We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem.”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Wychert Cottage

Wychert Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wychert Cottage
The lounge with Stressless furniture The dining alcove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Wychert Cottage
The lounge with Stressless furniture
The dining alcove
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Small bedroom
Bathroom
Private Patio
Front Door
The village of Haddenham
View of the village church
Wychert in winter
Red kite
View of Haddenham from the Chilterns
Wychert Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haddenham, Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beachygir...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The owners of Wychert Cottage, John and Ailsa have really gone the extra mile to provide a delightful holiday home, furnished and equipped to a very high standard, with lots of personal touches in every room. Haddenham is a lovely village, very quiet but in a great location for both city and country exploring. Both the House of Spice and the bakery are great and the local convenience store was more than adequate. Will definitely recommend and hope to return sometime.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy, well-equipped cottage in the middle of Haddenham”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage is very cosy and had everything we needed for a holiday cottage. It is small but perfect for a family of 4 and we really enjoyed staying there. The owners are very friendly and efficient and live just opposite. It is right next to a great coffee shop and curry house, and a small convenience store. Haddenham is a lovely area.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thumb J
1 review
“Excelent Cottage”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent well equipted cottage in a nice village.
Friendly owners and a warm welcome.
Very clean cottage with excelent beds.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianah833
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable base from which to explore”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We (family of 4) stayed for 4 nights in early October. We found all facilities working well and very clean. We enjoyed coffees at Little Italy, Indian from next door (you can't smell it when inside the house) and groceries from McColl's - a few minutes' walk. Having generous crockery supplies and very comfortable living room furniture were both bonuses. It helped us survive our last few days of frantically catching up with UK friends. John and Ailsa were friendly but not intrusive. There was a very well organised information folder for visitors. Next time we'll stay longer.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Reclining at end of day, while reading the history of Wychert.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grumpy731
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“Too good to share!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great location, Ideal for visiting the area around Haddenham. Cottage very well equipped and kept to a high standard. It is a lovely quiet location ideal for a relaxing get away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of cleanliness and equipment
Liked least: small size of double bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry J
Zeeland, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderfull stay the last week of April 2014. Lovely warm cottage, all aminities are there. We fully enjoyed our stay. Great antiquemarket in the village hall. We also made a trip to Oxford and the New Bodleain Library: what an impressive place. We had a wonderful recommendable tour!

We might come again and we can recommend renting Wychert Cottage with its very welcoming and helpfull owners

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex j
2 reviews
“Comfortable Home From Home - Excellent”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A tastefully decorated, well equipped, clean and quaint holiday cottage. My family and I spent a week here and used it as a base for visiting London and it's attractions as the train station was so close with very good rate of all day parking. Ideally situated for Warner Bros Studio Tour, Woburn Safari Park and Bletchley Park. Ayelsbury was a short bus journey away.

There was a nice welcome pack on our arrival and John the owner gave us a tour of the property. Even though the owners lived next door we hardly noticed. Beds were comfortable and full central heating was great when the evening temperature dropped a bit. Nice collection of DVDs to choose from and also a good selection of toys and games for the kids.

The village had plenty to offer with a convenience store around the corner, a play park a short walk away, five pubs a short walk away, 10 mins to the furthest, we ate at The Kings Head and this was well priced and very friendly. The bakery on the main road had plenty to offer and again was well priced.

Overall a very pleasant holiday in a lovely area, we were made to feel welcome from the start and left very tired having crammed so much into our week.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing