We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cottage of convenience and comfort in the heart...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elinor G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cottage of convenience and comfort in the heart of the town.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This cottage gave me and my boyfriend a place to stay whilst also visiting family in the town. We were warm and cosy. The cottage is full of character making it great fun to stay there and if we had stayed longer the log fire would have been lit. Next time perhaps. It was lovely to find a few essential supplies already in the kitchen cupboards for us to use and it was nice not to have to bring linen and towels with us. The caretaker, who was very kind and helpful, made us feel that there was someone at hand to call if there were any problems. I hope to book the cottage again for another visit to Bingham. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being warm and cosy was brilliant and essential on these cold March days!
Liked least: It would have been nice to be able to snuggle on a setee in the living room.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2013
We look forward to you coming again then. I will pass on your kind comments to the caretaker and will make sure we keep the cupboard stocked!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, clean, characterful cottage”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Well maintained, nice decor, spotlessly clean, everything works, cosy and all you would need. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire
Liked least: No wi fi
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2013
Super duper! We were pleased we could fit you in at such short notice and that it suited you so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilagh...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, pretty cottage, a delight to stay there”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My daughter and I spent a few days here early March and it was absolutely wonderful. The cottage was cosy and warm and really clean and lovely. It was so nice having the log fire which made evenings really cosy. The bedrooms were pretty and comfortable and we wanted for nothing. The owner was very efficient in responding to any queries we had also. This was one of the best cottages I have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log fire
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a prompt and indeed glowing review! I am almost blushing. I trust it helped your daughter with her recuperation and that you found the proximity of shops etc. an added advantage.
We hope you will visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness and comfort of a quiet place to stay, yet near the shops and Nottingham
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2013
Lovely to hear, and indeed its delightful to have you keep coming back. Most important - the family like it!. Very pleased to hear it suits you so well and we look forward to the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gordon T
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

A disappointing experience in a lovely character cottage! On arrival on the last day of January the caretaker arrived just before I did and so the heating had just been turned on so the cottage was only 11 degrees inside and very unwelcoming! It took until the following morning for the cottage to heat up to be pleasantly comfortable. A very cold night sat in my coat.
The general appearance of everywhere is ok however when coming to turn on the microwave the control knob was covered in dried on food, on further inspection this was also evident on some of the crockery provided as well as the sink underneath the plate drainer which had actually stuck to the sink with dried on food - all this had to be cleaned before I was able to use anything. This lack of attention to cleaning was also evident in the bathroom with dried on toothpaste on the plastic glasses provided, the toothbrush holder and the sink was particularly dirty with dried on soap scum. There was also a generous supply of cobwebs in the cottage.
It should be mentioned in the details that the shower is particularly precarious to use as it is at the side of the toilet, squeezed in. There is an 18 inch step up into the shower, so this property is certainly not suitable for anyone with any slight impairment or pregnant as the access/exit to the shower is verging on dangerous. A slight slip could be catrostrophic! This step and shower is not evident on the photo provided of the bathroom.
I found the bed extremely uncomfortable and hard, though this may be down to personal preference, my own mattress at home is firm however the bed in the cottage was akin to sleeping on the floor it was that unpleasant.
The washer dryer did not work very well. On my first evening before using the shower I noticed it constantly dripped and had in fact splashed out the base onto the floor absolutely drenching the bath mats on the floor, hence I put the two of them into wash and then a 120 minute dry and they were still as damp as if I had not tried to dry them at all. So I concluded the dryer does not work and the shower door needed to be kept closed to avoid a repeat performance of the dripping onto the floor.
Although booked into the cottage for a week as I was unable to sleep on the bed I left after only 3 nights. I regularly have breaks away in cottages/apartments throughout the country and understand that old cottages have their little quirks however I felt that this wasn't quite the standard I had expected from the information provided.

In fairness to the owner I have emailed her and she will look into the cleaning aspect and the possibilty of turning the heating on so the cottage is warm on arrival for future guests. She said she had never had complaints about the bed, shower access, or washer dryer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the bed and shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such ‘comprehensive’ feedback. So few people do – especially the happy ones..regretfully ! I have accepted this review with full prior knowledge of its content as all matters mentioned had been previously addressed within hours of your original email and one had assumed the matter closed.

We can none of us hope to have all excellent reviews – there is always that one! So, I would like to make comment now that you have chosen to put us ‘on air’, so as to speak, particularly as all complaints seemed to have stemmed from the arrival of the 2nd party at the weekend. It has become clear to all that he did not agree with your original choice of accommodation and wished to move.

My caretaker informs me that you were very pleased upon arrival and were advised to call her upon settling in, should you find anything not to your satisfaction. No call was received. Complaints cannot be verified several days later after departure.

The heating is on low continually all winter to prevent pipes from freezing (this is England after all), and the guests may ask in advance if they wish this raised, or they can choose their own setting upon arrival. Each of us is different.

The shower room is described as very small and the step is mentioned in the details. It has non-slip strips adhered. It is as you said, an old cottage of character and space is at a premium.

The washer dryer works fine if set correctly, added to which we have radiators (more effective in the winter) and a drying rack.

I called my local Plumber, Mr J Selby (details can be provided) to check out the apparent dripping shower. This was his reply:

“Regarding the shower valve, it appears to be ok at present as far as the drippings concerned. The fluctuation in temperature could be that the flow isn't turned up enough ( a combi needs a minimum flow through it to keep the flame going).”

How could you not love my huge comfy bed? For me, It’s the best bit about staying there, apart from maybe the log fire. Hard choice that!

In summary, there is little I can add. I trust you found somewhere more suitable to both your needs and enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berniem1
portsmouth
2 reviews
“A charming, cosy, character cottage”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Rosehip Cottage is a charming, well-appointed and ideally situated home from home. It is very close to the town centre with shops, restaurants and excellent bus connections to Nottingham.

The cottage itself is very pretty, clean and with excellent facilities, particularly in the kitchen. Bingham is very friendly as are the neighbours! There is so much to see in and around this beautiful area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A traditional cottage with modern ameneties
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2012
What a lovely review and I am pleased to hear it was easy for you to get around, get in supplies etc... and that the kitchen provided all that you needed. Its sometimes a juggle in a small space to decide what takes priority.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, pink and homely”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I booked Rosehip Cottage for some overseas family who were visiting the UK for the first time. I wanted them to have a very English experience and thought a village cottage would be perfect. I was right, they loved their stay. The cottage is small but has everything you need - a kitchen, shower room, two large-enough double bedrooms, a quiet location close to the local amenities. It also oozes character, with wooden beams and an log fire (although we did not need to use it).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely atmosphere and quiet location
Liked least: None come to mind
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2012
So pleased it suited the family. I hope the celebrations went to schedule. Many congrats!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing