planning to book again to take my friends.

Highly recommend to anyone who would love the beach and a place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thanks for your amazing review .
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at The Old Lady at the Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing