We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home”
other travelers have booked this property
view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the lake
from the entrance dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
view from the lake
from the entrance
dining room
the garden
the garden
the lake
sitting room
kitchen
master's bedroom
bathroom master's bedroom
green bedroom
deskroom
toile de jouy bedroom
library
from the valley
swimming pool14mx6m
air view of la Chauviniere
the garden
the lake
viw from the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chateau-Renault, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jo w
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There were 9 of us in our party - 7 years old on up to 80 years old. We thoroughly enjoyed the chateau itself with its many beautifully appointed rooms and very historic charm. (Note: the 73- & 80-year-old grandparents were very happy to have the spacious ground floor bedroom as it saved them from climbing up & down the stone spiral staircase several times a day!) We also loved exploring the grounds, rowing on the lake/pond, and feeding swans. And of course, the pool! We splashed and jumped, dived and swam ALOT while we were at the chateau. Pool side accommodations (mini fridge, dishes, glasses, shower & toilet) made lounging & playing even more fun. Thierry, the grounds keeper, Pierre, and his son, Alexandre, were personable and gracious and made us feel very welcome. We would stay here again without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall "everything" of the home and grounds
Liked least: English instructions for washer & dryer settings would be helpful (small issue)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family just came back from 1 week stay at La Chauviniere, and we still cannot get over how beautiful this chateau was. Absolutely stunning inside & outside. The pictures were completely understating the true charm and beauty. When it was raining, our family (9 ppl all together) gathered in the library, which was one of our favourite spot, and drank great wines picked up from near winery. It was just such an amazing family trip that we all wanted. Thierry was always accommodating and very kind, and gave us all the tips and advice we needed, Pierre and Marie-France and Alexander were so warm and friendly throughout our stay. We will miss this place so much and definitely want to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH8718
Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that takes you back in time”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Better than perfect, this property is the definition of grandeur, hidden away in its own private wood, complete with lake, animals, immaculately-kept gardens, all different types of flowers and lots of secret spots where one can read or just simple relax. And the inside is just as magnificent as the outside! The decor is exquisitely done in total elegance. A perfect welcome was waiting for us as well upon arrival, thank you for that.
The hardest part was having to leave! Thank you very much to the owner and staff for a wonderful, relaxing few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake, animals, nature
Liked least: Literally nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCollinsL...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good that we are coming back again”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a truly excellent holiday rental. The wonderful old house is beautifully decorated and looked after. The extensive gardens include a lake, formal gardens and a walled garden containing a good-sized swimming pool. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner, caretaker, housekeeper and gardener. But actions speak louder than words. We have stayed here twice already and are definitely coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is beautiful and peaceful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis E M
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee M
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing